Review :: Star Trek

Star Trek

Star Wreck

Written by

Published Wednesday, 05 June 2013 15:05

Write your own review !

Every so often, a game will come out that tests our breaking point. Just how much more can you take before a game becomes virtually unplayable, non-functional, and frustrating to no end? Star Trek is not only all of these things, but it also has you questioning your sanity and leaves your jaw dropped in awe at the amount of technical flaws it has. The Star Trek video game is one of the most flawed titles I've had the displeasure of playing in a very long time.

Star Trek serves as a tie-in to the most recent Star Trek: Into Darkness movie, the second film in J.J. Abrams' reboot series. The game takes place in between Abrams' two films and tells another adventure tale of Kirk and Spock, this time having to stop the lizard-like Gorn creatures from causing mass destruction. Star Trek feels somewhat like a buddy cop movie with its strong focus on co-op. You play the entire game as either Kirk or Spock with the left over character being controlled by a friend or the game's AI. A mixture of different gameplay elements are blended into this adventure which consist of Uncharted-esque climbing sequences, puzzle solving, space battles, but most prominently- shooting. Variety in gameplay in an adventure game is always a good idea in theory, but in Star Trek, these ideas were put in a blender, and the smoothie just came out completely wrong.

star-trek-the-game-1

As said before, the game mainly focuses on shooting, and that's unfortunately the most boring thing about it. Shooting mechanics are bland, unimaginitive, and are far less functional than many games to come out before it. Going into cover feels as clunky as square wheels with design choices that make absolutely no sense. Why do I have to HOLD the B button to transition over to another cover position? Among these intended problems, there are some unintended ones as well. More than once, I attempted to turn and run from out of my cover, and the command literally just didn't work. In fact, there were way too many instances where Kirk's character animations could not keep up with my movement during combat situations. Doing a complete 180 can confuse Kirk's body animation to the point where my movement was reversed. For a brief moment, up was down, down was up, left was right, and right was left. It made absolutely no sense, and it happened more than once.

Guns themselves are nothing special. Assault rifles, sniper rifles, it's all here, and they're all interchangeable. A good strategy would be to stick with your default blaster, actually. It has unlimited ammo, isn't as underpowered as you think it would be, and has a stun feature which allows for a close-quarters one-hit kill. That's another dire problem with Star Trek; other than the frustration faced with the technical problems, there is absolutely no challenge. Most enemies go down with one stun-and-hit attack and unlike more functional shooters, blind-fire is terribly precise. There is almost no reason why you should have to trigger-aim while shooting because a dot reticle on the screen(which is also present in some cutscenes for some reason) points exactly where your projectiles will go, and it always hits that mark. There are also weapon upgrades in the game that, trust me, are never a necessity. On top of that, the Gorn in this game are either severely mentally challenged, or have terrible AI. I do believe it's the latter. I can count on two hands the amount of times I stood directly in front of a Gorn enemy, and it did nothing.

The co-op focus could shed some sort of life on this mess, but it only makes matters a lot worse. In fact, partner AI is significantly more terrible than enemy AI. I can also count on two hands the amount of times I was downed by an enemy waiting for revival, to which Spock shouted "I'm coming"...and then he just stood there. He wasn't even fighting off enemies. He just stood there. At another moment in the same situation, Spock did attempt to come help me, but got caught on a wall, glitching furiously towards it in a constant running animation. Your partner will also rarely be able to manuever obstacles successfully or fluidly. First thing Spock did when the game began was levitate in the air. Seriously. After the opening cinematic ended and the gameplay started, Spock's character model began floating in the air. If that doesn't tell you enough, I don't know what will.

startrekshooting

Throughout Star Trek, you'll be constantly using a device called the tricorder. This gadget shows you where your current objectives are and allows you to hack and open doors and devices. Upon a hack attempt, you'll encounter a mini-game of some type. These mini-games offer no challenge or creativity. There's one mini-game type you can literally complete by moving the sticks up and down and pressing A repeatedly. One of the more interesting things you use in your tricorder is a function that reveals the location of enemies using cloaking, but even that gets boring. Star Trek is gushing with gameplay elements that overstay their welcome. There's a section in which Kirk and Spock obtain transporter guns which can beam the other player over to specific platforms in zero gravity environments. This was midly interesting at the start, but the game never did anything creative with it. It just became very repetitive.

Like its gameplay, Star Trek has absolutely no passion put into its environments. To boot, this is one of the graphically worst looking games I've played in while. It's a little cool to be aboard the Enterprise at first, but the game immediately drops you into areas that look the same in all directions. You'd think even the Gorn home planet would be a good opportunity to do something visually interesting, but it looks as unappealing as everything else. With that being said about the unimaginative artistic direction, nothing else in the game can compare to the truly terrifying technical issues of the game's presentation. Full character models can clip through OTHER full character models entirely, to which your camera may zoom in automatically and reveal the eyeballs, tongue, and teeth of that model. Even the poorly animated faces of the characters look genuinely scary at times, and those are glitch-free.

startrekspockhuge

 

Aside from the passable voice work from the film's cast, everything about the way Star Trek is presented is dull and filled to the brim with technical issues. There is one amusing error when you have your tricorder out; your character's model seems to be locked to the camera, thus the perspective makes it seem like you are tiny in comparison to other characters when up close to them. It's something you have to see to believe. The final nail in the coffin though was a moment in which about 4 enemy Gorn were standing on a balcony above me upon entering a room, and each Gorn was scripted to jump down and attack me...They each jumped down from the balcony, and clipped through the floor entirely. I never got to fight them. They fell through the world. Enemies also being able to shoot completely through solid walls is very frustrating and confusing. The list of these issues goes on and on.

It's a strange day when I can say Star Trek is one of the most mystifying games I've ever played. Glitches, glitches, glitches, and more glitches. Oh, and there's a game here too, but it's dull and not really worth your time. The shooting is bland, the mini-games are uninspired, the graphics are nearly Xbox 1 level of quality, the art style is nonexistent, the AI is utterly broken, and so is the rest of the game. If you're not a fan of the saga, do yourself a favor and avoid this video game adaptation.


Pros

+ The voice acting uses the original cast

Cons

- Glitches and bugs galore

- Environments are bland

- Gameplay is unimaginative

- AI is broken

- Graphics are below average


Final rating
3.5 / 10
Comments
More Xbox 360 reviews
2014-11-11 :: Assassin's Creed: Rogue
2014-04-06 :: Dark Souls II
2013-11-12 :: Alien Rage
2013-09-17 :: Grand Theft Auto V
2013-09-15 :: Lost Planet 3
2013-09-13 :: Splinter Cell: Blacklist
2013-08-07 :: Grid 2
2013-07-26 :: Remember Me
2013-07-23 :: (XBLA) Sanctum 2
Special articles
Pass It or Play It? - The Unfinished Swan (PS3, PS4, PS Vita) Special articles

Pass It or Play It? - The Unfinished Swan (PS3, PS4, PS Vita)

California-based indie developer Giant Sparrow chose to take a more artistic approach when creating their incredibly ambitious game The Unfinished Swan. When a young boy named Monroe discovers a swan in a painting has gone missing, he adventures in in hopes to uncover the truth behind its disappearance. The Unfinished Swan isn’t about action as much as it is about uncovering the ambiguous world that it takes place in. But is the game itself worth investigating?
Lire la suite...
Mailbag - What makes your rose so unique Special articles

Mailbag - What makes your rose so unique

Dear Jesse, I've never been super comfortable around members of the fairer sex. I've always been more at ease in front of my computer or immersed in a good game. However, I'm starting to feel that if I don't change something, and soon, this could be my life -- rather than just an enjoyable way to pass the time until something better comes along. I started thinking about the quote for The Little Prince, "It is the time you have wasted for your rose that makes your rose so unique." I love gaming but it's kind of a one-way street and all the time I put into it doesn't change what it is.I have a full time job and my own place so I don't exactly fit the stereotype of the unemployed guy living in his parents' basement but that's not really doing anything for me either. I don't know a lot of people and tend to be pretty isolated in my job.Help,Robot Mike Read more
Mailbag: May 18 - Bloodstained vs Bard's Tale Special articles

Mailbag: May 18 - Bloodstained vs Bard's Tale

 You ask - I answer: Dear Jesse,With the recent announcement of Bloodstained on Kickstarter and the upcoming campaign for Bard's Tale 4 I'm at a loss for who (whom?) to fund. Whips or swords? I've wanted to get in on a Kickstarter campaign and I'm pretty excited for both of these games but is it worth it? What if the game doesn't meet its target? Or what if I end up funding something that was lousy and I'm left with egg all over my face? Thx,Don't want to be an egg man Read more
Mailbag: May 10, 2015 Special articles

Mailbag: May 10, 2015

 It's been a while, fellow gamers, and I hope you'll excuse my absence. As I write this most of my belongings are still packed in boxes (except for the PS4 and WiiU) but I am writing this from a new home and so at least one major hurdle has been crossed. In my absence we've had lots of great questions so without adieu let's get to it. Dear Jesse, I'm in my last year at high school. I'm a pretty typical guy -- I ride a horse, cut lawns for extra money, help out people where I can and hang with this girl I like. Life would be pretty ideal if not for one particular teacher -- Mr. G. -- I kind of ruined his life, but I didn't mean to. Read more

Game details
Star Trek
Release date : 2013-04-23
Platform :
Publisher : Namco
Developer : Digital Extremes
Gameplay : Shooter

GameFocus High Fives

GameFocus High Fives, May 2015 Week 2

GameFocus High Fives, May 2015 Week 2
  “Top Five Unexpectedly Great Games”

There is no better feeling as a gamer then when a game exceeds your expectations. Maybe it was a bargain bin purchase at a local retailer, or a title rescued from development hell that was doomed to fail, or even something that just didn’t fit your personal tastes and you took a chance on it. For the month of May, the GameFocus staff reflects on what video games they have played that were unexpectedly great!

Week 2 - Tyler Hodgkinson - Staff Writer

Read more

GameFocus High Fives May 2015 Week 1

GameFocus High Fives May 2015 Week 1

 “Top Five Unexpectedly Great Games”

There is no better feeling as a gamer then when a game exceeds your expectations. Maybe it was a bargain bin purchase at a local retailer, or a title rescued from development hell that was doomed to fail, or even something that just didn’t fit your personal tastes and you took a chance on it. For the month of May, the GameFocus staff reflects on what video games they have played that were unexpectedly great!

Week 1: D.J. Kinsey - Assistant Editor-in-Chief


Read more

GameFocus High Fives April 2015 Week 4

GameFocus High Fives April 2015 Week 4

“What 5 Games or Game Franchises Should Get the HD Definitive Edition Treatment?”

With the trend of recent last-gen games being ported to Xbox One and PS4 showing no signs of slowing down some of the GameFocus staff put together individual lists of 5 games or game franchises that need to recived the full HD Definitive Edition treatment. Be it an old classic, or a recent favourite; anything could pop up on one of these lists, so if lists are your thing (of course they are), read on.


Read more
DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more
GF Blogs

Splatoon - Early Impressions

Splatoon - Early Impressions

As we may all know, Splatoon is the latest major exclusive title from Nintendo and it will be hitting stores later this week (May 29, NA). Its announcement at E3 2014 shocked many, strictly because of the fact that Nintendo was making a shooting-game. Yes, a shooting-game; it still sounds weird to me, too. In Splatoon, players take control of a human-squid hybrid as they attempt shoot, roll and “splat” a given area with more of their team’s ink than their opponents. The game relies heavily on its online multiplayer mode, although a single player experience is included in the game.  Its cartoony art style and Pixar-eqsue character models make the title feel more at home on the Wii U, but the concept itself is still odd for the archetypical family-friendly company. A playable visualization of the game recently became available in the form of “Splatoon Global Testfire”, a one hour gameplay demo that went live five times over two weekends. I got the chance to sit down and test the peculiar game for myself. Here are my impressions…


Read more

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

Well everyone, Mortal Kombat X is now available to be purchased (which I’m sure you have done) and if you keep up with video game news (which I’m sure you do), you would know that almost every single day in the lead up to its release, we were hearing about a new trailer, character reveal, or some sort of news regarding the upcoming game. I have to hand it to Mortal Kombat X’s marketing team, they did their job; it seems like every person on the planet is hyped about this game (which I’m sure you are).

But aside from a good marketing campaign, what’s the big deal about Mortal Kombat X anyways?


Read more

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

  Apple has finally lifted the curtain on the Apple Watch and, unsurprisingly, it looks good.  Maybe you're crunching the numbers to determine if you can afford the $13,000, 38mm 18-carat rose gold case edition or the $449.00 sport model.  No matter what you pick you'll need an Apple iPhone 5 or later running the latest version of iOS, so don't forget to figure that into the cost as well.  Before taking out a line of credit to buy the latest and greatest from Apple I'd recommend holding off and avoiding the April 24th release date altogether. 


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
Apotheon (PC)
9.4
2
Splice (PlayStation 4)
8.4
3
Hand of Fate (Xbox One)
8.0
4
8.0
5
Toren (PlayStation 4)
8.0
6
7.8
8
Dead or Alive 5 Last Round (PlayStation 4)
7.7
9
6.6
10
6.0

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus