Review :: Lost Planet 3

Lost Franchise

Written by

Published Sunday, 15 September 2013 08:03

Write your own review !

Great gameplay, unique mechanics, awesome environments, terrible storytelling, and epic boss fights were the foundation of the original Lost Planet. Despite a few missteps with the online-focused LP2, I’ve been one of those people who still thought the franchise had tremendous potential. With Lost Planet 3 in the hands of a western studio, Spark Unlimited, I was certainly curious to see how it would measure up to its predecessors.

LP3mainart

Acting as a prequel to the original chapter in the trilogy, Lost Planet 3 follows the space shenanigans of a blue collar worker named Jim Peyton. He and his co-workers are working on E.D.N. III, the famous planet from the first game, to collect thermal energy in order to solve the energy crisis happening on Earth. Taking cues from the movie “Moon”, the game allows us to get attached to the character through his interactions with his wife, who is still on earth. They communicate with each other through delayed video messages, and reveal a little bit more about themselves each time.

Here’s the shocker: the story and atmosphere here are actually very good! The very last thing I was expecting from a Lost Planet game was to become invested in the characters and the story. In fact, the atmosphere and story are so perfectly tuned and realistic, that they end up hurting the gameplay. By now, I’m sure most of you are familiar with the term “ludonarrative dissonance” that so many of my peers like to use, but for those of you who aren’t, let me explain. Ludonarrative dissonance is basically a form of disconnection between the story of a game and its gameplay. The oft-mentioned example is that of the Uncharted games; Nathan Drake is a likable man and acts as the main hero of the franchise, but once you get into gameplay sections, he turns into a mass murderer. That’s ludonarrative dissonance. It allows games to offer the best of both worlds, at the cost of believability and realism. Lost Planet 3 could use some of that.

LP3Jim

I understand that Jim Peyton is on E.D.N. III to do work, but it doesn’t mean that the gameplay should FEEL like work. When Peyton complains to his wife about how boring it is out there, I don’t feel like I, as the player, should relate to that. Part of this issue could be resolved by actually improving the combat, by making the controls more responsive, improving the move-set of the character, making his weapons more satisfying to use, and by making the enemies less like bullet sponges and more satisfying to fight, but the main problem resides in the structure of the game itself, as well as the goals set for your character. I can certainly say that for a lot of the time, the story was enough to keep me going. The game does a good job of using cutscenes to reward the player, and the fact that these same cutscenes are unskippable says a lot about the priorities of the developers at Spark Unlimited. However, by the time I reached my twentieth infinitely respawning pack of enemies, I couldn’t escape the feeling of boredom. The game is so full of baffling design decisions. While the first two LP games had a strong focus on player mobility, allowing you to use your grappling hook on just about anything, this one takes a step backwards and restricts your use of the grapple hook to pre-selected areas marked with a flashy green circle. On top of that, the open areas from the first two games are gone, replaced with very linear icy corridors that trap you with the endless waves of predictable enemies, forcing you to fight them head-on with your pitiful arsenal containing what is probably one of the worst video game shotguns of all time. Don’t even think of using melee either, as it only results in triggering an awkward animation that does little to damage your opponents. Add to that the insipid rig sections, which let you ride a giant merc in first person, but give you the same objectives over and over. Usually, these objectives range from turning valves to re-aligning a satellite dish. That’s right; combat with your rig is pretty much out of the question. Why? Because your giant mech is not given any actual weapons. All you have is a drill to break through select ice walls, and a claw to grab things. Not only that, but their mobility is also restricted: You can’t jump, fly, or even walk forward at a decent speed. They are painfully slow, dull to use, and just plain uninteresting to play with. The game offers your standard array of multiplayer options, but very few people are actually playing it, and it’s not really that interesting in the first place.

LP3boss

LP3 is a very good looking game. The lighting in particular is fantastic, helping create beautiful vistas for you to look at, and making the atmosphere of the game that much stronger. Character models are pretty good too; Peyton looks and feels real, with an impressive range of facial animations that really help sell his emotions. Unfortunately, these great visuals come at a price; the framerate often dips well below 20 fps during gameplay on the console version. Considering the fact that enemies often come in great numbers, it can be frustrating to find yourself with even more unresponsive controls due to the game’s performance issues. On the audio side of things, the work done by Spark Unlimited is just as impressive. The original music here is not memorable, but it does the job, and there’s a smart use of licensed tracks, as well as great sound effects that really help sell the atmosphere.

LP31

Lost Planet 3 is a missed opportunity. I was initially impressed with the game’s efforts to tell a great story, but the boring, uninspired, and sometimes broken gameplay made it all fall apart. It’s unfortunate, but this isn’t the game that will bring back this once-great series from its premature grave.


Pros

+ Surprisingly good storytelling

+ Likable characters

+ Good graphics

Cons

- Terrible combat

- Unresponsive controls

- Lack of mobility

- Unstable framerate

- Boring rig sections

- Uninspired objectives


Final rating
5.9 / 10
Comments
More Xbox 360 reviews
2014-11-11 :: Assassin's Creed: Rogue
2014-04-06 :: Dark Souls II
2013-11-12 :: Alien Rage
2013-09-17 :: Grand Theft Auto V
2013-09-13 :: Splinter Cell: Blacklist
2013-08-07 :: Grid 2
2013-07-26 :: Remember Me
2013-07-23 :: (XBLA) Sanctum 2
Special articles
#E32015 Predictions: Tyler Hodgkinson Special articles

#E32015 Predictions: Tyler Hodgkinson

With #E32015 nearly upon us, rumours and reports are running ramped about what will or will not see at the conference. So what do the fine folks at GameFocus predict? Take a look for yourself and see!
Lire la suite...
#E32015 Predictions: Nolan Forth Special articles

#E32015 Predictions: Nolan Forth

With #E32015 nearly upon us, rumours and reports are running ramped about what will or will not see at the conference. So what do the fine folks at GameFocus predict? Take a look for yourself and see! Read more
#E32015 Predictions: Jesse Vuksanovich Special articles

#E32015 Predictions: Jesse Vuksanovich

With #E32015 nearly upon us, rumours and reports are runnning rampid about what will or will not see at the conference. So what do the fine folks at GameFocus predict? Take a look for yourself and see! Read more
Stage Select Gaming Expo - Toronto's Future Answer to E3? Special articles

Stage Select Gaming Expo - Toronto's Future Answer to E3?

With E3 generating a massive amount of buzz in the week leading up to the big event, I thought I'd take a moment and talk about the smaller but growing momentum of Toronto's own gaming conference - Stage Select Gaming Expo.  Read more

Game details
Lost Planet 3
Release date : 2013-08-27
Platform :
Publisher : Capcom
Developer : Spark Unlimited
Gameplay : Shooter

GameFocus High Fives

GameFocus High Fives, June - D.J.

GameFocus High Fives, June - D.J.

There is arguably no other aspect of gaming that is more underappreciated than the Non Player Character (NPC). Serving as companions, quest givers, plot devices and more; they have been an integral aspect of our favourite games and have evolved right alongside gaming itself over the decades.  For the month of June, the GameFocus Staff will be celebrate all things NPC by listing 5 of their favourite or most under-rated non-player characters in games.

D.J. Kinsey - Assistant Editor-in-Chief


Read more

GameFocus High Fives, June 2015 - Tyler

GameFocus High Fives, June 2015 - Tyler

There is arguably no other aspect of gaming that is more underappreciated than the Non Player Character (NPC). Serving as companions, quest givers, plot devices and more; they have been an integral aspect of our favourite games and have evolved right alongside gaming itself over the decades.  For the month of June, the GameFocus Staff will be celebrate all things NPC by listing 5 of their favourite or most under-rated non-player characters in games.

Tyler Hodgkinson - Staff Writer


Read more

GameFocus High Fives May 2015, Week 3

GameFocus High Fives May 2015, Week 3

“Top Five Unexpectedly Great Games”

There is no better feeling as a gamer then when a game exceeds your expectations. Maybe it was a bargain bin purchase at a local retailer, or a title rescued from development hell that was doomed to fail, or even something that just didn’t fit your personal tastes and you took a chance on it. For the month of May, the GameFocus staff reflects on what video games they have played that were unexpectedly great!

Week 3: Jesse Vuksanovich - Staff Writer


Read more
DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more
First Impressions

Injustice: Gods Among Us

Injustice: Gods Among Us
Injustice: Gods Among Us, the upcoming DC fighting game by NetherRealm Studios, is set to be released on April 16th. Even though the release date is just around the corner, they continue to announce additional characters that will be playable upon release, as well as alternate costumes for numerous ... Lire la suite...

More previews
GF Blogs

The Last Guardian Will NOT Appear at #E32015 and Here's the Reason Why...

The Last Guardian Will NOT Appear at #E32015 and Here's the Reason Why...

Since its reveal at E3 2009, The Last Guardian has not resurfaced other than in rumours and in statements regarding said rumours. Sony admits to major studio problems during the game’s development, but constantly reassures those anticipating the game that it is still not, and will not, be canceled. So is this the year that we finally see the resurrection of The Last Guardian? In my opinion, the answer is a big fat NO.


Read more

A Few Good Reasons for Grounding Players in WOW

A Few Good Reasons for Grounding Players in WOW

Getting my first mount in World of Warcraft was a major milestone. It came at a time before Blizzard reduced the cost of training for a ground mount and the gold required seemed like an impossible sum when quests were doling out a few coppers. What's more, I was foolishly selling my gathered iron or mithril to in-game vendors rather than placing it up for auction. I won't get into the particulars of my moneymaking strategy but I will say that it wasn't effective and very indicative of my n00b status.


Read more

Splatoon - Early Impressions

Splatoon - Early Impressions

As we may all know, Splatoon is the latest major exclusive title from Nintendo and it will be hitting stores later this week (May 29, NA). Its announcement at E3 2014 shocked many, strictly because of the fact that Nintendo was making a shooting-game. Yes, a shooting-game; it still sounds weird to me, too. In Splatoon, players take control of a human-squid hybrid as they attempt shoot, roll and “splat” a given area with more of their team’s ink than their opponents. The game relies heavily on its online multiplayer mode, although a single player experience is included in the game.  Its cartoony art style and Pixar-eqsue character models make the title feel more at home on the Wii U, but the concept itself is still odd for the archetypical family-friendly company. A playable visualization of the game recently became available in the form of “Splatoon Global Testfire”, a one hour gameplay demo that went live five times over two weekends. I got the chance to sit down and test the peculiar game for myself. Here are my impressions…


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
Apotheon (PC)
9.4
2
Splatoon (Wii U)
8.6
3
Splice (PlayStation 4)
8.4
4
Hand of Fate (Xbox One)
8.0
5
8.0
6
Toren (PlayStation 4)
8.0
7
7.8
9
Dead or Alive 5 Last Round (PlayStation 4)
7.7
10
6.6

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus