Review :: (iOS) Into The Dead

You Know What Endless Runners Need? ZOMBIES!

Written by Super User

Published Sunday, 20 January 2013 19:00

Write your own review !

The developers over at Pik Pok did something brilliant with the endless runner genre. They added zombies! The undead creatures have their own first person endless runner now. How does the endless runner fair when zombies are added?

Into The Dead starts out with your character waking up - in first person - and you see a crashed helicopter with some dead folk lying about with a horde of zombies coming your way. Naturally, you turn the other way and run. The further you run, the higher your score gets, and the more zombies will appear on screen. This, of course, makes it that much more challenging. Oh, and the kicker? The moment you run into a zombie, it’s game over. You get one shot at it. There are lots of missions to complete, with objectives ranging from killing a number of zombies, to not using weapons, to using all the perks, and so on. Along with leaderboards and achievements, and there are more modes and content as updates become available. The replayability is on the high end here. There are four different control schemes to choose from; three different tap control options and one is tilt-based. Believe it or not, the tilt control scheme is the best of the bunch, as the tap controls are often unresponsive. The game becomes much more interactive when you have it set to tilt. You actually feel like you are placed in this dark, zombie-filled world. I have not been this impressed with a first person title since Mirror’s Edge.

The graphics have a very strong Walking Dead vibe to it. This game is dark and grim, and feels very much like the universe that Robert Kirkman built. Fans of the comic will feel at home here. Though, crop fields are way too dark. It is often hard to tell where the zombies are as they blend in too much with the crop field. There are randomly placed crates which will provide a temporary weapon to fend off the undead with. Weapons include guns, a chainsaw, grenades, among others, but each one feels the pretty much the same - one or two taps on a zombie kills them regardless. Every run you do gets you coins. These coins net new weapons or perks. Some of the perks may start you out with a weapon, or a head start against the onslaught, and another gives you more ammo. If you would like to use the perks or get all the weapons, you can purchase coins as in-app. My problem with Into The Dead, and I had this same problem with Pik Pok’s other title, Oreo: Twist, Lick, Dunk, is that these freemium titles ask you to pay for the in-game currency - if you choose to - and then there are the in-game ads front and center as well. They pop up too often, sometimes during gameplay, which will take you out of the experience.

Final Focus

Imagine the looks of The Walking Dead with the first person action from Mirror’s Edge in an endless runner and you get Into The Dead. Even though the in-game ads are a nuisance, Pik Pok has something very special for zombie lovers here. The game is one of the better examples of less is more. Should we be surprised when zombies start appearing in more endless runners? I know I won’t be.

If you want to give Into The Dead a run (pun intended), head on over to the App Store.

 


Pros
+ Amazing gameplay + Good amount of challenge + More content in updates for free + Simple creepy graphics + Lots of replayability + Free + Zombies
Cons
- All weapons feel the same - Unresponsive tap controls - In-game ads

Final rating
9.3 / 10
Comments
More Mobile reviews
2012-12-08 :: Polara
2012-12-08 :: (iOS) Doomsday Preppers
2012-12-01 :: (iOS) Sonic Jump
2012-11-16 :: Bad Piggies
2012-11-16 :: Angry Birds Star Wars
2012-10-23 :: (iOS) Space Inversion 2
2012-10-06 :: (iOS) Pizza Boy
2012-09-30 :: The Tiny Bang Story
Special articles
The Forest: Exclusive Game Focus Interview Special articles

The Forest: Exclusive Game Focus Interview

  Earlier this week, Ben Falcone and Anna Terekhova, two of the three main developers of Endnight Games’ The Forest responded to some questions I had about the project and provided some insight into the development and what comes next.  I asked everything from whether or not The Forest would be released on the Xbox One or Playstation 4, what the developers were most worried about before release on Steam, to whether or not they could disclose any more details about The Forests ending.  
Lire la suite...
Marking The Mid-Point of 2014: Highs, Lows and Hopes Special articles

Marking The Mid-Point of 2014: Highs, Lows and Hopes

  Here we are at the half way point of 2014. According to the Chinese zodiac 2014 is the year of the horse; the wood horse. It is to be a year of conflict; wood will fuel the fires and lead many to clash headlong into battle. How fitting it is then that my video game highlights, disappointments, hopes, and dreams for the year are directly in conflict with one another: Lightning quick interfaces vs a lack of new-gen experiences, game costs vs value, PlayStation vs Xbox.   Read more
CFL Mode in Madden 15?  Please Make it Happen EA. Special articles

CFL Mode in Madden 15? Please Make it Happen EA.

  Maybe it’s my Canadian pride and the fact that Canada Day is just around the corner, but I want a CFL football game.  For you folks out there who don’t know what the CFL is, well it’s a sports league, it stands for: Canadian Football League.  That’s right, Canada has its own football league, and trust me, it’s a good one.  So good, in fact, it deserves its own video game.   Read more
Impressions: My Date with Destiny Special articles

Impressions: My Date with Destiny

…see what I did there? Whatever dudes, I thought it was clever.  Anyways, I had the opportunity to spend my weekend with the Alpha Beta of the upcoming Bungie shooter, Destiny. Read more

Game details
(iOS) Into The Dead
Release date : 2012-12-05
Platform :
Publisher : PikPok
Developer : PikPok
Gameplay : Arcade

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

Gamefocus Feature: T'was the Night Before Gamescom

Gamefocus Feature: T'was the Night Before Gamescom

All eyes are on Cologne Germany for Gamescom 2014 as the biggest videogame industry event in Europe, second-largest gaming event in the world. (Game Show Asia is the largest in terms of attendance.), is set to begin.


Read more

Destiny Beta: Thoughts and Impressions

Destiny Beta: Thoughts and Impressions

The Destiny Beta has come and gone and now that I have had a chance to actually play what is, perhaps, the most anticipated game of 2014, I have some thoughts about it.  Here is a collection of what I liked, what I hope changes, and why I am worried.


Read more

1080p and 60 FPS? I Don’t Care

1080p and 60 FPS?  I Don’t Care

 

It seems these days that whenever a new AAA title is announced a strange thing occurs. The internet lights up with people clambering to find out if the title will support 1080p and 60 FPS. The MicroSoft and Sony fans boys hurl insults back and forth if one console supports these features while the other doesn’t.


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: December 16, 2013

GameFocus Podcast: December 16, 2013

Game Focus is proud to present its new podcast episode, a weekly casual talk between GameFocus staff members about the gaming industry. In this show, we talk about mostly the Xbox One and the PS4. Vince explains in details what happened when he reached Microsoft support for a problem with his Xbox One that unexpectedly died after less than 2 days of use.

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: December 16, 2013

GameFocus Podcast: December 16, 2013

Game Focus is proud to present its new podcast episode, a weekly casual talk between GameFocus staff members about the gaming industry. In this show, we talk about mostly the Xbox One and the PS4. Vince explains in details what happened when he reached Microsoft support for a problem with his Xbox One that unexpectedly died after less than 2 days of use.

Read more
GameFocus 2014 Top 10
2
Dark Souls II (Xbox 360)
9.1
3
Mario Kart 8 (Wii U)
9.1
4
9.0
5
Child of Light (Xbox One)
9.0
6
Tropico 5 (PC)
8.9
7
EA Sports UFC (Xbox One)
8.7
8
Watch Dogs (Xbox One)
8.5
10
Trials Fusion (Xbox One)
8.0

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus