Review :: Lost Planet 3

Lost Franchise

Written by

Published Sunday, 15 September 2013 08:03

Write your own review !

Great gameplay, unique mechanics, awesome environments, terrible storytelling, and epic boss fights were the foundation of the original Lost Planet. Despite a few missteps with the online-focused LP2, I’ve been one of those people who still thought the franchise had tremendous potential. With Lost Planet 3 in the hands of a western studio, Spark Unlimited, I was certainly curious to see how it would measure up to its predecessors.

LP3mainart

Acting as a prequel to the original chapter in the trilogy, Lost Planet 3 follows the space shenanigans of a blue collar worker named Jim Peyton. He and his co-workers are working on E.D.N. III, the famous planet from the first game, to collect thermal energy in order to solve the energy crisis happening on Earth. Taking cues from the movie “Moon”, the game allows us to get attached to the character through his interactions with his wife, who is still on earth. They communicate with each other through delayed video messages, and reveal a little bit more about themselves each time.

Here’s the shocker: the story and atmosphere here are actually very good! The very last thing I was expecting from a Lost Planet game was to become invested in the characters and the story. In fact, the atmosphere and story are so perfectly tuned and realistic, that they end up hurting the gameplay. By now, I’m sure most of you are familiar with the term “ludonarrative dissonance” that so many of my peers like to use, but for those of you who aren’t, let me explain. Ludonarrative dissonance is basically a form of disconnection between the story of a game and its gameplay. The oft-mentioned example is that of the Uncharted games; Nathan Drake is a likable man and acts as the main hero of the franchise, but once you get into gameplay sections, he turns into a mass murderer. That’s ludonarrative dissonance. It allows games to offer the best of both worlds, at the cost of believability and realism. Lost Planet 3 could use some of that.

LP3Jim

I understand that Jim Peyton is on E.D.N. III to do work, but it doesn’t mean that the gameplay should FEEL like work. When Peyton complains to his wife about how boring it is out there, I don’t feel like I, as the player, should relate to that. Part of this issue could be resolved by actually improving the combat, by making the controls more responsive, improving the move-set of the character, making his weapons more satisfying to use, and by making the enemies less like bullet sponges and more satisfying to fight, but the main problem resides in the structure of the game itself, as well as the goals set for your character. I can certainly say that for a lot of the time, the story was enough to keep me going. The game does a good job of using cutscenes to reward the player, and the fact that these same cutscenes are unskippable says a lot about the priorities of the developers at Spark Unlimited. However, by the time I reached my twentieth infinitely respawning pack of enemies, I couldn’t escape the feeling of boredom. The game is so full of baffling design decisions. While the first two LP games had a strong focus on player mobility, allowing you to use your grappling hook on just about anything, this one takes a step backwards and restricts your use of the grapple hook to pre-selected areas marked with a flashy green circle. On top of that, the open areas from the first two games are gone, replaced with very linear icy corridors that trap you with the endless waves of predictable enemies, forcing you to fight them head-on with your pitiful arsenal containing what is probably one of the worst video game shotguns of all time. Don’t even think of using melee either, as it only results in triggering an awkward animation that does little to damage your opponents. Add to that the insipid rig sections, which let you ride a giant merc in first person, but give you the same objectives over and over. Usually, these objectives range from turning valves to re-aligning a satellite dish. That’s right; combat with your rig is pretty much out of the question. Why? Because your giant mech is not given any actual weapons. All you have is a drill to break through select ice walls, and a claw to grab things. Not only that, but their mobility is also restricted: You can’t jump, fly, or even walk forward at a decent speed. They are painfully slow, dull to use, and just plain uninteresting to play with. The game offers your standard array of multiplayer options, but very few people are actually playing it, and it’s not really that interesting in the first place.

LP3boss

LP3 is a very good looking game. The lighting in particular is fantastic, helping create beautiful vistas for you to look at, and making the atmosphere of the game that much stronger. Character models are pretty good too; Peyton looks and feels real, with an impressive range of facial animations that really help sell his emotions. Unfortunately, these great visuals come at a price; the framerate often dips well below 20 fps during gameplay on the console version. Considering the fact that enemies often come in great numbers, it can be frustrating to find yourself with even more unresponsive controls due to the game’s performance issues. On the audio side of things, the work done by Spark Unlimited is just as impressive. The original music here is not memorable, but it does the job, and there’s a smart use of licensed tracks, as well as great sound effects that really help sell the atmosphere.

LP31

Lost Planet 3 is a missed opportunity. I was initially impressed with the game’s efforts to tell a great story, but the boring, uninspired, and sometimes broken gameplay made it all fall apart. It’s unfortunate, but this isn’t the game that will bring back this once-great series from its premature grave.


Pros

+ Surprisingly good storytelling

+ Likable characters

+ Good graphics

Cons

- Terrible combat

- Unresponsive controls

- Lack of mobility

- Unstable framerate

- Boring rig sections

- Uninspired objectives


Final rating
5.9 / 10
Comments
More Xbox 360 reviews
2014-11-11 :: Assassin's Creed: Rogue
2014-04-06 :: Dark Souls II
2013-11-12 :: Alien Rage
2013-09-17 :: Grand Theft Auto V
2013-09-13 :: Splinter Cell: Blacklist
2013-08-07 :: Grid 2
2013-07-26 :: Remember Me
2013-07-23 :: (XBLA) Sanctum 2
Special articles
Pass It or Play It? - The Unfinished Swan (PS3, PS4, PS Vita) Special articles

Pass It or Play It? - The Unfinished Swan (PS3, PS4, PS Vita)

California-based indie developer Giant Sparrow chose to take a more artistic approach when creating their incredibly ambitious game The Unfinished Swan. When a young boy named Monroe discovers a swan in a painting has gone missing, he adventures in in hopes to uncover the truth behind its disappearance. The Unfinished Swan isn’t about action as much as it is about uncovering the ambiguous world that it takes place in. But is the game itself worth investigating?
Lire la suite...
Mailbag - What makes your rose so unique Special articles

Mailbag - What makes your rose so unique

Dear Jesse, I've never been super comfortable around members of the fairer sex. I've always been more at ease in front of my computer or immersed in a good game. However, I'm starting to feel that if I don't change something, and soon, this could be my life -- rather than just an enjoyable way to pass the time until something better comes along. I started thinking about the quote for The Little Prince, "It is the time you have wasted for your rose that makes your rose so unique." I love gaming but it's kind of a one-way street and all the time I put into it doesn't change what it is.I have a full time job and my own place so I don't exactly fit the stereotype of the unemployed guy living in his parents' basement but that's not really doing anything for me either. I don't know a lot of people and tend to be pretty isolated in my job.Help,Robot Mike Read more
Mailbag: May 18 - Bloodstained vs Bard's Tale Special articles

Mailbag: May 18 - Bloodstained vs Bard's Tale

 You ask - I answer: Dear Jesse,With the recent announcement of Bloodstained on Kickstarter and the upcoming campaign for Bard's Tale 4 I'm at a loss for who (whom?) to fund. Whips or swords? I've wanted to get in on a Kickstarter campaign and I'm pretty excited for both of these games but is it worth it? What if the game doesn't meet its target? Or what if I end up funding something that was lousy and I'm left with egg all over my face? Thx,Don't want to be an egg man Read more
Mailbag: May 10, 2015 Special articles

Mailbag: May 10, 2015

 It's been a while, fellow gamers, and I hope you'll excuse my absence. As I write this most of my belongings are still packed in boxes (except for the PS4 and WiiU) but I am writing this from a new home and so at least one major hurdle has been crossed. In my absence we've had lots of great questions so without adieu let's get to it. Dear Jesse, I'm in my last year at high school. I'm a pretty typical guy -- I ride a horse, cut lawns for extra money, help out people where I can and hang with this girl I like. Life would be pretty ideal if not for one particular teacher -- Mr. G. -- I kind of ruined his life, but I didn't mean to. Read more

Game details
Lost Planet 3
Release date : 2013-08-27
Platform :
Publisher : Capcom
Developer : Spark Unlimited
Gameplay : Shooter

GameFocus High Fives

GameFocus High Fives, May 2015 Week 2

GameFocus High Fives, May 2015 Week 2
  “Top Five Unexpectedly Great Games”

There is no better feeling as a gamer then when a game exceeds your expectations. Maybe it was a bargain bin purchase at a local retailer, or a title rescued from development hell that was doomed to fail, or even something that just didn’t fit your personal tastes and you took a chance on it. For the month of May, the GameFocus staff reflects on what video games they have played that were unexpectedly great!

Week 2 - Tyler Hodgkinson - Staff Writer

Read more

GameFocus High Fives May 2015 Week 1

GameFocus High Fives May 2015 Week 1

 “Top Five Unexpectedly Great Games”

There is no better feeling as a gamer then when a game exceeds your expectations. Maybe it was a bargain bin purchase at a local retailer, or a title rescued from development hell that was doomed to fail, or even something that just didn’t fit your personal tastes and you took a chance on it. For the month of May, the GameFocus staff reflects on what video games they have played that were unexpectedly great!

Week 1: D.J. Kinsey - Assistant Editor-in-Chief


Read more

GameFocus High Fives April 2015 Week 4

GameFocus High Fives April 2015 Week 4

“What 5 Games or Game Franchises Should Get the HD Definitive Edition Treatment?”

With the trend of recent last-gen games being ported to Xbox One and PS4 showing no signs of slowing down some of the GameFocus staff put together individual lists of 5 games or game franchises that need to recived the full HD Definitive Edition treatment. Be it an old classic, or a recent favourite; anything could pop up on one of these lists, so if lists are your thing (of course they are), read on.


Read more
DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more
GF Blogs

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

Well everyone, Mortal Kombat X is now available to be purchased (which I’m sure you have done) and if you keep up with video game news (which I’m sure you do), you would know that almost every single day in the lead up to its release, we were hearing about a new trailer, character reveal, or some sort of news regarding the upcoming game. I have to hand it to Mortal Kombat X’s marketing team, they did their job; it seems like every person on the planet is hyped about this game (which I’m sure you are).

But aside from a good marketing campaign, what’s the big deal about Mortal Kombat X anyways?


Read more

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

  Apple has finally lifted the curtain on the Apple Watch and, unsurprisingly, it looks good.  Maybe you're crunching the numbers to determine if you can afford the $13,000, 38mm 18-carat rose gold case edition or the $449.00 sport model.  No matter what you pick you'll need an Apple iPhone 5 or later running the latest version of iOS, so don't forget to figure that into the cost as well.  Before taking out a line of credit to buy the latest and greatest from Apple I'd recommend holding off and avoiding the April 24th release date altogether. 


Read more

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Maybe it wouldn't have been as bad if the sales person hadn't said, "this is our most popular seller; I can barely keep it on the shelves."  My mother and I were in the only video game store in the city.  It was in the basement of a professional building and smelled like stale cigarette smoke and BO.  For passing grade five I was rewarded with a video game.  This wasn't a decision to be made lightly; this would be one of the two games I'd get all year.  I can no longer remember the game I originally wanted but I do remember the store didn't have it.  Instead, the sales person was recommending something I'd never heard of, a little game called "Mystery Quest."


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
Apotheon (PC)
9.4
2
Splice (PlayStation 4)
8.4
3
Hand of Fate (Xbox One)
8.0
4
8.0
5
Toren (PlayStation 4)
8.0
6
7.8
8
Dead or Alive 5 Last Round (PlayStation 4)
7.7
9
6.6
10
6.0

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus