Review :: Pool Nation

Pool Nation (PS3)

Those Balls Are As Shiny As Ever

Written by

Published Wednesday, 26 June 2013 17:43

Write your own review !

It's been eight months since Pool Nation first hit the scene and showed us that pool didn't have to be dull. In fact it could be the shiniest game to ever grace an Xbox 360. Now as Pool Nation nears its North American debut on PlayStation 3, Cherry Pop Games shows that this is anything but a port to another console but rather an upgraded version that took everything that made the 360 version great and added even more.

PoolNation Game MasterArt

The first thing I noticed was a new start screen showing off a few of the new characters. Technically these characters aren't new but visually each one has been completely redesigned and replaced with a uniquely coloured and hand-drawn look. In a few cases they look relatively similar to before but for the majority the look is vastly different from what I am used to seeing. So much so that I mistook some as new characters the first time I played.

The soundtrack remains the same, not that any change was needed before. The varied sounds of electronic jazz give the game a modern yet refined ambiance. Playing a game that originated hundreds of years ago while listening to an electronic jazz mix and looking at skyscrapers sounds a bit crazy but its actually a wondrous collision of two different worlds, new and old, and realizing how well they work together.

PoolNationPS3 167

I'm not all that used to PlayStation controllers anymore but I had no problem finding my groove and hustling the best players almost immediately. The controls are still extremely intuitive. So much so that anyone could pick up a controller and start potting balls like a pro. The flow of each shot and ease of changing each detail of it is the key to what makes these controls so great.

There are still nine game types available including the always frantic Endurance where one must pot balls against the clock and a single slip-up can end it all. Staples like 8- and 9-ball are still around of course as are the more arcade-like games such as Rotation and Killer which aren't just confined to the video game realm but are great games to play with friends in real life too. Speed pool is finally available to play online, something that can't be done on the 360 version currently. Frankly though, I would have liked to see more game modes added. I can only imagine how bumper pool would play on this engine.

PoolNationPS3 075

The shining star of the game is of course the graphics and the huge amount of detail that was put into them. The balls look even shinier this time around but that might just be my TV though. Only when watching slow-motion replays of bumpers deforming and chalk dust appearing can one truly appreciate the effort that was put into these minute details and all the others that make Pool Nation unique. But the detail isn't confined to the table alone. Each of the four venues have a post-modern look and vibe all their own and could easily be passed off as levels for Mirror's Edge. Each and every distinguished element of the levels is crucial to the ambiance I mentioned earlier.

The unsung hero and by far the best part of the game is the realistic physics. I've played many pool games before but none of them could capture that realistic "feel" of actually playing pool. Pool Nation captures that feeling and then some. Many of the shots I've made in-game I have recreated on a real pool table. I would even go so far to say that this game has made me a better pool player. Its amazing real-world physics the primary cause.

PoolNationPS3 172

FINAL FOCUS

The newly redesigned characters combined with the already stellar graphics and physics make this a great game to play whether you're a fan of pool or if you just want a cool game to play this summer. Though I would've liked more game modes and I have my doubts about how large the online community will be in a few months, Pool Nation is still a must-buy for PlayStation 3 owners and is a purchase you will not regret.


Pros

+Redesigned characters
+Still has everything that made the Xbox 360 version great
+Great price @ $8.49

Cons

-No new game modes
-Online community could be scarce within months


Final rating
9.7 / 10
Comments
More PlayStation 3 reviews
Special articles
GameFocus High Fives, May 2015 Week 2 Special articles

GameFocus High Fives, May 2015 Week 2

  “Top Five Unexpectedly Great Games” There is no better feeling as a gamer then when a game exceeds your expectations. Maybe it was a bargain bin purchase at a local retailer, or a title rescued from development hell that was doomed to fail, or even something that just didn’t fit your personal tastes and you took a chance on it. For the month of May, the GameFocus staff reflects on what video games they have played that were unexpectedly great! Week 2 - Tyler Hodgkinson - Staff Writer
Lire la suite...
Mailbag: May 18 - Bloodstained vs Bard's Tale Special articles

Mailbag: May 18 - Bloodstained vs Bard's Tale

 You ask - I answer: Dear Jesse,With the recent announcement of Bloodstained on Kickstarter and the upcoming campaign for Bard's Tale 4 I'm at a loss for who (whom?) to fund. Whips or swords? I've wanted to get in on a Kickstarter campaign and I'm pretty excited for both of these games but is it worth it? What if the game doesn't meet its target? Or what if I end up funding something that was lousy and I'm left with egg all over my face? Thx,Don't want to be an egg man Read more
GameFocus High Fives May 2015 Week 1 Special articles

GameFocus High Fives May 2015 Week 1

 “Top Five Unexpectedly Great Games” There is no better feeling as a gamer then when a game exceeds your expectations. Maybe it was a bargain bin purchase at a local retailer, or a title rescued from development hell that was doomed to fail, or even something that just didn’t fit your personal tastes and you took a chance on it. For the month of May, the GameFocus staff reflects on what video games they have played that were unexpectedly great! Week 1: D.J. Kinsey - Assistant Editor-in-Chief Read more
Mailbag: May 10, 2015 Special articles

Mailbag: May 10, 2015

 It's been a while, fellow gamers, and I hope you'll excuse my absence. As I write this most of my belongings are still packed in boxes (except for the PS4 and WiiU) but I am writing this from a new home and so at least one major hurdle has been crossed. In my absence we've had lots of great questions so without adieu let's get to it. Dear Jesse, I'm in my last year at high school. I'm a pretty typical guy -- I ride a horse, cut lawns for extra money, help out people where I can and hang with this girl I like. Life would be pretty ideal if not for one particular teacher -- Mr. G. -- I kind of ruined his life, but I didn't mean to. Read more

Game details
Pool Nation
Release date : June 25
Platform :
Publisher : Cherry Pop Games
Developer : Cherry Pop Games
Gameplay : Sports

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

Well everyone, Mortal Kombat X is now available to be purchased (which I’m sure you have done) and if you keep up with video game news (which I’m sure you do), you would know that almost every single day in the lead up to its release, we were hearing about a new trailer, character reveal, or some sort of news regarding the upcoming game. I have to hand it to Mortal Kombat X’s marketing team, they did their job; it seems like every person on the planet is hyped about this game (which I’m sure you are).

But aside from a good marketing campaign, what’s the big deal about Mortal Kombat X anyways?


Read more

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

  Apple has finally lifted the curtain on the Apple Watch and, unsurprisingly, it looks good.  Maybe you're crunching the numbers to determine if you can afford the $13,000, 38mm 18-carat rose gold case edition or the $449.00 sport model.  No matter what you pick you'll need an Apple iPhone 5 or later running the latest version of iOS, so don't forget to figure that into the cost as well.  Before taking out a line of credit to buy the latest and greatest from Apple I'd recommend holding off and avoiding the April 24th release date altogether. 


Read more

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Maybe it wouldn't have been as bad if the sales person hadn't said, "this is our most popular seller; I can barely keep it on the shelves."  My mother and I were in the only video game store in the city.  It was in the basement of a professional building and smelled like stale cigarette smoke and BO.  For passing grade five I was rewarded with a video game.  This wasn't a decision to be made lightly; this would be one of the two games I'd get all year.  I can no longer remember the game I originally wanted but I do remember the store didn't have it.  Instead, the sales person was recommending something I'd never heard of, a little game called "Mystery Quest."


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
Apotheon (PC)
9.4
2
Splice (PlayStation 4)
8.4
3
Hand of Fate (Xbox One)
8.0
4
8.0
5
7.8
7
Dead or Alive 5 Last Round (PlayStation 4)
7.7
8
6.6
9
6.0

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus