Review :: BioShock Infinite

Give Us The Girl, And Wipe Away The Debt...Then Get Bored

Written by Super User

Published Sunday, 05 May 2013 20:00

Write your own review !

The third game in the BioShock series, and the second developed by Irrational Games, seeks to take the series to new heights, literally. Exchanging the watery depths of Rapture for the sunny skies of Columbia, Irrational presents us with a doorway to the past and entrenches us in a world of intrigue, mystery, and emotion. Although, it is not without its flaws...

Bioshock04

Players assume the role of Booker DeWitt, a former Pinkerton agent with a not-so-pleasant past. Up to his neck in debts, Booker accepts an offer that will get him out of the red. If he can rescue a woman named Elizabeth from the city of Columbia his account will be settled. Though it sounds simple enough, Elizabeth is no ordinary woman and Columbia is no ordinary city.

"This is a story driven game and all its twists and turns keep you playing and wanting to discover more."

Elizabeth follows you around for the majority of the game, and is by far the most helpful and emotionally powerful AI that I have ever encountered. She constantly gives you more money and supplies you with health, salts (the power supply for your Vigors, which I’ll touch on in a bit), and ammo when necessary. When in dialogue with her you feel as if you’re talking to a real person. The emotions and humanity she conveys, be it directly through her dialog or implied through her very dynamic body language, are the product of great writing, fantastic voice acting, and awesome graphics (which gives some credence to Mr. Yerli). She is such an integral and compelling character that it’s impossible to imagine the game without her.

Bioshock05

Columbia is filled with bright, vibrant colors and many curious characters. The city spews happy vibes (at first), and is rooted in pure nostalgia. The sights and sounds are exactly as I imagine any American town to be like in 1912. Objects are made out of wood and metal instead of plastic. Suits and dresses are the only attire people wear. And of course sexism and racism are rampant. It has a personality all its own that keeps you wanting to explore its every crevice and uncover its seedy underbelly.

The themes reflected are as relevant now as they would have been in 1912. The game is an interactive commentary on social equality, and the power of religion, among other things. These issues provide interesting bits of dialogue, and are the basis for the intelligent storytelling found throughout.

Bioshock06

Even if you don’t pay attention to the story (though you really should), you’ll have a grand time playing. Controls are easy to use, and there is a nice assortment of locations to explore and weapons to acquire. Some enemies that are presented as bosses in the first few hours of gameplay become somewhat regular foes later on in the game, so the level of challenge is always rising. There are also enough collectibles that will keep perfectionists like myself scrounging around for one more playthrough at least.

Up to this point you may be thinking, "Why this game sounds absolutely capital! To not play it is simply balderdash!" Well, hold on there. Though there are many good things that make this game "capital," there are others that will make you exclaim, "madness!"

Bioshock07

One of the first issues will hit you not long after stepping foot on the floating metropolis. There are four decisions that must be made early on in the game that are are poised to be rife with dramatic narrative impact, but turn out to be absolutely meaningless. While I enjoy being given a choice in games, I want my choices to have a lasting effect. The seemingly moral decisions you make in Infinite won’t waver your compass one bit, having no effect on the story or the gameplay. They are purely aesthetic changes that you’re likely not to notice as you play through the rest of the game.

There are eight Vigors in the game that are effectively magic abilities that do crazy things to your hands. They are essentially Infinite’s version of Plasmids, and have a wide range of amusing effects, from setting a murder of crows upon your enemies to washing your foes right off the edge of the city. As cool as that sounds, it turns out that most of them are relatively useless. I found myself only using three throughout the entire game, while the others lay in wait for the rare time I require them. It boils down to the fact that some Vigors simply injure the enemy, and others kill. Which one would you rather use?

Bioshock01

There are thirteen weapons available for use in combat. From shotguns to machine guns to RPGs, there is a somewhat wide array of weapons to choose from. However, they suffer from a problem similar to the Vigors: some weapons completely out-do others. The pistol is only needed for the first 30 or so minutes before you find the Triple R Machine Gun which, as you would imagine, provides a significantly faster kill. The Hand Cannon is much like a small shotgun in pistol form, but it cannot compete with the actual shotgun in terms of close quarters damage. The RPG is slow but powerful projectiles do not stack up to the Volley Gun’s fast firing grenades, especially against armored opponents. Furthermore, the carbine, shotgun, machine gun, and volley gun each have a knock-off variation used by the Vox Populi faction. Like most knock-offs, they don’t work as well as the original, which in turn makes them almost useless considering how populated the landscape is with ammo for the real thing.

The weapons and Vigors are meant to co-exist and be used together in combat and given the right combination, they get the job done. Levitating an enemy with Bucking Bronco or using Return to Sender’s shield ability allows you to get up close and personal with the shotgun. Electrocuting enemies with Shock Jockey leaves them open for headshots with your carbine or machine gun. Perhaps most useful is using Possession, turning an opponent into an ally, giving you time to focus on other enemies or attack your new friend without consequence (although, once it wears off, your former ally would off himself instead of going back to waging war against you.) There are many more combinations you’re sure to find to your liking if and when you give it a go.

Bioshock03

As great and enthralling as the story is, it just seems too short. My first playthrough took me 15 hours at the most, and I’m not one to rush through stories, especially ones as intriguing as this. I have completed the game twice since, and now that I’ve completed it 100% I feel no desire to play it further. Two weeks after I first fired up Infinite, it is already gathering dust among my other games. It doesn’t have the lasting appeal or replay value of other great single player games such as Metal Gear Solid. One key reason is the degree of challenge, or rather the lack thereof.

My first playthrough was on 1999 Mode difficulty. 1999 Mode is recommended for "the best of the best" and is "especially demanding." As I played I became increasingly agitated. Some parts seemed absolutely impossible to get through. However, I soldiered on and by the end, even though I was seething with rage, I was enjoying the experience; the challenge of it all. But by the time I completed my second playthrough on medium, that enjoyment was gone. The enemies were no longer ruthless and were anything but expert marksmen. Everything that made my first playthrough so great was lost. There was no challenge to be had and without challenge there is no sense of pride or achievement. Even when I went back to play 1999 Mode again it felt so easy that it was becoming boring and I was wondering why I was still playing.

Bioshock02

Final Focus

It all comes back to the story. This is a story driven game and all its twists and turns keep you playing and wanting to discover more. The superb voice acting and intelligent plot more than makes up for what it lacks in length and challenge. BioShock Infinite is a sure-fire game-of-the-year candidate, and definitely one of the standout single-player games of this generation.

 


Pros

+ Elizabeth + Excellent story + 1999 Mode is an excruciatingly enjoyable challenge the first time + Well developed characters

Cons

- Decisions are meaningless - Not a lot of replay value - Too easy past first playthrough - Most Vigors aren’t that good


Final rating
8.7 / 10
Comments
More Xbox 360 reviews
2014-11-11 :: Assassin's Creed: Rogue
2014-04-06 :: Dark Souls II
2013-11-12 :: Alien Rage
2013-09-17 :: Grand Theft Auto V
2013-09-15 :: Lost Planet 3
2013-09-13 :: Splinter Cell: Blacklist
2013-08-07 :: Grid 2
2013-07-26 :: Remember Me
2013-07-23 :: (XBLA) Sanctum 2
Special articles
Pass It or Play It? - The Unfinished Swan (PS3, PS4, PS Vita) Special articles

Pass It or Play It? - The Unfinished Swan (PS3, PS4, PS Vita)

California-based indie developer Giant Sparrow chose to take a more artistic approach when creating their incredibly ambitious game The Unfinished Swan. When a young boy named Monroe discovers a swan in a painting has gone missing, he adventures in in hopes to uncover the truth behind its disappearance. The Unfinished Swan isn’t about action as much as it is about uncovering the ambiguous world that it takes place in. But is the game itself worth investigating?
Lire la suite...
Mailbag - What makes your rose so unique Special articles

Mailbag - What makes your rose so unique

Dear Jesse, I've never been super comfortable around members of the fairer sex. I've always been more at ease in front of my computer or immersed in a good game. However, I'm starting to feel that if I don't change something, and soon, this could be my life -- rather than just an enjoyable way to pass the time until something better comes along. I started thinking about the quote for The Little Prince, "It is the time you have wasted for your rose that makes your rose so unique." I love gaming but it's kind of a one-way street and all the time I put into it doesn't change what it is.I have a full time job and my own place so I don't exactly fit the stereotype of the unemployed guy living in his parents' basement but that's not really doing anything for me either. I don't know a lot of people and tend to be pretty isolated in my job.Help,Robot Mike Read more
Mailbag: May 18 - Bloodstained vs Bard's Tale Special articles

Mailbag: May 18 - Bloodstained vs Bard's Tale

 You ask - I answer: Dear Jesse,With the recent announcement of Bloodstained on Kickstarter and the upcoming campaign for Bard's Tale 4 I'm at a loss for who (whom?) to fund. Whips or swords? I've wanted to get in on a Kickstarter campaign and I'm pretty excited for both of these games but is it worth it? What if the game doesn't meet its target? Or what if I end up funding something that was lousy and I'm left with egg all over my face? Thx,Don't want to be an egg man Read more
Mailbag: May 10, 2015 Special articles

Mailbag: May 10, 2015

 It's been a while, fellow gamers, and I hope you'll excuse my absence. As I write this most of my belongings are still packed in boxes (except for the PS4 and WiiU) but I am writing this from a new home and so at least one major hurdle has been crossed. In my absence we've had lots of great questions so without adieu let's get to it. Dear Jesse, I'm in my last year at high school. I'm a pretty typical guy -- I ride a horse, cut lawns for extra money, help out people where I can and hang with this girl I like. Life would be pretty ideal if not for one particular teacher -- Mr. G. -- I kind of ruined his life, but I didn't mean to. Read more

Game details
BioShock Infinite
Release date : 2013-03-26
Platform :
Publisher : 2K Games
Developer : Irrational Games
Gameplay : Action

GameFocus High Fives

GameFocus High Fives, May 2015 Week 2

GameFocus High Fives, May 2015 Week 2
  “Top Five Unexpectedly Great Games”

There is no better feeling as a gamer then when a game exceeds your expectations. Maybe it was a bargain bin purchase at a local retailer, or a title rescued from development hell that was doomed to fail, or even something that just didn’t fit your personal tastes and you took a chance on it. For the month of May, the GameFocus staff reflects on what video games they have played that were unexpectedly great!

Week 2 - Tyler Hodgkinson - Staff Writer

Read more

GameFocus High Fives May 2015 Week 1

GameFocus High Fives May 2015 Week 1

 “Top Five Unexpectedly Great Games”

There is no better feeling as a gamer then when a game exceeds your expectations. Maybe it was a bargain bin purchase at a local retailer, or a title rescued from development hell that was doomed to fail, or even something that just didn’t fit your personal tastes and you took a chance on it. For the month of May, the GameFocus staff reflects on what video games they have played that were unexpectedly great!

Week 1: D.J. Kinsey - Assistant Editor-in-Chief


Read more

GameFocus High Fives April 2015 Week 4

GameFocus High Fives April 2015 Week 4

“What 5 Games or Game Franchises Should Get the HD Definitive Edition Treatment?”

With the trend of recent last-gen games being ported to Xbox One and PS4 showing no signs of slowing down some of the GameFocus staff put together individual lists of 5 games or game franchises that need to recived the full HD Definitive Edition treatment. Be it an old classic, or a recent favourite; anything could pop up on one of these lists, so if lists are your thing (of course they are), read on.


Read more
DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more
GF Blogs

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

Well everyone, Mortal Kombat X is now available to be purchased (which I’m sure you have done) and if you keep up with video game news (which I’m sure you do), you would know that almost every single day in the lead up to its release, we were hearing about a new trailer, character reveal, or some sort of news regarding the upcoming game. I have to hand it to Mortal Kombat X’s marketing team, they did their job; it seems like every person on the planet is hyped about this game (which I’m sure you are).

But aside from a good marketing campaign, what’s the big deal about Mortal Kombat X anyways?


Read more

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

  Apple has finally lifted the curtain on the Apple Watch and, unsurprisingly, it looks good.  Maybe you're crunching the numbers to determine if you can afford the $13,000, 38mm 18-carat rose gold case edition or the $449.00 sport model.  No matter what you pick you'll need an Apple iPhone 5 or later running the latest version of iOS, so don't forget to figure that into the cost as well.  Before taking out a line of credit to buy the latest and greatest from Apple I'd recommend holding off and avoiding the April 24th release date altogether. 


Read more

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Maybe it wouldn't have been as bad if the sales person hadn't said, "this is our most popular seller; I can barely keep it on the shelves."  My mother and I were in the only video game store in the city.  It was in the basement of a professional building and smelled like stale cigarette smoke and BO.  For passing grade five I was rewarded with a video game.  This wasn't a decision to be made lightly; this would be one of the two games I'd get all year.  I can no longer remember the game I originally wanted but I do remember the store didn't have it.  Instead, the sales person was recommending something I'd never heard of, a little game called "Mystery Quest."


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
Apotheon (PC)
9.4
2
Splice (PlayStation 4)
8.4
3
Hand of Fate (Xbox One)
8.0
4
8.0
5
Toren (PlayStation 4)
8.0
6
7.8
8
Dead or Alive 5 Last Round (PlayStation 4)
7.7
9
6.6
10
6.0

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus