Review :: (iOS) Into The Dead

You Know What Endless Runners Need? ZOMBIES!

Written by Super User

Published Sunday, 20 January 2013 19:00

Write your own review !

The developers over at Pik Pok did something brilliant with the endless runner genre. They added zombies! The undead creatures have their own first person endless runner now. How does the endless runner fair when zombies are added?

Into The Dead starts out with your character waking up - in first person - and you see a crashed helicopter with some dead folk lying about with a horde of zombies coming your way. Naturally, you turn the other way and run. The further you run, the higher your score gets, and the more zombies will appear on screen. This, of course, makes it that much more challenging. Oh, and the kicker? The moment you run into a zombie, it’s game over. You get one shot at it. There are lots of missions to complete, with objectives ranging from killing a number of zombies, to not using weapons, to using all the perks, and so on. Along with leaderboards and achievements, and there are more modes and content as updates become available. The replayability is on the high end here. There are four different control schemes to choose from; three different tap control options and one is tilt-based. Believe it or not, the tilt control scheme is the best of the bunch, as the tap controls are often unresponsive. The game becomes much more interactive when you have it set to tilt. You actually feel like you are placed in this dark, zombie-filled world. I have not been this impressed with a first person title since Mirror’s Edge.

The graphics have a very strong Walking Dead vibe to it. This game is dark and grim, and feels very much like the universe that Robert Kirkman built. Fans of the comic will feel at home here. Though, crop fields are way too dark. It is often hard to tell where the zombies are as they blend in too much with the crop field. There are randomly placed crates which will provide a temporary weapon to fend off the undead with. Weapons include guns, a chainsaw, grenades, among others, but each one feels the pretty much the same - one or two taps on a zombie kills them regardless. Every run you do gets you coins. These coins net new weapons or perks. Some of the perks may start you out with a weapon, or a head start against the onslaught, and another gives you more ammo. If you would like to use the perks or get all the weapons, you can purchase coins as in-app. My problem with Into The Dead, and I had this same problem with Pik Pok’s other title, Oreo: Twist, Lick, Dunk, is that these freemium titles ask you to pay for the in-game currency - if you choose to - and then there are the in-game ads front and center as well. They pop up too often, sometimes during gameplay, which will take you out of the experience.

Final Focus

Imagine the looks of The Walking Dead with the first person action from Mirror’s Edge in an endless runner and you get Into The Dead. Even though the in-game ads are a nuisance, Pik Pok has something very special for zombie lovers here. The game is one of the better examples of less is more. Should we be surprised when zombies start appearing in more endless runners? I know I won’t be.

If you want to give Into The Dead a run (pun intended), head on over to the App Store.

 


Pros
+ Amazing gameplay + Good amount of challenge + More content in updates for free + Simple creepy graphics + Lots of replayability + Free + Zombies
Cons
- All weapons feel the same - Unresponsive tap controls - In-game ads

Final rating
9.3 / 10
Comments
More Mobile reviews
2012-12-08 :: Polara
2012-12-08 :: (iOS) Doomsday Preppers
2012-12-01 :: (iOS) Sonic Jump
2012-11-16 :: Bad Piggies
2012-11-16 :: Angry Birds Star Wars
2012-10-23 :: (iOS) Space Inversion 2
2012-10-06 :: (iOS) Pizza Boy
2012-09-30 :: The Tiny Bang Story
Special articles
GameFocus High Fives April 2015: Week 3 Special articles

GameFocus High Fives April 2015: Week 3

“What 5 Games or Game Franchises Should Get the HD Definitive Edition Treatment?” With the trend of recent last-gen games being ported to Xbox One and PS4 showing no signs of slowing down some of the GameFocus staff put together individual lists of 5 games or game franchises that need to recived the full HD Definitive Edition treatment. Be it an old classic, or a recent favourite; anything could pop up on one of these lists, so if lists are your thing (of course they are), read on.
Lire la suite...
GameFocus High Fives April 2015 Week 2 Special articles

GameFocus High Fives April 2015 Week 2

“What 5 Games or Game Franchises Should Get the HD Definitive Edition Treatment?” With the trend of recent last-gen games being ported to Xbox One and PS4 showing no signs of slowing down some of the GameFocus staff put together individual lists of 5 games or game franchises that need to recived the full HD Definitive Edition treatment. Be it an old classic, or a recent favourite; anything could pop up on one of these lists, so if lists are your thing (of course they are), read on. Read more
Pass It or Play It? - Run Sackboy! Run! (PS Vita) Special articles

Pass It or Play It? - Run Sackboy! Run! (PS Vita)

Offered as a free download, Run Sackboy! Run! is an endless runner based off of the LittleBigPlanet games. Many have complained of the staleness of the series, so will Run Sackboy! Run! a saviour of types or should you “run” faaaaar away from it? Read more
New Feature: GameFocus High Fives April 15 Special articles

New Feature: GameFocus High Fives April 15

 High fives are awesome. This is scientific fact. There is no physical action that is more synonymous with awesomeness then two people throwing their hands into the air with excitement and connecting. The ensuing sound is the culmination of awesome made audible.  In celebration of the awesomeness that is the High Five; the GameFocus staff are proud to announce a new ongoing Monthly/Weekly feature that we’ve affectionately called GameFocus High Fives. Read more

Game details
(iOS) Into The Dead
Release date : 2012-12-05
Platform :
Publisher : PikPok
Developer : PikPok
Gameplay : Arcade

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

Well everyone, Mortal Kombat X is now available to be purchased (which I’m sure you have done) and if you keep up with video game news (which I’m sure you do), you would know that almost every single day in the lead up to its release, we were hearing about a new trailer, character reveal, or some sort of news regarding the upcoming game. I have to hand it to Mortal Kombat X’s marketing team, they did their job; it seems like every person on the planet is hyped about this game (which I’m sure you are).

But aside from a good marketing campaign, what’s the big deal about Mortal Kombat X anyways?


Read more

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

  Apple has finally lifted the curtain on the Apple Watch and, unsurprisingly, it looks good.  Maybe you're crunching the numbers to determine if you can afford the $13,000, 38mm 18-carat rose gold case edition or the $449.00 sport model.  No matter what you pick you'll need an Apple iPhone 5 or later running the latest version of iOS, so don't forget to figure that into the cost as well.  Before taking out a line of credit to buy the latest and greatest from Apple I'd recommend holding off and avoiding the April 24th release date altogether. 


Read more

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Maybe it wouldn't have been as bad if the sales person hadn't said, "this is our most popular seller; I can barely keep it on the shelves."  My mother and I were in the only video game store in the city.  It was in the basement of a professional building and smelled like stale cigarette smoke and BO.  For passing grade five I was rewarded with a video game.  This wasn't a decision to be made lightly; this would be one of the two games I'd get all year.  I can no longer remember the game I originally wanted but I do remember the store didn't have it.  Instead, the sales person was recommending something I'd never heard of, a little game called "Mystery Quest."


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

This time around the guys take the Batmobile for a spin waxing poetically about the upcoming Arkham Knight and past Arkham titles. We shed a tear for our gaming regrets and speculate on which actor was delivered a Mortal Kombat fatality. Plus: How interested would you be in a "Who's The Boss" video game? What sort of hat wear could you get with 50 Microsoft points? And..Why do 2-D fighting games reign supreme over 3-D?

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

This time around the guys take the Batmobile for a spin waxing poetically about the upcoming Arkham Knight and past Arkham titles. We shed a tear for our gaming regrets and speculate on which actor was delivered a Mortal Kombat fatality. Plus: How interested would you be in a "Who's The Boss" video game? What sort of hat wear could you get with 50 Microsoft points? And..Why do 2-D fighting games reign supreme over 3-D?

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
Apotheon (PC)
9.4
2
Splice (PlayStation 4)
8.4
3
Hand of Fate (Xbox One)
8.0
4
8.0
5
7.8
7
Dead or Alive 5 Last Round (PlayStation 4)
7.7
8
6.6

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus