• My Favourite Video Game M

    Special Article

    My Favourite Video Game Magazines of the 90s: A Retro Look

  • Assassin Creed

    Video

    A New 'Heady' Gameplay Trailer Released for Assassin's Creed Unity

  • COD

    Blog

    Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare Behind the Scenes Trailer Review

  • Sony

    In the news

    Sales of Sony Systems Exceed 100 Million

  • Tekken7

    In the news

    Tekken 7 Announced

  • Final Focus

    Final Focus

    Wolfenstein: The New Order

  • Wolfenstein review

    GF REVIEW

    The game is at its best when it is reveling in its gloriously unapologetic Nazi slaughtering violence

  • My Favourite Video Game M
  • Assassin Creed
  • COD
  • Sony
  • Tekken7
  • Final Focus
  • Wolfenstein review

You Can Escape Dead Island In November

Published on Wednesday, 27 August 2014 21:01

Written by DJ Kinsey

escape-dead-island-pc-playstation-3-xbox-360 233669 pp

Escape Dead Island, the upcoming spin-off game of the first person zombie smashing Dead Island and Dead Island: Riptide now has a release date.  You can experience the markedly different Dead Island title on...

Read more...

Boss Battles in Madden NFL 15? Yep, Welcome to the Gauntlet

Published on Wednesday, 27 August 2014 20:40

Written by DJ Kinsey

madd-610x346

This year's iteration of EA Sports' perennial football game, Madden NFL 15, has a new mode unlike any other in the previous 25 versions of the franchise.  EA released new details about this mode called "The Gauntlet" and it is bound to test you football skills beyond the standard training sessions gamers have some to expect.  The gauntlet features...

Read more...

Link is Coming to Mario Kart 8 as a Playable Racer in One of Two New DLC Packs

Published on Wednesday, 27 August 2014 17:37

Written by Nolan Forth

mariokart8dlc

As I slam my controller down after failing my one millionth attempt to get first place on the N64 version of Rainbow Road, thus ruining another chance at my last 3 star rating for the 100 cc class, I found myself wondering; "why has Nintendo never thought to branch out the karting roster to other franchise characters like, Smash Bros.?" I won’t need to wonder anymore as Nintendo has announced the release of not one, but two upcoming DLC packs. One of which will let players race as the famous hero, Link!

Read more...

Dragon Age Inquisition Co-op Mode: Fight the Fade With Friends!

Published on Wednesday, 27 August 2014 15:51

Written by Nolan Forth

dragonageinquisition1

Are you as excited as we are to strap on your armour and lead the Inquisition against the foes of Thedas? Would you be just as excited at the prospect of taking on legions of enemies with three friends?  BioWare has announced that their upcoming RPG will not only contain the epic, sprawling single player campaign that we come to expect from the company, but a multiplayer component as well.

Read more...

Updated EA Sports UFC Content Makes the Game More "Immortal"

Published on Tuesday, 26 August 2014 21:15

Written by DJ Kinsey

announce-ufc-ea-header 656x369

Electronic Arts has released the second free content update for their current gen mixed martial arts video game EA Sports UFC.  The new content features three new fighters as well as several new gameplay features that will make your fifteen minutes in the octagon (twenty-five for a title fight) all the more realistic.  The three new fighters are... Read more...

Republicans Release Video Game With Goal to Defeat Democrats

Published on Tuesday, 26 August 2014 20:49

Written by DJ Kinsey

giopi gameplay

In the most recent politically slanted video game since Crackathon featuring Toronto's drug smoking mayor, Rob Ford, the National Republican Senatorial Committee (NRSC) has created a new video game with the hopes of securing a GOP majority in the Senate this year.  So what does a video game brought to you by a bunch of old white men in grey suits look like?  Well the game features... Read more...

Gotta Fight 'Em All: Pokemon Fighting Game in Development!

Published on Tuesday, 26 August 2014 15:52

Written by Nolan Forth

pokken

Today The Pokémon Company and Bandai Namco announced that they will be partnering to produce Pokken Tournament, a 2 player arcade fighting game that will feature the adorable, but ferocious creatures that have hooked more than one generation of gamers on the premise of "catching them all."

Read more...

NHL 15 Demo is available now on Xbox One

Published on Monday, 25 August 2014 23:40

Written by Brenden Mernagh

NHL15

Alright, ya bunch of hosers! EA has given the Xbox One a chance to play the new NHL 15 Demo a little bit early.  I say it's aboot time!  I just loaded it up and it looks about as good as newly made poutine followed by a nice pint of Moosehead, eh.  Next-gen hockey, amirite?

Read more...

Damian Lillard is Your NBA Live 15 Cover Athlete

Published on Monday, 25 August 2014 22:55

Written by Jonatan Ulloa

NBA-Live-15-Cover

EA Sports made it's way back into the ring last year with the re-introduction of their basketball sim, NBA Live 14.  This year, they hope to improve on the formula they've been working on, and kicked it off with the reveal of their cover athlete - Damian Lillard.

Read more...

Even Jesus Shuttlesworth Couldn't Hate on The New NBA 2K15 'Yakkem' Trailer!

Published on Monday, 25 August 2014 22:30

Written by Jonatan Ulloa

NBA-2K15-RAY

A new trailer for NBA 2K15 dropped and it soothed my season withdrawal, as well as left me with a goofball smile on my face.  After watching this, October is going to feel like a long wait.

Read more...

Amazon buys Twitch for $970,000,000.00

Published on Monday, 25 August 2014 21:21

Written by Brenden Mernagh

 

twitch logo purple.0 cinema 960.0

Twitch, which launched in 2011 by Justin Khan and Emmet Shear, has been recently been sold to Amazon for just about $970 million; that's seven zeroes for those counting. So, yeah, that web service that allows you to vicariously live through other gamers has now made its founders incredibly rich.  

Read more...

Hack Attack is Back Jack: Two Hacker Groups Claim Responsiblity for PSN Outages, says Xbox Live is Next

Published on Monday, 25 August 2014 14:35

Written by Nolan Forth

psn

PlayStation Network Services were down temporarily yesterday, due to an alleged hack on its systems.  Two separate Hacker Groups, Fame (@FameGod) and @LizardSquad are claiming responsibility for a DDOS attack that rendered PSN inoperable for most of the day and well into evening on Sunday.

Read more...
Special articles
The Forest: Exclusive Game Focus Interview Special articles

The Forest: Exclusive Game Focus Interview

  Earlier this week, Ben Falcone and Anna Terekhova, two of the three main developers of Endnight Games’ The Forest responded to some questions I had about the project and provided some insight into the development and what comes next.  I asked everything from whether or not The Forest would be released on the Xbox One or Playstation 4, what the developers were most worried about before release on Steam, to whether or not they could disclose any more details about The Forests ending.  
Lire la suite...
Marking The Mid-Point of 2014: Highs, Lows and Hopes Special articles

Marking The Mid-Point of 2014: Highs, Lows and Hopes

  Here we are at the half way point of 2014. According to the Chinese zodiac 2014 is the year of the horse; the wood horse. It is to be a year of conflict; wood will fuel the fires and lead many to clash headlong into battle. How fitting it is then that my video game highlights, disappointments, hopes, and dreams for the year are directly in conflict with one another: Lightning quick interfaces vs a lack of new-gen experiences, game costs vs value, PlayStation vs Xbox.   Read more
CFL Mode in Madden 15?  Please Make it Happen EA. Special articles

CFL Mode in Madden 15? Please Make it Happen EA.

  Maybe it’s my Canadian pride and the fact that Canada Day is just around the corner, but I want a CFL football game.  For you folks out there who don’t know what the CFL is, well it’s a sports league, it stands for: Canadian Football League.  That’s right, Canada has its own football league, and trust me, it’s a good one.  So good, in fact, it deserves its own video game.   Read more
Impressions: My Date with Destiny Special articles

Impressions: My Date with Destiny

…see what I did there? Whatever dudes, I thought it was clever.  Anyways, I had the opportunity to spend my weekend with the Alpha Beta of the upcoming Bungie shooter, Destiny. Read more

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

Gamefocus Feature: T'was the Night Before Gamescom

Gamefocus Feature: T'was the Night Before Gamescom

All eyes are on Cologne Germany for Gamescom 2014 as the biggest videogame industry event in Europe, second-largest gaming event in the world. (Game Show Asia is the largest in terms of attendance.), is set to begin.


Read more

Destiny Beta: Thoughts and Impressions

Destiny Beta: Thoughts and Impressions

The Destiny Beta has come and gone and now that I have had a chance to actually play what is, perhaps, the most anticipated game of 2014, I have some thoughts about it.  Here is a collection of what I liked, what I hope changes, and why I am worried.


Read more

1080p and 60 FPS? I Don’t Care

1080p and 60 FPS?  I Don’t Care

 

It seems these days that whenever a new AAA title is announced a strange thing occurs. The internet lights up with people clambering to find out if the title will support 1080p and 60 FPS. The MicroSoft and Sony fans boys hurl insults back and forth if one console supports these features while the other doesn’t.


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: December 16, 2013

GameFocus Podcast: December 16, 2013

Game Focus is proud to present its new podcast episode, a weekly casual talk between GameFocus staff members about the gaming industry. In this show, we talk about mostly the Xbox One and the PS4. Vince explains in details what happened when he reached Microsoft support for a problem with his Xbox One that unexpectedly died after less than 2 days of use.

Read more
Poll

Is the Kinectless Xbox One at $ 399 good enough to seduce you?

Yes - 80.4%
No - 19.6%

Total votes: 153
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: December 16, 2013

GameFocus Podcast: December 16, 2013

Game Focus is proud to present its new podcast episode, a weekly casual talk between GameFocus staff members about the gaming industry. In this show, we talk about mostly the Xbox One and the PS4. Vince explains in details what happened when he reached Microsoft support for a problem with his Xbox One that unexpectedly died after less than 2 days of use.

Read more
Poll

Is the Kinectless Xbox One at $ 399 good enough to seduce you?

Yes - 80.4%
No - 19.6%

Total votes: 153
GameFocus 2014 Top 10
2
Dark Souls II (Xbox 360)
9.1
3
Mario Kart 8 (Wii U)
9.1
4
9.0
5
Child of Light (Xbox One)
9.0
6
Tropico 5 (PC)
8.9
7
EA Sports UFC (Xbox One)
8.7
8
Watch Dogs (Xbox One)
8.5
10
Trials Fusion (Xbox One)
8.0

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus