• Splatoon
  • Toren
  • Slender Man Origins 3

GameFocus High Fives: Bonus Canada Day Editon

Published on Wednesday, 01 July 2015 20:56

Written by Nolan Forth

highfivescanadadayHappy Canada Day! Bonne fete du Canada! We here at GameFocus hope you’re celebrating the enactment of the British North American Act (Constitution Act) in style. GameFocus would like to join in the revelry by posting a very special High Fives article with a Canadian twist:

Top 5 Canadian Characters in Video Games

If you’re a gamer from the Great White North it can seem like maybe Canadian representation in video games is a little sparse. Take heart fellow Canucks, we here at GameFocus are here to tell you that some of the baddest and raddest characters in gaming call Canada home and it is our pleasure to present to you our top 5! Read All

DrinkBox Studios Shows Canadian Pride Through Art

Published on Wednesday, 01 July 2015 08:27

Written by Tyler Hodgkinson

cd4

Easily one of the best studios in Canada (and soon, the world), DrinkBox Studios has released Canadian themed artwork for their games Guacamelee and Severed. Happy Canada Day!

Read more...

Rory McIlroy PGA Tour Tour Shows How to Blaze Through 18 Holes

Published on Tuesday, 30 June 2015 19:28

Written by DJ Kinsey

rory mcilroy pga tour

EA Sport PGA Tour will have a new titular pro golfer endorsement this year and along with the inclusion of superstar Rory McIlroy will be a new and improved mode that allows golfers to fly through a round of 18 in the game. While it may take upwards of ...

Read more...

Full House Intro Recreated in GTA V

Published on Tuesday, 30 June 2015 18:30

Written by Tyler Hodgkinson

gtafullhouse

Now this is awesome.

Read more...

Is The Last of Us 2 in the Works? Nolan North says "Yes", Troy Baker says "I Know Nothing"

Published on Tuesday, 30 June 2015 12:17

Written by Nolan Forth

thelastofus

Two of the most prolific voice actors in gaming have put their two cents in at two seperat Cons on the rumour that Naughty Dog is in the early stages of developing a sequel to the critically acclaimed Playstation 3/4 title The Last of Us.

Read more...

Is Mafia 3 Really Happening?

Published on Tuesday, 30 June 2015 09:49

Written by Tyler Hodgkinson

mafia 3

Is Mafia 3 close to becoming a reality? It appears so, as publisher Take-Two has registered multiple domain names related to the popular game.

Read more...

News of the Week: June 21 - 28

Published on Monday, 29 June 2015 08:23

Written by Tyler Hodgkinson

newsoftheweek 

Although this week could be considered a slow news period when compared to last week, there was still plenty to report, including a very faulty PC version of a popular game, cover athletes being announced, and more!

Read more...

GameFocus High Fives, June 2015 - D.J.

Published on Sunday, 28 June 2015 14:53

Written by Nolan Forth

gf high fives ver 21

There is arguably no other aspect of gaming that is more underappreciated than the Non Player Character (NPC). Serving as companions, quest givers, plot devices and more; they have been an integral aspect of our favourite games and have evolved right alongside gaming itself over the decades.  For the month of June, the GameFocus Staff will be celebrate all things NPC by listing 5 of their favourite or most under-rated non-player characters in games.

D.J. Kinsey - Assistant Editor-in-Chief

Read All

Super Mario Maker Will Ship With 100 Custom Levels

Published on Friday, 26 June 2015 13:39

Written by Nolan Forth

supermariomakerheader

One of the more exciting Nintendo Games on the horizon for the Wii U is Super Mario Maker. It’s an intriguing take on the franchise that will allow gamers to create courses and post them for other gamers to try.  Some good news if you’re not in to creation or don’t have access to an internet connection; the game will come with 100 pre-loaded levels right out of the box.

Read more...

Fallout 4 Fan Sends 2,200 Bottlecaps to Bethesda, Get's Sweet Loot in Return

Published on Friday, 26 June 2015 12:52

Written by Nolan Forth

fallout4fanbottlecaps

Anyone who has played a Fallout game should be pretty familiar with Nuka-caps; the main major currency in the post nuclear fallout world the series takes place in.  An intrepid fan of the series took a shot in the dark and made the currency a reality this week by mailing approximately 2,200 bottle caps to Bethesda with the hopes of securing a pre-order for the upcoming Fallout 4.

Read more...

Xbox Games With Gold Revealed for July

Published on Friday, 26 June 2015 08:37

Written by Tyler Hodgkinson

games with gold

Wondering what free games to expect this month on Xbox One and Xbox 360? Well, here's exactly what you'll be able to pick up!

Read more...

NHL 16 Cover Athlete(s) Named

Published on Thursday, 25 June 2015 23:31

Written by DJ Kinsey

nhl16montreal

It looks like EA Sports is choosing a champion to grace the cover of NHL 16.  In fact, they are choosing a couple of champions.  Straight off the Chicago Blackhawks hoisting the Stanley Cup, EA sport has chosen a duo for the cover with both... Read more...

Special articles
#E32015 Predictions: Tyler Hodgkinson Special articles

#E32015 Predictions: Tyler Hodgkinson

With #E32015 nearly upon us, rumours and reports are running ramped about what will or will not see at the conference. So what do the fine folks at GameFocus predict? Take a look for yourself and see!
Lire la suite...
#E32015 Predictions: Nolan Forth Special articles

#E32015 Predictions: Nolan Forth

With #E32015 nearly upon us, rumours and reports are running ramped about what will or will not see at the conference. So what do the fine folks at GameFocus predict? Take a look for yourself and see! Read more
#E32015 Predictions: Jesse Vuksanovich Special articles

#E32015 Predictions: Jesse Vuksanovich

With #E32015 nearly upon us, rumours and reports are runnning rampid about what will or will not see at the conference. So what do the fine folks at GameFocus predict? Take a look for yourself and see! Read more
Stage Select Gaming Expo - Toronto's Future Answer to E3? Special articles

Stage Select Gaming Expo - Toronto's Future Answer to E3?

With E3 generating a massive amount of buzz in the week leading up to the big event, I thought I'd take a moment and talk about the smaller but growing momentum of Toronto's own gaming conference - Stage Select Gaming Expo.  Read more

GameFocus High Fives

GameFocus High Fives Canada Day Bonus Edition

GameFocus High Fives Canada Day Bonus Edition

Happy Canada Day! Bonne fête du Canada! We here at GameFocus hope you’re celebrating the enactment of the British North American Act (Constitution Act) in style. GameFocus would like to join in the revelry by posting a very special High Fives article with a Canadian twist:

Top 5 Canadian Characters in Video Games

If you’re a gamer from the Great White North it can seem like maybe Canadian representation in video games is a little sparse. Take heart fellow Canucks, we here at GameFocus are here to tell you that some of the baddest and raddest characters in gaming call Canada home and it is our pleasure to present to you our top 5!


Read more

GameFocus High Fives, June - D.J.

GameFocus High Fives, June - D.J.

There is arguably no other aspect of gaming that is more underappreciated than the Non Player Character (NPC). Serving as companions, quest givers, plot devices and more; they have been an integral aspect of our favourite games and have evolved right alongside gaming itself over the decades.  For the month of June, the GameFocus Staff will be celebrate all things NPC by listing 5 of their favourite or most under-rated non-player characters in games.

D.J. Kinsey - Assistant Editor-in-Chief


Read more

GameFocus High Fives, June 2015 - Tyler

GameFocus High Fives, June 2015 - Tyler

There is arguably no other aspect of gaming that is more underappreciated than the Non Player Character (NPC). Serving as companions, quest givers, plot devices and more; they have been an integral aspect of our favourite games and have evolved right alongside gaming itself over the decades.  For the month of June, the GameFocus Staff will be celebrate all things NPC by listing 5 of their favourite or most under-rated non-player characters in games.

Tyler Hodgkinson - Staff Writer


Read more
DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more
First Impressions

Injustice: Gods Among Us

Injustice: Gods Among Us
Injustice: Gods Among Us, the upcoming DC fighting game by NetherRealm Studios, is set to be released on April 16th. Even though the release date is just around the corner, they continue to announce additional characters that will be playable upon release, as well as alternate costumes for numerous ... Lire la suite...

More previews
GF Blogs

The Last Guardian Will NOT Appear at #E32015 and Here's the Reason Why...

The Last Guardian Will NOT Appear at #E32015 and Here's the Reason Why...

Since its reveal at E3 2009, The Last Guardian has not resurfaced other than in rumours and in statements regarding said rumours. Sony admits to major studio problems during the game’s development, but constantly reassures those anticipating the game that it is still not, and will not, be canceled. So is this the year that we finally see the resurrection of The Last Guardian? In my opinion, the answer is a big fat NO.


Read more

A Few Good Reasons for Grounding Players in WOW

A Few Good Reasons for Grounding Players in WOW

Getting my first mount in World of Warcraft was a major milestone. It came at a time before Blizzard reduced the cost of training for a ground mount and the gold required seemed like an impossible sum when quests were doling out a few coppers. What's more, I was foolishly selling my gathered iron or mithril to in-game vendors rather than placing it up for auction. I won't get into the particulars of my moneymaking strategy but I will say that it wasn't effective and very indicative of my n00b status.


Read more

Splatoon - Early Impressions

Splatoon - Early Impressions

As we may all know, Splatoon is the latest major exclusive title from Nintendo and it will be hitting stores later this week (May 29, NA). Its announcement at E3 2014 shocked many, strictly because of the fact that Nintendo was making a shooting-game. Yes, a shooting-game; it still sounds weird to me, too. In Splatoon, players take control of a human-squid hybrid as they attempt shoot, roll and “splat” a given area with more of their team’s ink than their opponents. The game relies heavily on its online multiplayer mode, although a single player experience is included in the game.  Its cartoony art style and Pixar-eqsue character models make the title feel more at home on the Wii U, but the concept itself is still odd for the archetypical family-friendly company. A playable visualization of the game recently became available in the form of “Splatoon Global Testfire”, a one hour gameplay demo that went live five times over two weekends. I got the chance to sit down and test the peculiar game for myself. Here are my impressions…


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
Poll

Would you like Rockband to make a comeback?

Yes - 50%
No - 50%

Total votes: 24
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
Poll

Would you like Rockband to make a comeback?

Yes - 50%
No - 50%

Total votes: 24
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
Apotheon (PC)
9.4
2
Splatoon (Wii U)
8.6
3
Splice (PlayStation 4)
8.4
4
Hand of Fate (Xbox One)
8.0
5
8.0
6
Toren (PlayStation 4)
8.0
7
7.8
9
Dead or Alive 5 Last Round (PlayStation 4)
7.7
10
6.6

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus