Review :: (iOS) Into The Dead

You Know What Endless Runners Need? ZOMBIES!

Written by Super User

Published Sunday, 20 January 2013 19:00

Write your own review !

The developers over at Pik Pok did something brilliant with the endless runner genre. They added zombies! The undead creatures have their own first person endless runner now. How does the endless runner fair when zombies are added?

Into The Dead starts out with your character waking up - in first person - and you see a crashed helicopter with some dead folk lying about with a horde of zombies coming your way. Naturally, you turn the other way and run. The further you run, the higher your score gets, and the more zombies will appear on screen. This, of course, makes it that much more challenging. Oh, and the kicker? The moment you run into a zombie, it’s game over. You get one shot at it. There are lots of missions to complete, with objectives ranging from killing a number of zombies, to not using weapons, to using all the perks, and so on. Along with leaderboards and achievements, and there are more modes and content as updates become available. The replayability is on the high end here. There are four different control schemes to choose from; three different tap control options and one is tilt-based. Believe it or not, the tilt control scheme is the best of the bunch, as the tap controls are often unresponsive. The game becomes much more interactive when you have it set to tilt. You actually feel like you are placed in this dark, zombie-filled world. I have not been this impressed with a first person title since Mirror’s Edge.

The graphics have a very strong Walking Dead vibe to it. This game is dark and grim, and feels very much like the universe that Robert Kirkman built. Fans of the comic will feel at home here. Though, crop fields are way too dark. It is often hard to tell where the zombies are as they blend in too much with the crop field. There are randomly placed crates which will provide a temporary weapon to fend off the undead with. Weapons include guns, a chainsaw, grenades, among others, but each one feels the pretty much the same - one or two taps on a zombie kills them regardless. Every run you do gets you coins. These coins net new weapons or perks. Some of the perks may start you out with a weapon, or a head start against the onslaught, and another gives you more ammo. If you would like to use the perks or get all the weapons, you can purchase coins as in-app. My problem with Into The Dead, and I had this same problem with Pik Pok’s other title, Oreo: Twist, Lick, Dunk, is that these freemium titles ask you to pay for the in-game currency - if you choose to - and then there are the in-game ads front and center as well. They pop up too often, sometimes during gameplay, which will take you out of the experience.

Final Focus

Imagine the looks of The Walking Dead with the first person action from Mirror’s Edge in an endless runner and you get Into The Dead. Even though the in-game ads are a nuisance, Pik Pok has something very special for zombie lovers here. The game is one of the better examples of less is more. Should we be surprised when zombies start appearing in more endless runners? I know I won’t be.

If you want to give Into The Dead a run (pun intended), head on over to the App Store.

 


Pros
+ Amazing gameplay + Good amount of challenge + More content in updates for free + Simple creepy graphics + Lots of replayability + Free + Zombies
Cons
- All weapons feel the same - Unresponsive tap controls - In-game ads

Final rating
9.3 / 10
Comments
More Mobile reviews
2012-12-08 :: Polara
2012-12-08 :: (iOS) Doomsday Preppers
2012-12-01 :: (iOS) Sonic Jump
2012-11-16 :: Bad Piggies
2012-11-16 :: Angry Birds Star Wars
2012-10-23 :: (iOS) Space Inversion 2
2012-10-06 :: (iOS) Pizza Boy
2012-09-30 :: The Tiny Bang Story
Special articles
GameFocus' Most Anticipated Games of 2015 Special articles

GameFocus' Most Anticipated Games of 2015

With the start of a new year, the gaming slate is as pure as the driven snow and full of promise and expectation. Here at GameFocus we thought we would share some of the games we are stoked to get our hands on in 2015. Will this bumper crop of intriguing titles entice, disappoint or be delayed (as was common with our 2014 picks)? Only time will tell. Happy gaming this year. Read more
GameFocus Feature: Warlords of Draenor and the Clint Bajakian Connection Special articles

GameFocus Feature: Warlords of Draenor and the Clint Bajakian Connection

Music can make or break a movie. The same could be said for videogames. For the last 30 some odd years, as videogames have slowly crept their way into the main stream, we have been beholden to some truly memorable musical contributions that enhance the immersive experience that make video games stand out among entertainment mediums. Imagine the classics like Super Mario without the original level 1-1 theme, or the Mega Man franchise without its awesome 8 bit power ballads. It can’t be done. The same holds true for modern games; imagine the first Mass Effect without the 80’s Sci-Fi movie synth, or Uncharted without the adventurous sounding fanfare. Music and sound design are an integral part of any complete video game package, and game expansions are no exception. Thanks to the involvement of Pyramind Studios Composer and Senior Music Manager Clint Bajakian and his team, World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor can count itself up there in the echelon of titles whose OST are worth a second look. Read more
The Crew Beta Impressions Special articles

The Crew Beta Impressions

The Crew’s console closed beta has concluded and it has given us a sneak peek into what we can expect to see upon its release on December 2nd.Read more

Game details
(iOS) Into The Dead
Release date : 2012-12-05
Platform :
Publisher : PikPok
Developer : PikPok
Gameplay : Arcade

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

Opinion text: Why Gamers Need to let Games go.

Opinion text: Why Gamers Need to let Games go.

Editor's Note:This text is labelled as blog. It does not represent, implicitly or explicitly, the positions, policies, or opinions of GameFocus. Feel free to comment with the author but please, respectfully .


Read more

Ode to The Olde Timey Video Game: Episode #1 The Greatest Golf Game Ever Made

Ode to The Olde Timey Video Game: Episode #1 The Greatest Golf Game Ever Made

Premier Episode of Ode to The Olde Timey Video Game.  In this video we scientifically prove what the greatest golf video game ever made is.  That's right, this title was released exactly ten years ago this week and in celebration we are taking a fond look back at what made this golf game the very best.


Read more

Why Microsoft buying Minecraft was a Brilliant Move

Why Microsoft buying Minecraft was a Brilliant Move

 

 

A lot has been made of Microsoft’s recent acquisition of Minecraft developer, Mojang.  Whether it be the Minecraft faithful who are worried about the future of the game now that it is in the hands of a massive corporation, or industry analysts speculating on how this new deal will change the video game marketplace, Microsoft fired a shot across across the bow today and, wow, was it shocking.


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: January 2015

GameFocus Podcast: January 2015

Break out the bubbly because it is the first podcast of the New Year. In this episode the guys look back at the surprises and disappointments of 2014 and relay their thoughts on the year's top games. They also crack out the crystal ball to give their predictions for the upcoming year. Nolan gives his first impressions on his Amiibos, we learn the connection between Heath Ledger, Julia Stiles and Henry Winkler and what video game related Netflix content we do and do not recommend. All this plus a complicated calculation of DJ's deaths per minute played in The Evil Within and more wrapped up in a Reese's peanut butter cup of listening entertainment.

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: January 2015

GameFocus Podcast: January 2015

Break out the bubbly because it is the first podcast of the New Year. In this episode the guys look back at the surprises and disappointments of 2014 and relay their thoughts on the year's top games. They also crack out the crystal ball to give their predictions for the upcoming year. Nolan gives his first impressions on his Amiibos, we learn the connection between Heath Ledger, Julia Stiles and Henry Winkler and what video game related Netflix content we do and do not recommend. All this plus a complicated calculation of DJ's deaths per minute played in The Evil Within and more wrapped up in a Reese's peanut butter cup of listening entertainment.

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
7.8

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus