Review :: Lost Planet 3

Lost Franchise

Written by

Published Sunday, 15 September 2013 08:03

Write your own review !

Great gameplay, unique mechanics, awesome environments, terrible storytelling, and epic boss fights were the foundation of the original Lost Planet. Despite a few missteps with the online-focused LP2, I’ve been one of those people who still thought the franchise had tremendous potential. With Lost Planet 3 in the hands of a western studio, Spark Unlimited, I was certainly curious to see how it would measure up to its predecessors.

LP3mainart

Acting as a prequel to the original chapter in the trilogy, Lost Planet 3 follows the space shenanigans of a blue collar worker named Jim Peyton. He and his co-workers are working on E.D.N. III, the famous planet from the first game, to collect thermal energy in order to solve the energy crisis happening on Earth. Taking cues from the movie “Moon”, the game allows us to get attached to the character through his interactions with his wife, who is still on earth. They communicate with each other through delayed video messages, and reveal a little bit more about themselves each time.

Here’s the shocker: the story and atmosphere here are actually very good! The very last thing I was expecting from a Lost Planet game was to become invested in the characters and the story. In fact, the atmosphere and story are so perfectly tuned and realistic, that they end up hurting the gameplay. By now, I’m sure most of you are familiar with the term “ludonarrative dissonance” that so many of my peers like to use, but for those of you who aren’t, let me explain. Ludonarrative dissonance is basically a form of disconnection between the story of a game and its gameplay. The oft-mentioned example is that of the Uncharted games; Nathan Drake is a likable man and acts as the main hero of the franchise, but once you get into gameplay sections, he turns into a mass murderer. That’s ludonarrative dissonance. It allows games to offer the best of both worlds, at the cost of believability and realism. Lost Planet 3 could use some of that.

LP3Jim

I understand that Jim Peyton is on E.D.N. III to do work, but it doesn’t mean that the gameplay should FEEL like work. When Peyton complains to his wife about how boring it is out there, I don’t feel like I, as the player, should relate to that. Part of this issue could be resolved by actually improving the combat, by making the controls more responsive, improving the move-set of the character, making his weapons more satisfying to use, and by making the enemies less like bullet sponges and more satisfying to fight, but the main problem resides in the structure of the game itself, as well as the goals set for your character. I can certainly say that for a lot of the time, the story was enough to keep me going. The game does a good job of using cutscenes to reward the player, and the fact that these same cutscenes are unskippable says a lot about the priorities of the developers at Spark Unlimited. However, by the time I reached my twentieth infinitely respawning pack of enemies, I couldn’t escape the feeling of boredom. The game is so full of baffling design decisions. While the first two LP games had a strong focus on player mobility, allowing you to use your grappling hook on just about anything, this one takes a step backwards and restricts your use of the grapple hook to pre-selected areas marked with a flashy green circle. On top of that, the open areas from the first two games are gone, replaced with very linear icy corridors that trap you with the endless waves of predictable enemies, forcing you to fight them head-on with your pitiful arsenal containing what is probably one of the worst video game shotguns of all time. Don’t even think of using melee either, as it only results in triggering an awkward animation that does little to damage your opponents. Add to that the insipid rig sections, which let you ride a giant merc in first person, but give you the same objectives over and over. Usually, these objectives range from turning valves to re-aligning a satellite dish. That’s right; combat with your rig is pretty much out of the question. Why? Because your giant mech is not given any actual weapons. All you have is a drill to break through select ice walls, and a claw to grab things. Not only that, but their mobility is also restricted: You can’t jump, fly, or even walk forward at a decent speed. They are painfully slow, dull to use, and just plain uninteresting to play with. The game offers your standard array of multiplayer options, but very few people are actually playing it, and it’s not really that interesting in the first place.

LP3boss

LP3 is a very good looking game. The lighting in particular is fantastic, helping create beautiful vistas for you to look at, and making the atmosphere of the game that much stronger. Character models are pretty good too; Peyton looks and feels real, with an impressive range of facial animations that really help sell his emotions. Unfortunately, these great visuals come at a price; the framerate often dips well below 20 fps during gameplay on the console version. Considering the fact that enemies often come in great numbers, it can be frustrating to find yourself with even more unresponsive controls due to the game’s performance issues. On the audio side of things, the work done by Spark Unlimited is just as impressive. The original music here is not memorable, but it does the job, and there’s a smart use of licensed tracks, as well as great sound effects that really help sell the atmosphere.

LP31

Lost Planet 3 is a missed opportunity. I was initially impressed with the game’s efforts to tell a great story, but the boring, uninspired, and sometimes broken gameplay made it all fall apart. It’s unfortunate, but this isn’t the game that will bring back this once-great series from its premature grave.


Pros

+ Surprisingly good storytelling

+ Likable characters

+ Good graphics

Cons

- Terrible combat

- Unresponsive controls

- Lack of mobility

- Unstable framerate

- Boring rig sections

- Uninspired objectives


Final rating
5.9 / 10
Comments
More Xbox 360 reviews
2014-11-11 :: Assassin's Creed: Rogue
2014-04-06 :: Dark Souls II
2013-11-12 :: Alien Rage
2013-09-17 :: Grand Theft Auto V
2013-09-13 :: Splinter Cell: Blacklist
2013-08-07 :: Grid 2
2013-07-26 :: Remember Me
2013-07-23 :: (XBLA) Sanctum 2
Special articles
GameFocus' Most Anticipated Games of 2015 Special articles

GameFocus' Most Anticipated Games of 2015

With the start of a new year, the gaming slate is as pure as the driven snow and full of promise and expectation. Here at GameFocus we thought we would share some of the games we are stoked to get our hands on in 2015. Will this bumper crop of intriguing titles entice, disappoint or be delayed (as was common with our 2014 picks)? Only time will tell. Happy gaming this year.
Lire la suite...
GameFocus Feature: Warlords of Draenor and the Clint Bajakian Connection Special articles

GameFocus Feature: Warlords of Draenor and the Clint Bajakian Connection

Music can make or break a movie. The same could be said for videogames. For the last 30 some odd years, as videogames have slowly crept their way into the main stream, we have been beholden to some truly memorable musical contributions that enhance the immersive experience that make video games stand out among entertainment mediums. Imagine the classics like Super Mario without the original level 1-1 theme, or the Mega Man franchise without its awesome 8 bit power ballads. It can’t be done. The same holds true for modern games; imagine the first Mass Effect without the 80’s Sci-Fi movie synth, or Uncharted without the adventurous sounding fanfare. Music and sound design are an integral part of any complete video game package, and game expansions are no exception. Thanks to the involvement of Pyramind Studios Composer and Senior Music Manager Clint Bajakian and his team, World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor can count itself up there in the echelon of titles whose OST are worth a second look. Read more
The Crew Beta Impressions Special articles

The Crew Beta Impressions

The Crew’s console closed beta has concluded and it has given us a sneak peek into what we can expect to see upon its release on December 2nd.Read more
Details From Nintendo's Holiday Preview Event Special articles

Details From Nintendo's Holiday Preview Event

  With the falling leaves, mayoral election signs still on the lawns and pumpkins on people’s front porches you’d be excused if you didn’t think it was time to celebrate the holidays. It was in this setting that Nintendo unveiled a preview of some of their holiday offerings on... Read more

Game details
Lost Planet 3
Release date : 2013-08-27
Platform :
Publisher : Capcom
Developer : Spark Unlimited
Gameplay : Shooter

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

Opinion text: Why Gamers Need to let Games go.

Opinion text: Why Gamers Need to let Games go.

Editor's Note:This text is labelled as blog. It does not represent, implicitly or explicitly, the positions, policies, or opinions of GameFocus. Feel free to comment with the author but please, respectfully .


Read more

Ode to The Olde Timey Video Game: Episode #1 The Greatest Golf Game Ever Made

Ode to The Olde Timey Video Game: Episode #1 The Greatest Golf Game Ever Made

Premier Episode of Ode to The Olde Timey Video Game.  In this video we scientifically prove what the greatest golf video game ever made is.  That's right, this title was released exactly ten years ago this week and in celebration we are taking a fond look back at what made this golf game the very best.


Read more

Why Microsoft buying Minecraft was a Brilliant Move

Why Microsoft buying Minecraft was a Brilliant Move

 

 

A lot has been made of Microsoft’s recent acquisition of Minecraft developer, Mojang.  Whether it be the Minecraft faithful who are worried about the future of the game now that it is in the hands of a massive corporation, or industry analysts speculating on how this new deal will change the video game marketplace, Microsoft fired a shot across across the bow today and, wow, was it shocking.


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: January 2015

GameFocus Podcast: January 2015

Break out the bubbly because it is the first podcast of the New Year. In this episode the guys look back at the surprises and disappointments of 2014 and relay their thoughts on the year's top games. They also crack out the crystal ball to give their predictions for the upcoming year. Nolan gives his first impressions on his Amiibos, we learn the connection between Heath Ledger, Julia Stiles and Henry Winkler and what video game related Netflix content we do and do not recommend. All this plus a complicated calculation of DJ's deaths per minute played in The Evil Within and more wrapped up in a Reese's peanut butter cup of listening entertainment.

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: January 2015

GameFocus Podcast: January 2015

Break out the bubbly because it is the first podcast of the New Year. In this episode the guys look back at the surprises and disappointments of 2014 and relay their thoughts on the year's top games. They also crack out the crystal ball to give their predictions for the upcoming year. Nolan gives his first impressions on his Amiibos, we learn the connection between Heath Ledger, Julia Stiles and Henry Winkler and what video game related Netflix content we do and do not recommend. All this plus a complicated calculation of DJ's deaths per minute played in The Evil Within and more wrapped up in a Reese's peanut butter cup of listening entertainment.

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
7.8

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus