Review :: (XBLA) Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara

A nice trip down memory lane...

Vincent Deshaies

Written by Vincent Deshaies - Assistant Editor-in-Chief

Published Monday, 08 July 2013 10:40

Write your own review !

When Microsoft introduced Xbox Live Arcade on the original Xbox, its purpose was almost solely to invite players to revisit old classics. While the service has strayed away from that focus over the past few years, and developed into one of the most interesting video game platforms out there, it’s nice to see that it’s still a great place to take a trip down video game memory lane. Dungeons and Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara may not be a familiar sounding name to all gamers of this generation, but this re-release is a perfect time to discover it.

dungeons-and-dragons-chronicles-of-mystara

D&D: Chronicles of Mystara features not one, but two games from the 1990s arcade scene: Tower of Doom, as well as its sequel, Shadow Over Mystara. Despite their old age, there is actually some fairly deep storytelling going on here. Each level plays very much like the classic, old-school 2D brawler we’re all used to, but each time one of them is completed, you get rewarded with a cutscene that progresses the story. It’s nothing groundbreaking, but it’s a nice touch that may keep the most interested ones playing.

At its heart, the game asks the player to use a combination of magic and melee attacks, each determined by a selection wheel and different characters. Each of these characters offers a different style, as well as their own finely-tuned mechanics. While an Elf could have its magical, ranged attacks perfectly mastered, a Fighter would be a stronger choice for melee combat situations. As you hack and slash your way through the enemies, you may find that switching between characters is a smarter way to progress through the game. Chronicles of Mystara also offers an RPG-like system which lets you level up each character individually, so other types of players may prefer to stick with a single persona, as they will level up quicker that way.

Dungeons-And-Dragons-Chronicles-of-Mystara-Screenshot

I wouldn’t fault anyone for simply ignoring the Tower of Doom installment in favor of Shadow Over Mystara. In fact, the two titles are so strikingly similar that it may not be worth your time to play the original, as its sequel is by far the more refined version. However, it’s always nice to be given extra content, and the most dedicated players will want to experience the whole thing. Given that both games are fairly short, it’s only natural that they would offer a ton of replayability. With the excellent co-op mode, as well as the levelling capabilities, the game certainly demands to be replayed. As you learn the intricacies of each level, master the techniques of all the characters, and learn all of your enemies’ weaknesses, you’ll be thrilled to realize how much you can get out of the game when you really take the time to master it.

On the visual side of things, it’s clear that Capcom hasn’t done much to remaster its baby. The game still runs in a 4:3, low resolution format, and the graphics, while very good for their time, certainly haven’t aged too well in this day and age. The animations retain all the charm from the arcade classics we all know and love, but they may not be received too well by less nostalgic gamers. As far as audio goes, it also appears dated. One important thing to note is that this version includes the full English language translation, as opposed to the original, Japanese-only release on the Sega Saturn, which is a nice addition.

Dungeons and Dragons Chronicles of Mystara 1

All in all, you get exactly what you can expect from Chronicles of Mystara: An excellent, old-school brawler that won’t necessarily please younger gamers, but that will almost certainly delight older, nostalgic fans. With a faithful presentation, deep gameplay, a nice storyline and great replayability, the value of the whole package will depend on your willingness to play the Tower of Doom installment, as well as your love for the original games. Don’t go in expecting a modern take on the 2D brawler, but certainly expect to take a nostalgic trip back in time.


Pros

+ A nostalgia-filled journey

+ We finally get an English translation!

+ Tight gameplay mechanics

+ Great replayability factor 

+ Surprisingly good storyline

Cons

- Dated presentation

- The price is a bit high

- Dated, less interesting first installment


Final rating
8.0 / 10
Comments
More Xbox 360 reviews
2014-04-06 :: Dark Souls II
2013-11-12 :: Alien Rage
2013-09-17 :: Grand Theft Auto V
2013-09-15 :: Lost Planet 3
2013-09-13 :: Splinter Cell: Blacklist
2013-08-07 :: Grid 2
2013-07-26 :: Remember Me
2013-07-23 :: (XBLA) Sanctum 2
2013-06-05 :: Star Trek
Special articles
The 10 Types of Gamers Special articles

The 10 Types of Gamers

  This list isn’t to marginalize a particular group of Gamers but rather to celebrate our differences.  Also, I don’t think it’s possible to be just one type of gamer either, you can be all sorts.  So enjoy my list of the “10 Types of Gamers” and let me know if I missed one or what type of gamer you are in the comments section below!
Lire la suite...
The Best and The Worst: Titanfall Maps Special articles

The Best and The Worst: Titanfall Maps

Since everybody loves lists and since everybody also loves Titanfall, I thought it was pertinent that I combine these two equally loved things together.  And since maps are one of the key ingredients in a first-person shooter, I felt that would be a good place to start: Read more
More with Titanfall's Lead Game Director Steve Fukuda Special articles

More with Titanfall's Lead Game Director Steve Fukuda

 Last week Andrew Atkinson posted a great piece on the interview he and I had with Titanfall’s Lead Game Director, Steve Fukuda.  I thought I would follow up with some more little bits of information we were able to gather from Mr. Fukuda detailing what’s in store for Titanfall in the future: Read more
Five Things we Learned from 'Titanfall' Lead Developer Steve Fukuda Special articles

Five Things we Learned from 'Titanfall' Lead Developer Steve Fukuda

Gamefocus recently had the chance to chat with Steve Fukuda, lead game developer for Titanfall at Respawn.  Fukuda was lead designer at Infinity Ward where he was a major player in the production of the Call of Duty series up until Modern Warfare 2.  Brenden Mernagh and I arranged to speak with Fukuda at the Titanfalllaunch party in Toronto. Read more

Game details
(XBLA) Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara
Release date : 2013-06-19
Platform :
Publisher : Capcom
Developer : Iron Galaxy Studios
Gameplay : Compilation

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

Rage Against The Exploding Barrel

Rage Against The Exploding Barrel

In the year 1981 a decision was made which would forever alter the face of video games as we know them. A young gorilla named Donkey Kong was throwing wooden barrels at a spunky little plumber named Mario. What happened next influenced the level design and gameplay of most FPS and adventure games since.


Read more

Why Super Nintendo VS Sega Genesis is a lot like PS4 VS Xbox One

Why Super Nintendo VS Sega Genesis is a lot like PS4 VS Xbox One

The video game press and blogosphere didn’t really know what to make of the Playstation 4 and the Xbox One when they were announced last year.  Most of this confusion seemed to stem from the fact that no one really knew for sure if these next-generation video game consoles would offer the player anything new.  Yes, there would be better graphics, better online functionality, a better multimedia experience, and a better controller, but would that be it?


Read more

'Goat Simulator' is Live! You can Virtually Live as a Goat!

'Goat Simulator' is Live! You can Virtually Live as a Goat!

I’ve often thought that what the animal rights movement really needs are some rocking simulations of animal life.  I’m not sure Goat Simulator will offer that (I’m still downloading it), but think about this: imagine teaching a grade seven science class where you hook your students up to Oculus Rift VR sets, fix them with some haptic arm and leg bands, and send them out to join a wolf pack stalking caribou in the arctic tundra (Dire Wolf!).


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: December 16, 2013

GameFocus Podcast: December 16, 2013

Game Focus is proud to present its new podcast episode, a weekly casual talk between GameFocus staff members about the gaming industry. In this show, we talk about mostly the Xbox One and the PS4. Vince explains in details what happened when he reached Microsoft support for a problem with his Xbox One that unexpectedly died after less than 2 days of use.

Read more
GameFocus 2014 Top 10
2
Dark Souls II (Xbox 360)
9.1
3
9.0
5
Thief (PlayStation 4)
7.5
6
Madden NFL 25 (Xbox One)
7.4
7
Powerstar Golf (Xbox One)
5.8
8
4.0

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus