Review :: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Ultimate Edition

Taking Advice From a Two Legged Goat Never Felt so Good!

D.J. Kinsey

Written by DJ Kinsey - Assistant Editor-in-Chief

Published Thursday, 17 October 2013 13:14

Write your own review !

 

In 2010 Castlevania: Lords of Shadow carried the classic franchise mantle to the consoles in a well received third person action game. Two additional pieces of DLC, Reverie and Resurrection were subsequently released providing additional gameplay and clearing up some of the muddier plot points which were a sore point with some fans. Lords of Shadow and all of its DLC have now been ported to the PC in one big tidy bundle dubbed the Ultimate Edition.

The third person action title takes place during the dark ages, several decades after the turn of the first millennium. The game follows Gabriel Belmont, a member of the same Belmont clan that has been fighting vampires and the forces of darkness since the first title in the franchise began over a quarter century ago. Gabriel as a member of the Brotherhood of Light, is tasked with protecting humanity against supernatural creatures and solving the mystery of why the souls of the recently departed, including his wife, are trapped in limbo.

castlevania 1

I fully admit that I did not think this review would turn out too favorably after my first half hour of gameplay. The PC keyboard controls were unmanageable and the third person combat was one dimensional with limited tools to attack a single enemy type. Shame on me. I quickly changed my tune after I switched to a controller and immersed myself in the Castelvania world. Like a tasty crème brulee after a good meal all I had to do was to crack through the tough surface of the game’s opening to experience the richness and pleasure within.

After my first sit-down with the game I began to grasp just how much goblin punching, spider stabbing and scarecrow chopping content there is....Lords of Shadow Ultimate Edition delivers a boat load of value. It is always refreshing and appreciated when games strive to offer more than the all too common eight hour experience.

It would be a disservice to the game to simply call the game a third person action title. Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Ultimate Edition contains similar third person gameplay mechanics to some titles which are amongst the most celebrated in the industry. There are moments of battling titans that shared the same scale and magnitude as Shadow of the Colossus. Gabriel shimmies along ledges and jumps between them akin to a long haired Nathan Drake and the range of Gabriel’s combat cross enables similar striking attacks as God of War’s Kratos. Gabriel is even able to swing between certain elevated points via his combat cross harkening back to my much loved Bionic Commando. With the addition of some puzzle solving elements there are few games that can marry so many mechanics in one coherent effort.

castlevania 2

That effort is further fortified via an incredible musical score that sets the tone for each level and encounter. While I rarely fully appreciate what an orchestral accompaniment can add to a title, with Lords of Shadow I made a point to raise the volume. My eardrums were further tickled with the fine voice acting of Robert Carlyle (Trainspotting, Star Gate Universe) as Gabriel and Patrick Stewart as the narrator and Gabriel’s companion Zobek. The fine acting chops drew me further into the story and I was able to resist the temptation to try and skip cut-scenes even when they were longer than need be. My largest complaint about the entire audio department is that it sounded as if a different actor provided Gabriel’s grunts, wails and yells during the gameplay action and that Carlyle was only tapped to provide cut-scene voice work for Gabriel.

The Castlevania worlds are varied and fantastical. Quickly departing from the dreary mud soaked levels befitting the dark-ages timeline, Gabriel traverses mountain valleys, enchanted forests and ancient landscapes burdened by ice as far as the eye can see. While the graphics are technically adequate they seem to be generated in such a way that the worlds ooze atmosphere more than their pixel fidelity would imply. This same attention is evident in the animation of the enemies and in particular the brutal bosses. They attack with such a grace and efficiency of movement that you’d almost think giant warthogs and monstrous lycans were motion captured by the developer in the making of the game.

castlevania 3

My appreciation for the beauty of the world was frequently jarred as I attempted to traverse it. Often wide open paths could be seen but invisible walls denied my attempts to explore further. With a fixed camera position is would be expected that there should be obvious obstacles barricading areas instead of the game simply not allowing you to travel to a spot that can be seen. The jump controls also felt to lack the acuity and precision to deliver Gabriel to the desired ledges and platforms on my first attempt each time. This often resulted in a low level of frustration when Gabriel journeyed across the land between combat.

The fighting gameplay is relatively strong when Gabriel is tasked with taking on a horde of creatures, which is often. While only starting with limited skills, he acquires combos and blood splattering moves with great frequency through purchases using experience points as currency. I did find the generally tight combat system to let me down when presented with an airborne enemy launching themselves at me. I would have expected to be able to knock them out of the air or at least damage them before suffering a strike. Instead attacking an enemy who was jumping at me felt fruitless and evasion was the only strategy which worked.

castlevania 4

After my first sit-down with the game I began to grasp just how much goblin punching, spider stabbing and scarecrow chopping content there is. For a casual gamer the main campaign has at least 20 hours of gameplay with another good five hours for the DLC. Add to this the many doors and contraptions I encountered that could only be accessed on another play-through with an upgraded Gabriel and it is easy to see that Lords of Shadow Ultimate Edition delivers a boat load of value. It is always refreshing and appreciated when games strive to offer more than the all too common eight hour experience.

FINAL FOCUS

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Ultimate Edition provided me with many layers of delicious gaming that well exceeded my expectations. The mesmerizing musical score and stunning presentation provided the backdrop for a bounty of gameplay mechanics which were usually well executed. The odd misstep in the combat and level exploration could not detract from the huge amount of content the game delivers. Having not played a Castelvania title since slipping one into my NES I for one won’t let another 25 years pass before immersing myself in this franchise again.  

 

 


Pros

 

-          A huge amount of levels and gameplay

-          Multiple game mechanics

-          Patrick Stewart + Robert Carlyle = Top tier voice work

-          Alluring visuals

-          Enjoyable enemies

 

Cons

 

-          Fixed camera and invisible walls

-          Minor combat detection issues

-          Some jumping could be refined

 


Final rating
8.3 / 10
Comments
More PC reviews
2015-06-25 :: 3D MiniGolf
2015-02-28 :: Total War: Attila
2015-02-03 :: Apotheon
2014-09-24 :: The Sims 4
2014-05-23 :: Tropico 5
2014-05-01 :: Elder Scrolls: Online
2014-04-02 :: Deus Ex: The Fall
Special articles
#E32015 Predictions: Tyler Hodgkinson Special articles

#E32015 Predictions: Tyler Hodgkinson

With #E32015 nearly upon us, rumours and reports are running ramped about what will or will not see at the conference. So what do the fine folks at GameFocus predict? Take a look for yourself and see!
Lire la suite...
#E32015 Predictions: Nolan Forth Special articles

#E32015 Predictions: Nolan Forth

With #E32015 nearly upon us, rumours and reports are running ramped about what will or will not see at the conference. So what do the fine folks at GameFocus predict? Take a look for yourself and see! Read more
#E32015 Predictions: Jesse Vuksanovich Special articles

#E32015 Predictions: Jesse Vuksanovich

With #E32015 nearly upon us, rumours and reports are runnning rampid about what will or will not see at the conference. So what do the fine folks at GameFocus predict? Take a look for yourself and see! Read more
Stage Select Gaming Expo - Toronto's Future Answer to E3? Special articles

Stage Select Gaming Expo - Toronto's Future Answer to E3?

With E3 generating a massive amount of buzz in the week leading up to the big event, I thought I'd take a moment and talk about the smaller but growing momentum of Toronto's own gaming conference - Stage Select Gaming Expo.  Read more

Game details
Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Ultimate Edition
Release date : 2013-08-27
Platform :
Publisher : Konami
Developer : Mercury Steam
Gameplay : Action-Adventure

GameFocus High Fives

GameFocus High Fives, June - D.J.

GameFocus High Fives, June - D.J.

There is arguably no other aspect of gaming that is more underappreciated than the Non Player Character (NPC). Serving as companions, quest givers, plot devices and more; they have been an integral aspect of our favourite games and have evolved right alongside gaming itself over the decades.  For the month of June, the GameFocus Staff will be celebrate all things NPC by listing 5 of their favourite or most under-rated non-player characters in games.

D.J. Kinsey - Assistant Editor-in-Chief


Read more

GameFocus High Fives, June 2015 - Tyler

GameFocus High Fives, June 2015 - Tyler

There is arguably no other aspect of gaming that is more underappreciated than the Non Player Character (NPC). Serving as companions, quest givers, plot devices and more; they have been an integral aspect of our favourite games and have evolved right alongside gaming itself over the decades.  For the month of June, the GameFocus Staff will be celebrate all things NPC by listing 5 of their favourite or most under-rated non-player characters in games.

Tyler Hodgkinson - Staff Writer


Read more

GameFocus High Fives May 2015, Week 3

GameFocus High Fives May 2015, Week 3

“Top Five Unexpectedly Great Games”

There is no better feeling as a gamer then when a game exceeds your expectations. Maybe it was a bargain bin purchase at a local retailer, or a title rescued from development hell that was doomed to fail, or even something that just didn’t fit your personal tastes and you took a chance on it. For the month of May, the GameFocus staff reflects on what video games they have played that were unexpectedly great!

Week 3: Jesse Vuksanovich - Staff Writer


Read more
DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more
First Impressions

Injustice: Gods Among Us

Injustice: Gods Among Us
Injustice: Gods Among Us, the upcoming DC fighting game by NetherRealm Studios, is set to be released on April 16th. Even though the release date is just around the corner, they continue to announce additional characters that will be playable upon release, as well as alternate costumes for numerous ... Lire la suite...

More previews
GF Blogs

The Last Guardian Will NOT Appear at #E32015 and Here's the Reason Why...

The Last Guardian Will NOT Appear at #E32015 and Here's the Reason Why...

Since its reveal at E3 2009, The Last Guardian has not resurfaced other than in rumours and in statements regarding said rumours. Sony admits to major studio problems during the game’s development, but constantly reassures those anticipating the game that it is still not, and will not, be canceled. So is this the year that we finally see the resurrection of The Last Guardian? In my opinion, the answer is a big fat NO.


Read more

A Few Good Reasons for Grounding Players in WOW

A Few Good Reasons for Grounding Players in WOW

Getting my first mount in World of Warcraft was a major milestone. It came at a time before Blizzard reduced the cost of training for a ground mount and the gold required seemed like an impossible sum when quests were doling out a few coppers. What's more, I was foolishly selling my gathered iron or mithril to in-game vendors rather than placing it up for auction. I won't get into the particulars of my moneymaking strategy but I will say that it wasn't effective and very indicative of my n00b status.


Read more

Splatoon - Early Impressions

Splatoon - Early Impressions

As we may all know, Splatoon is the latest major exclusive title from Nintendo and it will be hitting stores later this week (May 29, NA). Its announcement at E3 2014 shocked many, strictly because of the fact that Nintendo was making a shooting-game. Yes, a shooting-game; it still sounds weird to me, too. In Splatoon, players take control of a human-squid hybrid as they attempt shoot, roll and “splat” a given area with more of their team’s ink than their opponents. The game relies heavily on its online multiplayer mode, although a single player experience is included in the game.  Its cartoony art style and Pixar-eqsue character models make the title feel more at home on the Wii U, but the concept itself is still odd for the archetypical family-friendly company. A playable visualization of the game recently became available in the form of “Splatoon Global Testfire”, a one hour gameplay demo that went live five times over two weekends. I got the chance to sit down and test the peculiar game for myself. Here are my impressions…


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
Apotheon (PC)
9.4
2
Splatoon (Wii U)
8.6
3
Splice (PlayStation 4)
8.4
4
Hand of Fate (Xbox One)
8.0
5
8.0
6
Toren (PlayStation 4)
8.0
7
7.8
9
Dead or Alive 5 Last Round (PlayStation 4)
7.7
10
6.6

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus