Dead or Alive 5 Last Round PS4 Review

Published on Monday, 30 March 2015 11:31

Written by Nolan Forth

doa 5 title

I have to admit: I love fighting games. They hold a special place in my heart and playing them takes me back to a by-gone era of video games, where cartridges were expensive, Mario was king of the industry, and multiplayer meant both players had to be in the same room. So when the offer to review Dead or Alive 5: Last Round for the PS4 was available, I jumped at the opportunity. It’s been awhile since I last strapped on the gloves and stepped into the ring with a DOA game and overall I had quite a bit of fun during my time with it. However in the end it left me with mixed feelings; about the genre and the series itself. Read the Full Review.

Pass It or Play It? - OlliOlli 2: Welcome to Olliwood (PS4, PS Vita)

Published on Monday, 30 March 2015 08:58

Written by Tyler Hodgkinson

oo2

Developer Roll7 has returned to bring their latest game OlliOlli 2: Welcome to Olliwood to the masses. A sequel to the first OlliOlli game, Roll7 looked to build on the already intriguing gameplay and have done a pretty good tying. But is the sequel ever as good as the classic original?

Read more...

Halo 5 Release Date Confirmed

Published on Monday, 30 March 2015 08:31

Written by Tyler Hodgkinson

halo-5-guardians 

Microsoft and 343 Industries have confirmed the Halo 5: Guardians release date with two new trailers, which were shown along side The Walking Dead finale.

Read more...

Zelda Wii U delayed

Published on Sunday, 29 March 2015 20:26

Written by Jesse Vuksanovich

zelda thumb

There are few constants in life: taxes, death and the inevitable delay of any given Zelda title.

Read more...

Youtuber Builds Wrestlemania 31 Stadium in Minecraft

Published on Sunday, 29 March 2015 13:42

Written by Tyler Hodgkinson

levis-stadium

Some people have way too much time on their hands - and we should be thankful for that! Youtuber JORDSTAR has created Levis Stadium, home of Wrestlemania 31, using Minecraft.

Read more...

Will These Be the Results of Wrestlemania 31?

Published on Sunday, 29 March 2015 07:55

Written by Tyler Hodgkinson

WM31 LEVI

Today is the day every wrestling fan looks forward to: Wrestlemania. What better way to celebrate than to view some good ol'simulations of WWE2K15?

Read more...

Rockstar Releases New GTA V PC Screenshots So Good, They're Criminal

Published on Friday, 27 March 2015 16:54

Written by Jonatan Ulloa

GTA V PC New2

Ah? Ahhh?  Tough crowd.  PC players now only have a short wait before they get their hands on the highly anticipated crime drama Grand Theft Auto V.  Earlier today, Rockstar made the wait just that much harder with 15 new high resolution screenshots. Read more...

Mortal Kombat X International Trailer Reveals Liu Kang!

Published on Thursday, 26 March 2015 16:47

Written by Nolan Forth

mortal-kombat-x-header

A new Mortal Kombat X trailer dropped today confirming the return of classic character Liu Kang. It looks like everyone’s favorite Bruce Lee clone will be taking a walk on the dark side, and not by choice.

Read more...

Play The Crew Free for Two Hours

Published on Thursday, 26 March 2015 08:31

Written by Tyler Hodgkinson

thecrewpic

Publisher Ubisoft has announced that they will be offering a free trial for the online racing game The Crew, but only for two hours.

Read more...

Big Name Director Confirms He Will Make Ready Player One

Published on Wednesday, 25 March 2015 19:22

Written by DJ Kinsey

ready player one

When not gaming or writing about games I like to delve into the world of literature...if that book is about video games.  Ready Player One is a best seller oozing with retro charm and full of 1980s video game references.  The book is now being turned into a film and it couldn't have a bigger named director.  The one and only... Read more...

Gearbox Announces Borderlands 2 Sales Have Reached 12 Million

Published on Wednesday, 25 March 2015 18:36

Written by Jonatan Ulloa

Borderlands 2 12 Mil

Fresh off the heels of Borderlands: The Handsome Collection being released here in North America, Gearbox has announced that Borderlands 2 has sold around 12 million copies world wide.

Read more...

Broken Age Headed for PS4, Vita

Published on Wednesday, 25 March 2015 18:28

Written by Tyler Hodgkinson

broken-age-01

Two months after the re-release of Grim Fandango, developer Double Fine Productions is bringing their acclaimed PC/iOS/Android game to PlayStation 4 and PS Vita. 

Read more...
Special articles
Pass It or Play It? - OlliOlli 2: Welcome to Olliwood (PS4, PS Vita) Special articles

Pass It or Play It? - OlliOlli 2: Welcome to Olliwood (PS4, PS Vita)

Developer Roll7 has returned to bring their latest game OlliOlli 2: Welcome to Olliwood to the masses. A sequel to the first OlliOlli game, Roll7 looked to build on the already intriguing gameplay and have done a pretty good tying. But is the sequel ever as good as the classic original?
Lire la suite...
Pass It or Play It? - Surgeon Simulator (PS4) Special articles

Pass It or Play It? - Surgeon Simulator (PS4)

  The surprise 2013 hit Surgeon Simulator has made its way from PC to PlayStation 4, giving a new group of players a chance to experience the game. Developer Bossa Studios originally created Surgeon Simulator within 48 hours for Global Jam 2013, and subsequently went on to develop the game for another 48 days. Is being a doctor all that it’s cracked up to be or will it have you screaming for sedation?  Read more
Evolve Toronto Launch Event Special articles

Evolve Toronto Launch Event

Last night as the clock ticked down to the midnight release of the highly anticipated 4v1 monster hunting extravaganza known as Evolve, Xbox and EB Games threw a launch party in Toronto to celebrate the game's imminent release.  Attendees stepped off the sixth floor elevator and were instantly greeted with some thick foliage and monster footprints.  It appeared that the downtown loft space had been magically transformed to the planet Shear, complete with staff decked out in garb ready for some big game hunting.  Ammon belts, camo and other accessories straight from Ted Nugent's closet were the threads and animal skulls, furs and weaponry adorned the walls. Read more
Why Buying Amiibo Might Be A Bad Idea Special articles

Why Buying Amiibo Might Be A Bad Idea

When Nintendo first revealed Amiibo back at E3 2014, many fans of the company were quick to chomp at the idea of the connected figurine line. Skylanders was a hit. Disney Infinity was a hit. Nintendo wanted a piece of the interactive action and they dove in head first. Read more

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

apple-watch-release-date-970-80

  Apple has finally lifted the curtain on the Apple Watch and, unsurprisingly, it looks good.  Maybe you're crunching the numbers to determine if you can afford the $13,000, 38mm 18-carat rose gold case edition or the $449.00 sport model.  No matter what you pick you'll need an Apple iPhone 5 or later running the latest version of iOS, so don't forget to figure that into the cost as well.  Before taking out a line of credit to buy the latest and greatest from Apple I'd recommend holding off and avoiding the April 24th release date altogether. 

 


Read more

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Maybe it wouldn't have been as bad if the sales person hadn't said, "this is our most popular seller; I can barely keep it on the shelves."  My mother and I were in the only video game store in the city.  It was in the basement of a professional building and smelled like stale cigarette smoke and BO.  For passing grade five I was rewarded with a video game.  This wasn't a decision to be made lightly; this would be one of the two games I'd get all year.  I can no longer remember the game I originally wanted but I do remember the store didn't have it.  Instead, the sales person was recommending something I'd never heard of, a little game called "Mystery Quest."


Read more

5 Games to Play with the One You Love

5 Games to Play with the One You Love

Stumped on how to incorperate your love of games and the love of your life into one sweet Valentines's day package? We've got your back with 5 games sure to help you maximize the loving you deserve. 


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

This time around the guys take the Batmobile for a spin waxing poetically about the upcoming Arkham Knight and past Arkham titles. We shed a tear for our gaming regrets and speculate on which actor was delivered a Mortal Kombat fatality. Plus: How interested would you be in a "Who's The Boss" video game? What sort of hat wear could you get with 50 Microsoft points? And..Why do 2-D fighting games reign supreme over 3-D?

Read more
Poll

Would you like Rockband to make a comeback?

Yes - 50%
No - 50%

Total votes: 24
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

This time around the guys take the Batmobile for a spin waxing poetically about the upcoming Arkham Knight and past Arkham titles. We shed a tear for our gaming regrets and speculate on which actor was delivered a Mortal Kombat fatality. Plus: How interested would you be in a "Who's The Boss" video game? What sort of hat wear could you get with 50 Microsoft points? And..Why do 2-D fighting games reign supreme over 3-D?

Read more
Poll

Would you like Rockband to make a comeback?

Yes - 50%
No - 50%

Total votes: 24
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
Apotheon (PC)
9.4
2
Splice (PlayStation 4)
8.4
3
Hand of Fate (Xbox One)
8.0
4
7.8
6
Dead or Alive 5 Last Round (PlayStation 4)
7.7
7
6.6

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus