• GTA V
  • The Crew
  • GFTV
  • Chariot
  • Forza Horizon 2

Evolve will offer free DLC maps

Published on Saturday, 22 November 2014 19:20

Written by Brenden Mernagh

evolve title

This is some pretty cool and unexpected news, Turtle Rock Studios’ upcoming multiplayer-only game Evolve will not charge players for downloadable maps. Bucking the current map-pack DLC trend, Evolve, which will be released on the Playstation 4, Xbox One and Windows PC this February 10th, will not force players to pay for its extra map-based content.

Read more...

Out This Week: Smashing 8 friends, Dragons, Orcs, Tigers, and SackBoy. Busy Week In Gaming Offers Something for Everyone.

Published on Friday, 21 November 2014 22:19

Written by Nolan Forth

nintendodirectsmashbros

November is in full swing and we’re currently in the midst of the biggest gaming release week in 2014. So let’s stop for a moment, get out of the cold and take a look at some of the gaming goodies available for you winter hermits out there. Whether you are fan of Nintendo, Sony, or Microsoft, there is definitely something for everyone.

Read more...

Xbox Live is having some issues tonight

Published on Wednesday, 19 November 2014 04:35

Written by Brenden Mernagh

 

xboxonerevealpic

Did you plan on getting your game on tonight? Was it on an Xbox platform? Well, unfortunately, Xbox Live has been down for most the night. As of 11:29 EST it's still down. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Read more...

Microsoft catching up to Sony: EA Exec

Published on Wednesday, 19 November 2014 04:23

Written by Brenden Mernagh

xboxone

EA CFO Blake Jorgenson, speaking at the UBS Global Technology Conference, stated that while “Sony has jumped out to a lead with a great console and I think a great pricing strategy, MIcrosoft is catching up quickly.” This should be music to the ears of the Xbox faithful and video game enthusiasts everywhere. Competition is good, right? 

Read more...

Watch Dogs now available for Wii U

Published on Tuesday, 18 November 2014 18:24

Written by Fred Laroche

watch05

Good news for all WiiU owners out there, Ubisoft is making available starting today, Watch_Dogs on the Wii U. Watch Dogs take advantage of Wii U with a detailed and interactive map of Chicago to be displayed on the Wii U GamePad. The game also features off-TV play, letting gamers continue playing Watch Dogs solely on the GamePad.

Read more...

Hey Hunters and Monsters, Stats From the Evolve Alpha Released

Published on Monday, 17 November 2014 23:02

Written by DJ Kinsey

evolve title

Between October 30 and November 4, 2014 gamers had their first opportunity to play Evolve, the 4 versus 1 multiplayer shooter developed by Turtle Rock Studios.  In only a few short days well over one million matches took place on PS4, Xbox One and PC in what was called the Evolve Big Alpha.  Some other interesting stats were also made available, all summarized in a visually pleasing infographic.  For instance...

Read more...

Happy Birthday, Miyamoto!

Published on Sunday, 16 November 2014 19:55

Written by Brenden Mernagh

miyamoto

Video game legend and auteur Shigeru Miyamoto turned 62 years old today. Feeling old yet?

Read more...

Super Smash Bros. for 3DS Sells 1.2 Million Units, Wii U Version Breaks Pre-Order Records, Nintendo Canada Declares November 21 Nintendo Day!

Published on Friday, 14 November 2014 21:52

Written by Nolan Forth

Nintendo Day-Logo1

As we enter into the holiday season, games for all systems are being released left and right. But as the ground freezes and the snow falls, it’s becoming clearer and clearer that it’s a good time to be a Nintendo fan. The House that Mario built is riding high on the success of Super Smash Bros. for 3DS and is poised to release the Wii U version of arguably their biggest franchise. In celebration of one of the companies busiest release days in recent memory; Nintendo Canada has declared November 21st 2014 to be Nintendo Day here in the Great White North.

Read more...

Learn Everything You Need To Stay Alive In Kyrat From Far Cry 4 101 Trailer

Published on Friday, 14 November 2014 05:16

Written by Dave Molinski

FarCry4scr1

The recent release of Fary Cry 4's 101 trailer showcases all that is needed to ensure your survival against the violence that has befallen Kyrat. Read more...

Link Now Available in Mario Kart 8 - First DLC Pack Released Today

Published on Friday, 14 November 2014 04:25

Written by Jonatan Ulloa

Mario Kart8 Link

After what felt like the longest wait ever following the reveal announcement, the first DLC pack is out today for Mario Kart 8.  Judging by the quality of this first of two DLC pieces, the May 2015 udpate will have lots to live up to!

Read more...

We are back, recovering from a major hacking attack

Published on Friday, 14 November 2014 00:04

Written by Fred Laroche

Since the last 3 days, GameFocus was affected by a hack. We had to work hard to get back on our feet. It’s hard for me to accept the fact that we were targeted for nothing. Why us? A small organization, with limited resources. Well guess what ! We are back and we’ll keep on talking about video games. Thank you all for your understanding.

Fred Laroche
GM and Founder
GameFocus

The Crew Beta Impressions

Published on Thursday, 13 November 2014 23:29

Written by Dave Molinski

The Crew’s console closed beta has concluded and it has given us a sneak peek into what we can expect to see upon its release on December 2nd. Read more...

Special articles
The Crew Beta Impressions Special articles

The Crew Beta Impressions

The Crew’s console closed beta has concluded and it has given us a sneak peek into what we can expect to see upon its release on December 2nd.
Lire la suite...
Details From Nintendo's Holiday Preview Event Special articles

Details From Nintendo's Holiday Preview Event

  With the falling leaves, mayoral election signs still on the lawns and pumpkins on people’s front porches you’d be excused if you didn’t think it was time to celebrate the holidays. It was in this setting that Nintendo unveiled a preview of some of their holiday offerings on... Read more
Have you heard, NHL 15 is missing a few features? Special articles

Have you heard, NHL 15 is missing a few features?

I remember being thoroughly disappointed that last years NHL 14 was not going to appear on the Xbox One or the PS4.  Every other major North American sport received their next-generation iteration; hockey fans got the proverbial short end of the stick. But I believed that the NHL franchise was in good hands, if only for the quality the developers had shown in the series' previous entries, and if those developers needed an additional year to fine tune their game, great.  After playing the full game via EA Access early trial, I am worried again. Read more
The Forest: Exclusive Game Focus Interview Special articles

The Forest: Exclusive Game Focus Interview

  Earlier this week, Ben Falcone and Anna Terekhova, two of the three main developers of Endnight Games’ The Forest responded to some questions I had about the project and provided some insight into the development and what comes next.  I asked everything from whether or not The Forest would be released on the Xbox One or Playstation 4, what the developers were most worried about before release on Steam, to whether or not they could disclose any more details about The Forests ending.   Read more

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

Ode to The Olde Timey Video Game: Episode #1 The Greatest Golf Game Ever Made

Ode to The Olde Timey Video Game: Episode #1 The Greatest Golf Game Ever Made

Premier Episode of Ode to The Olde Timey Video Game.  In this video we scientifically prove what the greatest golf video game ever made is.  That's right, this title was released exactly ten years ago this week and in celebration we are taking a fond look back at what made this golf game the very best.


Read more

Why Microsoft buying Minecraft was a Brilliant Move

Why Microsoft buying Minecraft was a Brilliant Move

 

 

A lot has been made of Microsoft’s recent acquisition of Minecraft developer, Mojang.  Whether it be the Minecraft faithful who are worried about the future of the game now that it is in the hands of a massive corporation, or industry analysts speculating on how this new deal will change the video game marketplace, Microsoft fired a shot across across the bow today and, wow, was it shocking.


Read more

Gamefocus Feature: T'was the Night Before Gamescom

Gamefocus Feature: T'was the Night Before Gamescom

All eyes are on Cologne Germany for Gamescom 2014 as the biggest videogame industry event in Europe, second-largest gaming event in the world. (Game Show Asia is the largest in terms of attendance.), is set to begin.


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: November 2014 Edition

GameFocus Podcast: November 2014 Edition

Call the optometrist because this time we are discussing how much resolution you need to enjoy your game. Also covered: what does Brenden have against the Master Chief, what are the holiday’s looking like for the consoles, and is Evolve all that it is cracking up to be? Finally, Donkey Kong Country, Gears of War, Left 4 Dead and Sunset Overdrive are all examined at length. 

Read more
Poll

Is the Kinectless Xbox One at $ 399 good enough to seduce you?

Yes - 80.4%
No - 19.6%

Total votes: 153
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: November 2014 Edition

GameFocus Podcast: November 2014 Edition

Call the optometrist because this time we are discussing how much resolution you need to enjoy your game. Also covered: what does Brenden have against the Master Chief, what are the holiday’s looking like for the consoles, and is Evolve all that it is cracking up to be? Finally, Donkey Kong Country, Gears of War, Left 4 Dead and Sunset Overdrive are all examined at length. 

Read more
Poll

Is the Kinectless Xbox One at $ 399 good enough to seduce you?

Yes - 80.4%
No - 19.6%

Total votes: 153
GameFocus 2014 Top 10
2
Dark Souls II (Xbox 360)
9.1
3
Mario Kart 8 (Wii U)
9.1
4
9.0
5
Child of Light (Xbox One)
9.0
6
Tropico 5 (PC)
8.9
7
Forza Horizon 2 (Xbox One)
8.8
8
EA Sports UFC (Xbox One)
8.7
9
Watch Dogs (Xbox One)
8.5
10
8.5

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus