Review :: Fuse

What a blast!

A Great Surprise

Written by

Published Tuesday, 28 May 2013 03:01

Write your own review !

Having spent more time playing Insomniac’s famous Ratchet & Clank series than I can disclose without feeling extremely bad about myself, it goes without saying that the californian studio is one of my favorites. While I was initially excited about Overstrike, its subsequent delays, previews, and transformation into what is now known as Fuse lowered my excitement quite a bit. As I inserted the review disc into my Xbox 360, I wasn’t quite sure of what to expect, but it didn’t take long before I realized that this was going to be a blast. From the get-go, Fuse isn’t shy to show its true colors. You’re not looking for the most impressive narrative or the most cinematic experience while playing this game. What this game does aim for is to give you the tightest and most satisfying third person shooter experience. Does it succeed in doing so? Let’s find out…

fuse1

Fuse tells a story set in the near future which is centered on a well-balanced team of four unlikely partners collectively known as Overstrike 9. Their objective is to stop the evil company known as Raven Corporation from getting an unidentified substance called “Fuse”, as it could be used to power extremely effective weapons that could be dangerous for the future of humanity. Obviously, this doesn’t stop the team of four from using said weapons. Thankfully, they happen to be incredibly fun and satisfying to use.

The game features two main modes, none of which are your traditional competitive multiplayer. In fact, only a relatively long single player campaign (which is also playable cooperatively with up to 3 friends), and Echelon mode are available in Fuse. Echelon mode is a fun spin on the popular Horde mode from the Gears of War series, the twist being that any experience points (here called Fuse credits) that you gain during your play sessions will be usable in the campaign. This lack of traditional multiplayer may defy your expectations given that such features are practically unavoidable in any modern third-person shooter, but that’s not the only surprising thing that comes out of Insomniac’s new game. In fact, one of my main concerns about this game was that it was simply going to be too generic. I’m not going to lie; everything from the game’s cover art to the playable demo had me thinking that we were going to be treated to the usual run-of-the-mill shooter. This is simply not the case.

"It's probably some of the most fun I’ve had playing a third-person shooter since Platinum Games’ Vanquish."

If your concerns are aligned with mine, please forget everything you know about this game. While it doesn’t reinvent the genre, it certainly plays to the strengths that Insomniac, as a studio, has developed along the years. One of the biggest positives from the Resistance and Ratchet & Clank franchises has been the purely inventive weaponry. In Fuse, the trend continues. The fuse-powered weapons pack a punch you rarely see in the genre, and it’s a thrill to discover how you can use them all in conjunction to craft surprising death traps for your enemies. My favorite of the bunch is easily the warp rifle, which literally lets you open up warp holes to disseminate your opposition. After a few upgrades through the game’s skill points system, this weapon can become so powerful that you could pretty much use it exclusively throughout the rest of the game, but that would be sucking out half the fun in Fuse. Using it in conjunction with your pistol, for example, can incinerate your foes, which is just one of the various ways you can plow through the waves of enemies.

fuse raven base maelstrom 24261.nphd

 

This alone makes for a diverse, fun, and well-paced experience, but the surprisingly beefy campaign also packs quite a bit of variety. Not only will you discover various environments, but you’ll also have to navigate them in interesting ways. While the meat of the game remains the shooting, some Uncharted-like platforming sections help spice up the experience. On top of all that, the game offers a lot of replayability through the co-op mode, as well as the feature that lets you play through the campaign as different characters each time. Each of the four team members are quite different, each having their own arsenal, and you’ll want to try them all. Thankfully, if you’re not one for playing through games four times, you can hold the back/select button and “leap” from character to character in real-time, without having to restart the level. If you’re playing the game alone, this actually allows you to strategize and plan out ways to clear a room more effectively, but the feature remains completely optional.

Beyond the weaponry, the game also offers various other ways to take out your enemies. While I wouldn’t recommend it given how fun the shooting is, you can actually remain stealthy and take out your enemies one by one by sneaking up behind them. Another option is to use the melee system to take out some of your opponents, which happens to be very satisfying, given the game’s solid animations. It’s worth noting that using such techniques is completely unsuitable for the game’s various boss fights, some of which are very reminiscent of the co-op mode from Resistance 2, while others are more traditional and grand in scale.

Hn8vE

On the negative side of things, the enemy and ally A.I. isn’t always reliable. In my solo playthrough, my allies were mostly reliable when it came to completing tasks such as reviving my downed self, or blowing up doors with me, but they did happen to run through my waves of bullets quite a few times. Enemy A.I., while not being particularly dumb, isn’t exactly the best either. They sometimes failed to notice my presence as I sneaked my way past them without much cover, and their aim could be quite forgiving. For this reason, I definitely recommend you crank up the difficulty of the game on your first playthrough, especially if you plan on playing in co-op with some friends. Another pet peeve I personally have with video games is present in this. While the writing is good and the dialogue is particularly funny (with clear Ratchet & Clank vibes hitting me from time to time), the narrative exposition is definitely not the main appeal of this game, so I was disappointed to see these annoyingly common forced slow walking sections in this game. I understand that these are used to conceal loading times and provide story details, but that doesn’t stop them from being quite irritating.

Fuse-4

For the presentation of the game, Insomniac clearly wasn’t ready to prioritize visuals over framerate. Having played through the game on Xbox 360, I’m happy to report that the framerate remained buttery smooth with a constant 30 frames per second at all times. It’s definitely something to appreciate in games like this, where action can get quite chaotic on the screen, as visibility and accuracy remains important at all times. The graphics do happen to be good, but they fail to be particularly impressive. As for the sound design, I found the 5.1 mix to be particularly impressive, the loud, thunderous explosions feel powerful, and the guns actually feel like they pack quite a punch when you fire them.

FUSE

All in all, Fuse is a welcome surprise and a nice break from the story-heavy and highly cinematic games that have come out in the past few months. This game is the definition of gameplay over presentation, and it’s all the better for it. After playing this game, I’m happy to report that this is definitely Insomniac’s best outing since Ratchet & Clank: A Crack in Time, and probably some of the most fun I’ve had playing a third-person shooter since Platinum Games’ Vanquish. It’s that fun!


Pros

+ Awesome weapons

+ Extremely fun gameplay

+ Empowers creative players

+ Perfect for co-op

+ More varied than you may expect

+ Great sound design

+ Satisfying gunplay

+ Fluid, responsive controls

+ Cool boss fights

Cons

- Slow walking sections and unskippable cutscenes interrupt the fun

- AI is a mixed bag

- Graphically unimpressive

- Some recycled ideas

- Too easy

- Average story

- Uninspired art style and tone 


Final rating
8.6 / 10
Comments
More Xbox 360 reviews
2014-11-11 :: Assassin's Creed: Rogue
2014-04-06 :: Dark Souls II
2013-11-12 :: Alien Rage
2013-09-17 :: Grand Theft Auto V
2013-09-15 :: Lost Planet 3
2013-09-13 :: Splinter Cell: Blacklist
2013-08-07 :: Grid 2
2013-07-26 :: Remember Me
2013-07-23 :: (XBLA) Sanctum 2
Special articles
Pass It or Play It? - The Unfinished Swan (PS3, PS4, PS Vita) Special articles

Pass It or Play It? - The Unfinished Swan (PS3, PS4, PS Vita)

California-based indie developer Giant Sparrow chose to take a more artistic approach when creating their incredibly ambitious game The Unfinished Swan. When a young boy named Monroe discovers a swan in a painting has gone missing, he adventures in in hopes to uncover the truth behind its disappearance. The Unfinished Swan isn’t about action as much as it is about uncovering the ambiguous world that it takes place in. But is the game itself worth investigating?
Lire la suite...
Mailbag - What makes your rose so unique Special articles

Mailbag - What makes your rose so unique

Dear Jesse, I've never been super comfortable around members of the fairer sex. I've always been more at ease in front of my computer or immersed in a good game. However, I'm starting to feel that if I don't change something, and soon, this could be my life -- rather than just an enjoyable way to pass the time until something better comes along. I started thinking about the quote for The Little Prince, "It is the time you have wasted for your rose that makes your rose so unique." I love gaming but it's kind of a one-way street and all the time I put into it doesn't change what it is.I have a full time job and my own place so I don't exactly fit the stereotype of the unemployed guy living in his parents' basement but that's not really doing anything for me either. I don't know a lot of people and tend to be pretty isolated in my job.Help,Robot Mike Read more
Mailbag: May 18 - Bloodstained vs Bard's Tale Special articles

Mailbag: May 18 - Bloodstained vs Bard's Tale

 You ask - I answer: Dear Jesse,With the recent announcement of Bloodstained on Kickstarter and the upcoming campaign for Bard's Tale 4 I'm at a loss for who (whom?) to fund. Whips or swords? I've wanted to get in on a Kickstarter campaign and I'm pretty excited for both of these games but is it worth it? What if the game doesn't meet its target? Or what if I end up funding something that was lousy and I'm left with egg all over my face? Thx,Don't want to be an egg man Read more
Mailbag: May 10, 2015 Special articles

Mailbag: May 10, 2015

 It's been a while, fellow gamers, and I hope you'll excuse my absence. As I write this most of my belongings are still packed in boxes (except for the PS4 and WiiU) but I am writing this from a new home and so at least one major hurdle has been crossed. In my absence we've had lots of great questions so without adieu let's get to it. Dear Jesse, I'm in my last year at high school. I'm a pretty typical guy -- I ride a horse, cut lawns for extra money, help out people where I can and hang with this girl I like. Life would be pretty ideal if not for one particular teacher -- Mr. G. -- I kind of ruined his life, but I didn't mean to. Read more

Game details
Fuse
Release date : 2013-05-28
Platform :
Publisher : Electronic Arts
Developer : Insomniac Games
Gameplay : Shooter

GameFocus High Fives

GameFocus High Fives, May 2015 Week 2

GameFocus High Fives, May 2015 Week 2
  “Top Five Unexpectedly Great Games”

There is no better feeling as a gamer then when a game exceeds your expectations. Maybe it was a bargain bin purchase at a local retailer, or a title rescued from development hell that was doomed to fail, or even something that just didn’t fit your personal tastes and you took a chance on it. For the month of May, the GameFocus staff reflects on what video games they have played that were unexpectedly great!

Week 2 - Tyler Hodgkinson - Staff Writer

Read more

GameFocus High Fives May 2015 Week 1

GameFocus High Fives May 2015 Week 1

 “Top Five Unexpectedly Great Games”

There is no better feeling as a gamer then when a game exceeds your expectations. Maybe it was a bargain bin purchase at a local retailer, or a title rescued from development hell that was doomed to fail, or even something that just didn’t fit your personal tastes and you took a chance on it. For the month of May, the GameFocus staff reflects on what video games they have played that were unexpectedly great!

Week 1: D.J. Kinsey - Assistant Editor-in-Chief


Read more

GameFocus High Fives April 2015 Week 4

GameFocus High Fives April 2015 Week 4

“What 5 Games or Game Franchises Should Get the HD Definitive Edition Treatment?”

With the trend of recent last-gen games being ported to Xbox One and PS4 showing no signs of slowing down some of the GameFocus staff put together individual lists of 5 games or game franchises that need to recived the full HD Definitive Edition treatment. Be it an old classic, or a recent favourite; anything could pop up on one of these lists, so if lists are your thing (of course they are), read on.


Read more
DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more
GF Blogs

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

Well everyone, Mortal Kombat X is now available to be purchased (which I’m sure you have done) and if you keep up with video game news (which I’m sure you do), you would know that almost every single day in the lead up to its release, we were hearing about a new trailer, character reveal, or some sort of news regarding the upcoming game. I have to hand it to Mortal Kombat X’s marketing team, they did their job; it seems like every person on the planet is hyped about this game (which I’m sure you are).

But aside from a good marketing campaign, what’s the big deal about Mortal Kombat X anyways?


Read more

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

  Apple has finally lifted the curtain on the Apple Watch and, unsurprisingly, it looks good.  Maybe you're crunching the numbers to determine if you can afford the $13,000, 38mm 18-carat rose gold case edition or the $449.00 sport model.  No matter what you pick you'll need an Apple iPhone 5 or later running the latest version of iOS, so don't forget to figure that into the cost as well.  Before taking out a line of credit to buy the latest and greatest from Apple I'd recommend holding off and avoiding the April 24th release date altogether. 


Read more

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Maybe it wouldn't have been as bad if the sales person hadn't said, "this is our most popular seller; I can barely keep it on the shelves."  My mother and I were in the only video game store in the city.  It was in the basement of a professional building and smelled like stale cigarette smoke and BO.  For passing grade five I was rewarded with a video game.  This wasn't a decision to be made lightly; this would be one of the two games I'd get all year.  I can no longer remember the game I originally wanted but I do remember the store didn't have it.  Instead, the sales person was recommending something I'd never heard of, a little game called "Mystery Quest."


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
Apotheon (PC)
9.4
2
Splice (PlayStation 4)
8.4
3
Hand of Fate (Xbox One)
8.0
4
8.0
5
Toren (PlayStation 4)
8.0
6
7.8
8
Dead or Alive 5 Last Round (PlayStation 4)
7.7
9
6.6
10
6.0

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus