Review :: Lost Planet 3

Lost Franchise

Written by

Published Sunday, 15 September 2013 08:03

Write your own review !

Great gameplay, unique mechanics, awesome environments, terrible storytelling, and epic boss fights were the foundation of the original Lost Planet. Despite a few missteps with the online-focused LP2, I’ve been one of those people who still thought the franchise had tremendous potential. With Lost Planet 3 in the hands of a western studio, Spark Unlimited, I was certainly curious to see how it would measure up to its predecessors.

LP3mainart

Acting as a prequel to the original chapter in the trilogy, Lost Planet 3 follows the space shenanigans of a blue collar worker named Jim Peyton. He and his co-workers are working on E.D.N. III, the famous planet from the first game, to collect thermal energy in order to solve the energy crisis happening on Earth. Taking cues from the movie “Moon”, the game allows us to get attached to the character through his interactions with his wife, who is still on earth. They communicate with each other through delayed video messages, and reveal a little bit more about themselves each time.

Here’s the shocker: the story and atmosphere here are actually very good! The very last thing I was expecting from a Lost Planet game was to become invested in the characters and the story. In fact, the atmosphere and story are so perfectly tuned and realistic, that they end up hurting the gameplay. By now, I’m sure most of you are familiar with the term “ludonarrative dissonance” that so many of my peers like to use, but for those of you who aren’t, let me explain. Ludonarrative dissonance is basically a form of disconnection between the story of a game and its gameplay. The oft-mentioned example is that of the Uncharted games; Nathan Drake is a likable man and acts as the main hero of the franchise, but once you get into gameplay sections, he turns into a mass murderer. That’s ludonarrative dissonance. It allows games to offer the best of both worlds, at the cost of believability and realism. Lost Planet 3 could use some of that.

LP3Jim

I understand that Jim Peyton is on E.D.N. III to do work, but it doesn’t mean that the gameplay should FEEL like work. When Peyton complains to his wife about how boring it is out there, I don’t feel like I, as the player, should relate to that. Part of this issue could be resolved by actually improving the combat, by making the controls more responsive, improving the move-set of the character, making his weapons more satisfying to use, and by making the enemies less like bullet sponges and more satisfying to fight, but the main problem resides in the structure of the game itself, as well as the goals set for your character. I can certainly say that for a lot of the time, the story was enough to keep me going. The game does a good job of using cutscenes to reward the player, and the fact that these same cutscenes are unskippable says a lot about the priorities of the developers at Spark Unlimited. However, by the time I reached my twentieth infinitely respawning pack of enemies, I couldn’t escape the feeling of boredom. The game is so full of baffling design decisions. While the first two LP games had a strong focus on player mobility, allowing you to use your grappling hook on just about anything, this one takes a step backwards and restricts your use of the grapple hook to pre-selected areas marked with a flashy green circle. On top of that, the open areas from the first two games are gone, replaced with very linear icy corridors that trap you with the endless waves of predictable enemies, forcing you to fight them head-on with your pitiful arsenal containing what is probably one of the worst video game shotguns of all time. Don’t even think of using melee either, as it only results in triggering an awkward animation that does little to damage your opponents. Add to that the insipid rig sections, which let you ride a giant merc in first person, but give you the same objectives over and over. Usually, these objectives range from turning valves to re-aligning a satellite dish. That’s right; combat with your rig is pretty much out of the question. Why? Because your giant mech is not given any actual weapons. All you have is a drill to break through select ice walls, and a claw to grab things. Not only that, but their mobility is also restricted: You can’t jump, fly, or even walk forward at a decent speed. They are painfully slow, dull to use, and just plain uninteresting to play with. The game offers your standard array of multiplayer options, but very few people are actually playing it, and it’s not really that interesting in the first place.

LP3boss

LP3 is a very good looking game. The lighting in particular is fantastic, helping create beautiful vistas for you to look at, and making the atmosphere of the game that much stronger. Character models are pretty good too; Peyton looks and feels real, with an impressive range of facial animations that really help sell his emotions. Unfortunately, these great visuals come at a price; the framerate often dips well below 20 fps during gameplay on the console version. Considering the fact that enemies often come in great numbers, it can be frustrating to find yourself with even more unresponsive controls due to the game’s performance issues. On the audio side of things, the work done by Spark Unlimited is just as impressive. The original music here is not memorable, but it does the job, and there’s a smart use of licensed tracks, as well as great sound effects that really help sell the atmosphere.

LP31

Lost Planet 3 is a missed opportunity. I was initially impressed with the game’s efforts to tell a great story, but the boring, uninspired, and sometimes broken gameplay made it all fall apart. It’s unfortunate, but this isn’t the game that will bring back this once-great series from its premature grave.


Pros

+ Surprisingly good storytelling

+ Likable characters

+ Good graphics

Cons

- Terrible combat

- Unresponsive controls

- Lack of mobility

- Unstable framerate

- Boring rig sections

- Uninspired objectives


Final rating
5.9 / 10
Comments
More Xbox 360 reviews
2014-11-11 :: Assassin's Creed: Rogue
2014-04-06 :: Dark Souls II
2013-11-12 :: Alien Rage
2013-09-17 :: Grand Theft Auto V
2013-09-13 :: Splinter Cell: Blacklist
2013-08-07 :: Grid 2
2013-07-26 :: Remember Me
2013-07-23 :: (XBLA) Sanctum 2
Special articles
GameFocus High Fives April 2015: Week 3 Special articles

GameFocus High Fives April 2015: Week 3

“What 5 Games or Game Franchises Should Get the HD Definitive Edition Treatment?” With the trend of recent last-gen games being ported to Xbox One and PS4 showing no signs of slowing down some of the GameFocus staff put together individual lists of 5 games or game franchises that need to recived the full HD Definitive Edition treatment. Be it an old classic, or a recent favourite; anything could pop up on one of these lists, so if lists are your thing (of course they are), read on.
Lire la suite...
GameFocus High Fives April 2015 Week 2 Special articles

GameFocus High Fives April 2015 Week 2

“What 5 Games or Game Franchises Should Get the HD Definitive Edition Treatment?” With the trend of recent last-gen games being ported to Xbox One and PS4 showing no signs of slowing down some of the GameFocus staff put together individual lists of 5 games or game franchises that need to recived the full HD Definitive Edition treatment. Be it an old classic, or a recent favourite; anything could pop up on one of these lists, so if lists are your thing (of course they are), read on. Read more
Pass It or Play It? - Run Sackboy! Run! (PS Vita) Special articles

Pass It or Play It? - Run Sackboy! Run! (PS Vita)

Offered as a free download, Run Sackboy! Run! is an endless runner based off of the LittleBigPlanet games. Many have complained of the staleness of the series, so will Run Sackboy! Run! a saviour of types or should you “run” faaaaar away from it? Read more
New Feature: GameFocus High Fives April 15 Special articles

New Feature: GameFocus High Fives April 15

 High fives are awesome. This is scientific fact. There is no physical action that is more synonymous with awesomeness then two people throwing their hands into the air with excitement and connecting. The ensuing sound is the culmination of awesome made audible.  In celebration of the awesomeness that is the High Five; the GameFocus staff are proud to announce a new ongoing Monthly/Weekly feature that we’ve affectionately called GameFocus High Fives. Read more

Game details
Lost Planet 3
Release date : 2013-08-27
Platform :
Publisher : Capcom
Developer : Spark Unlimited
Gameplay : Shooter

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

Well everyone, Mortal Kombat X is now available to be purchased (which I’m sure you have done) and if you keep up with video game news (which I’m sure you do), you would know that almost every single day in the lead up to its release, we were hearing about a new trailer, character reveal, or some sort of news regarding the upcoming game. I have to hand it to Mortal Kombat X’s marketing team, they did their job; it seems like every person on the planet is hyped about this game (which I’m sure you are).

But aside from a good marketing campaign, what’s the big deal about Mortal Kombat X anyways?


Read more

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

  Apple has finally lifted the curtain on the Apple Watch and, unsurprisingly, it looks good.  Maybe you're crunching the numbers to determine if you can afford the $13,000, 38mm 18-carat rose gold case edition or the $449.00 sport model.  No matter what you pick you'll need an Apple iPhone 5 or later running the latest version of iOS, so don't forget to figure that into the cost as well.  Before taking out a line of credit to buy the latest and greatest from Apple I'd recommend holding off and avoiding the April 24th release date altogether. 


Read more

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Maybe it wouldn't have been as bad if the sales person hadn't said, "this is our most popular seller; I can barely keep it on the shelves."  My mother and I were in the only video game store in the city.  It was in the basement of a professional building and smelled like stale cigarette smoke and BO.  For passing grade five I was rewarded with a video game.  This wasn't a decision to be made lightly; this would be one of the two games I'd get all year.  I can no longer remember the game I originally wanted but I do remember the store didn't have it.  Instead, the sales person was recommending something I'd never heard of, a little game called "Mystery Quest."


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

This time around the guys take the Batmobile for a spin waxing poetically about the upcoming Arkham Knight and past Arkham titles. We shed a tear for our gaming regrets and speculate on which actor was delivered a Mortal Kombat fatality. Plus: How interested would you be in a "Who's The Boss" video game? What sort of hat wear could you get with 50 Microsoft points? And..Why do 2-D fighting games reign supreme over 3-D?

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

This time around the guys take the Batmobile for a spin waxing poetically about the upcoming Arkham Knight and past Arkham titles. We shed a tear for our gaming regrets and speculate on which actor was delivered a Mortal Kombat fatality. Plus: How interested would you be in a "Who's The Boss" video game? What sort of hat wear could you get with 50 Microsoft points? And..Why do 2-D fighting games reign supreme over 3-D?

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
Apotheon (PC)
9.4
2
Splice (PlayStation 4)
8.4
3
Hand of Fate (Xbox One)
8.0
4
8.0
5
7.8
7
Dead or Alive 5 Last Round (PlayStation 4)
7.7
8
6.6

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus