Review :: (XBLA) Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara

A nice trip down memory lane...

Written by

Published Monday, 08 July 2013 10:40

Write your own review !

When Microsoft introduced Xbox Live Arcade on the original Xbox, its purpose was almost solely to invite players to revisit old classics. While the service has strayed away from that focus over the past few years, and developed into one of the most interesting video game platforms out there, it’s nice to see that it’s still a great place to take a trip down video game memory lane. Dungeons and Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara may not be a familiar sounding name to all gamers of this generation, but this re-release is a perfect time to discover it.

dungeons-and-dragons-chronicles-of-mystara

D&D: Chronicles of Mystara features not one, but two games from the 1990s arcade scene: Tower of Doom, as well as its sequel, Shadow Over Mystara. Despite their old age, there is actually some fairly deep storytelling going on here. Each level plays very much like the classic, old-school 2D brawler we’re all used to, but each time one of them is completed, you get rewarded with a cutscene that progresses the story. It’s nothing groundbreaking, but it’s a nice touch that may keep the most interested ones playing.

At its heart, the game asks the player to use a combination of magic and melee attacks, each determined by a selection wheel and different characters. Each of these characters offers a different style, as well as their own finely-tuned mechanics. While an Elf could have its magical, ranged attacks perfectly mastered, a Fighter would be a stronger choice for melee combat situations. As you hack and slash your way through the enemies, you may find that switching between characters is a smarter way to progress through the game. Chronicles of Mystara also offers an RPG-like system which lets you level up each character individually, so other types of players may prefer to stick with a single persona, as they will level up quicker that way.

Dungeons-And-Dragons-Chronicles-of-Mystara-Screenshot

I wouldn’t fault anyone for simply ignoring the Tower of Doom installment in favor of Shadow Over Mystara. In fact, the two titles are so strikingly similar that it may not be worth your time to play the original, as its sequel is by far the more refined version. However, it’s always nice to be given extra content, and the most dedicated players will want to experience the whole thing. Given that both games are fairly short, it’s only natural that they would offer a ton of replayability. With the excellent co-op mode, as well as the levelling capabilities, the game certainly demands to be replayed. As you learn the intricacies of each level, master the techniques of all the characters, and learn all of your enemies’ weaknesses, you’ll be thrilled to realize how much you can get out of the game when you really take the time to master it.

On the visual side of things, it’s clear that Capcom hasn’t done much to remaster its baby. The game still runs in a 4:3, low resolution format, and the graphics, while very good for their time, certainly haven’t aged too well in this day and age. The animations retain all the charm from the arcade classics we all know and love, but they may not be received too well by less nostalgic gamers. As far as audio goes, it also appears dated. One important thing to note is that this version includes the full English language translation, as opposed to the original, Japanese-only release on the Sega Saturn, which is a nice addition.

Dungeons and Dragons Chronicles of Mystara 1

All in all, you get exactly what you can expect from Chronicles of Mystara: An excellent, old-school brawler that won’t necessarily please younger gamers, but that will almost certainly delight older, nostalgic fans. With a faithful presentation, deep gameplay, a nice storyline and great replayability, the value of the whole package will depend on your willingness to play the Tower of Doom installment, as well as your love for the original games. Don’t go in expecting a modern take on the 2D brawler, but certainly expect to take a nostalgic trip back in time.


Pros

+ A nostalgia-filled journey

+ We finally get an English translation!

+ Tight gameplay mechanics

+ Great replayability factor 

+ Surprisingly good storyline

Cons

- Dated presentation

- The price is a bit high

- Dated, less interesting first installment


Final rating
8.0 / 10
Comments
More Xbox 360 reviews
2014-11-11 :: Assassin's Creed: Rogue
2014-04-06 :: Dark Souls II
2013-11-12 :: Alien Rage
2013-09-17 :: Grand Theft Auto V
2013-09-15 :: Lost Planet 3
2013-09-13 :: Splinter Cell: Blacklist
2013-08-07 :: Grid 2
2013-07-26 :: Remember Me
2013-07-23 :: (XBLA) Sanctum 2
Special articles
Pass It or Play It? - Surgeon Simulator (PS4) Special articles

Pass It or Play It? - Surgeon Simulator (PS4)

  The surprise 2013 hit Surgeon Simulator has made its way from PC to PlayStation 4, giving a new group of players a chance to experience the game. Developer Bossa Studios originally created Surgeon Simulator within 48 hours for Global Jam 2013, and subsequently went on to develop the game for another 48 days. Is being a doctor all that it’s cracked up to be or will it have you screaming for sedation? 
Lire la suite...
Evolve Toronto Launch Event Special articles

Evolve Toronto Launch Event

Last night as the clock ticked down to the midnight release of the highly anticipated 4v1 monster hunting extravaganza known as Evolve, Xbox and EB Games threw a launch party in Toronto to celebrate the game's imminent release.  Attendees stepped off the sixth floor elevator and were instantly greeted with some thick foliage and monster footprints.  It appeared that the downtown loft space had been magically transformed to the planet Shear, complete with staff decked out in garb ready for some big game hunting.  Ammon belts, camo and other accessories straight from Ted Nugent's closet were the threads and animal skulls, furs and weaponry adorned the walls. Read more
Why Buying Amiibo Might Be A Bad Idea Special articles

Why Buying Amiibo Might Be A Bad Idea

When Nintendo first revealed Amiibo back at E3 2014, many fans of the company were quick to chomp at the idea of the connected figurine line. Skylanders was a hit. Disney Infinity was a hit. Nintendo wanted a piece of the interactive action and they dove in head first. Read more
GameFocus' Most Anticipated Games of 2015 Special articles

GameFocus' Most Anticipated Games of 2015

With the start of a new year, the gaming slate is as pure as the driven snow and full of promise and expectation. Here at GameFocus we thought we would share some of the games we are stoked to get our hands on in 2015. Will this bumper crop of intriguing titles entice, disappoint or be delayed (as was common with our 2014 picks)? Only time will tell. Happy gaming this year. Read more

Game details
(XBLA) Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara
Release date : 2013-06-19
Platform :
Publisher : Capcom
Developer : Iron Galaxy Studios
Gameplay : Compilation

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

apple-watch-release-date-970-80

  Apple has finally lifted the curtain on the Apple Watch and, unsurprisingly, it looks good.  Maybe you're crunching the numbers to determine if you can afford the $13,000, 38mm 18-carat rose gold case edition or the $449.00 sport model.  No matter what you pick you'll need an Apple iPhone 5 or later running the latest version of iOS, so don't forget to figure that into the cost as well.  Before taking out a line of credit to buy the latest and greatest from Apple I'd recommend holding off and avoiding the April 24th release date altogether. 

 


Read more

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Maybe it wouldn't have been as bad if the sales person hadn't said, "this is our most popular seller; I can barely keep it on the shelves."  My mother and I were in the only video game store in the city.  It was in the basement of a professional building and smelled like stale cigarette smoke and BO.  For passing grade five I was rewarded with a video game.  This wasn't a decision to be made lightly; this would be one of the two games I'd get all year.  I can no longer remember the game I originally wanted but I do remember the store didn't have it.  Instead, the sales person was recommending something I'd never heard of, a little game called "Mystery Quest."


Read more

5 Games to Play with the One You Love

5 Games to Play with the One You Love

Stumped on how to incorperate your love of games and the love of your life into one sweet Valentines's day package? We've got your back with 5 games sure to help you maximize the loving you deserve. 


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

This time around the guys take the Batmobile for a spin waxing poetically about the upcoming Arkham Knight and past Arkham titles. We shed a tear for our gaming regrets and speculate on which actor was delivered a Mortal Kombat fatality. Plus: How interested would you be in a "Who's The Boss" video game? What sort of hat wear could you get with 50 Microsoft points? And..Why do 2-D fighting games reign supreme over 3-D?

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

This time around the guys take the Batmobile for a spin waxing poetically about the upcoming Arkham Knight and past Arkham titles. We shed a tear for our gaming regrets and speculate on which actor was delivered a Mortal Kombat fatality. Plus: How interested would you be in a "Who's The Boss" video game? What sort of hat wear could you get with 50 Microsoft points? And..Why do 2-D fighting games reign supreme over 3-D?

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
Apotheon (PC)
9.4
2
Splice (PlayStation 4)
8.4
3
Hand of Fate (Xbox One)
8.0
4
7.8
6
6.6

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus