Review :: (XBLA) Sacred Citadel

Return to Ancaria, or your favorite arcade?

Written by Super User

Published Monday, 13 May 2013 20:00

Write your own review !

Sacred. Arguably one of the most underappreciated of the various RPG universes. Starting out on PC, the 3rd person isometric view and action-centered gameplay put it in a precarious position: Filling 2004’s Diablo void while many games moved away from PCs altogether. Fortunately, it had just the right amount of personality for it to stand apart from the Diablo-clone crowd, gaining a cult following from enthusiasts. This led to a proper expansion, as well as a full on sequel (one that made an appearance on consoles as well). With fans rabidly waiting for the third entry in the franchise (which is still due to arrive before the end of the year), publisher Deep Silver tasked SouthEnd Interactive - of Ilomilo fame - to give the fans a bit of history that will lead us into Sacred 3. The kicker? They jump into uncharted territory for the franchise, making Sacred Citadel a side-scrolling brawler...

Sacredscreen04

Anyone who used to frequent the arcades of yore should find a generous amount of nostalgia among the offerings of Sacred Citadel. In fact, if you are a fan of SEGA’s classic Golden Axe, you’ll see more than a passing resemblance. I wouldn’t call it a reskinning so much as a very meticulous homage. All the basics are here: Cooperative (local and online) side-scrolling left-to-right battles against hordes of enemies, loot drops, special moves, the occasional mounts, and yes, even the roasted meats to replenish your health. Everything will feel very familiar to those who have dropped handfuls of quarters into their choice arcade machine.

"Fans may struggle with the genre shift, but Sacred Citadel is exactly what it set out to be: A pick-up-and-play side-scroller where button-mashing trumps anything resembling narrative depth."

Given the familiarity of the genre, the larger question is how it holds up against the rest of the downloadable offerings available today. Surprisingly to me, it holds its own just fine. While I love the genre itself, after jumping into the classics as they have been re-released on today’s platforms, I have been less than thrilled. The magic of the original experience seemed to have faded over the years. With that said, Sacred Citadel manages to take what was once a great time, and add enough of a smattering of modern love to it that I was able to recapture that brainless button-mashing feeling of my youth.

Sacredscreen01

A lot of the credit goes to the variety. While it won’t knock your socks off with a bottomless set of options, it does have enough to expand upon the genre stalwarts and make it feel a bit less dated. Four playable character classes - Warrior, Ranger, Mage, and Shaman - each of which have their own stat specialties, making them play exactly as one would expect. The Warrior is your tank, the Ranger is your ranged fighter, etc... Every character can dual-wield, as well as use their class-specific weapon, opening up the combo count. As you lay waste with large combos, you’ll fill your special meter, letting you unleash an uber move on your foes. Although, you’ll probably be better served saving that for the various bosses you’ll face.

Loot drops will help keep your weapons and armor current, adding more to the character’s attack and defense stats. The balancing of the drops is perfect in order to keep up with the game progression. Unfortunately, it also made the gold you find, and by proxy the local shops one would spend such gold, moot. Not once during my entire jaunt through the game’s four chapters did I need to purchase anything beyond the occasional potion, as pretty much everything I already had was better than what was being offered, or I would soon find something better on the first or second stage of that particular chapter. It’s a shame really, as the townships could have played a much more important role in the player’s journey.

Sacredscreen02

Each of the chapters carry a different theme, adding a diverse set of environments to play through. Murky swamps, cavernous cliffs, dark forests, and snowy mountaintops all are rendered in a cartoony style that is a large departure from the detailed visuals the series has had in the past. This also allowed for a bright and vibrant color pallet, which simultaneously furthered the separation between this entry and its Action-RPG predecessors, and enhanced the arcade-y experience it is trying so hard to facilitate.

Unfortunately, just as the visuals and the gameplay hearken back to our quarter-munching gaming of yore, the story-telling does the same. Over-the-top script and voicework do little for the already forgettable tale. You’ll try to stay with it, but after the first few stages, you’ll quickly see exactly where it is going and will pay it no more attention, instead staying wholly focused on mashing down the two attack buttons as much as possible, while occasionally doing a quick dodge to stay out of reach of your attackers.

Sacredscreen03

Final Focus

To be honest, I can’t really fault Sacred Citadel. Sure, the campaign can be knocked out in a weekend, and the combat can get repetitive if you don’t take advantage of all the moves the game has to offer. And while it is supposed to set the stage for the main course found in Sacred 3, the story is as predictable as they come, so you’ll find yourself focusing on how high you can get your combo count up rather than seeing where the franchise is heading with the third entry. However, all of that is not necessarily a bad thing. Fans may struggle with the genre shift, but Sacred Citadel is exactly what it set out to be: A pick-up-and-play side-scroller where button-mashing trumps anything resembling narrative depth. It is a throwback to the days when gaming did not include complex mechanics or award-winning writing. As long as you come in expecting that, you’ll be more than happy with the $15 investment, especially if you have a buddy or two to join you.

 


Pros

+ Classic arcade action-adventure + Light, pick-up-and-play action + Fun co-op

Cons

- Forgettable tale - Moot economy - Franchise fans may not be thrilled with the genre shift


Final rating
7.0 / 10
Comments
More Xbox 360 reviews
2014-11-11 :: Assassin's Creed: Rogue
2014-04-06 :: Dark Souls II
2013-11-12 :: Alien Rage
2013-09-17 :: Grand Theft Auto V
2013-09-15 :: Lost Planet 3
2013-09-13 :: Splinter Cell: Blacklist
2013-08-07 :: Grid 2
2013-07-26 :: Remember Me
2013-07-23 :: (XBLA) Sanctum 2
Special articles
GameFocus High Fives April 2015: Week 3 Special articles

GameFocus High Fives April 2015: Week 3

“What 5 Games or Game Franchises Should Get the HD Definitive Edition Treatment?” With the trend of recent last-gen games being ported to Xbox One and PS4 showing no signs of slowing down some of the GameFocus staff put together individual lists of 5 games or game franchises that need to recived the full HD Definitive Edition treatment. Be it an old classic, or a recent favourite; anything could pop up on one of these lists, so if lists are your thing (of course they are), read on.
Lire la suite...
GameFocus High Fives April 2015 Week 2 Special articles

GameFocus High Fives April 2015 Week 2

“What 5 Games or Game Franchises Should Get the HD Definitive Edition Treatment?” With the trend of recent last-gen games being ported to Xbox One and PS4 showing no signs of slowing down some of the GameFocus staff put together individual lists of 5 games or game franchises that need to recived the full HD Definitive Edition treatment. Be it an old classic, or a recent favourite; anything could pop up on one of these lists, so if lists are your thing (of course they are), read on. Read more
Pass It or Play It? - Run Sackboy! Run! (PS Vita) Special articles

Pass It or Play It? - Run Sackboy! Run! (PS Vita)

Offered as a free download, Run Sackboy! Run! is an endless runner based off of the LittleBigPlanet games. Many have complained of the staleness of the series, so will Run Sackboy! Run! a saviour of types or should you “run” faaaaar away from it? Read more
New Feature: GameFocus High Fives April 15 Special articles

New Feature: GameFocus High Fives April 15

 High fives are awesome. This is scientific fact. There is no physical action that is more synonymous with awesomeness then two people throwing their hands into the air with excitement and connecting. The ensuing sound is the culmination of awesome made audible.  In celebration of the awesomeness that is the High Five; the GameFocus staff are proud to announce a new ongoing Monthly/Weekly feature that we’ve affectionately called GameFocus High Fives. Read more

Game details
(XBLA) Sacred Citadel
Release date : 2013-03-19
Platform :
Publisher : Deep Silver
Developer : SouthEnd Interactive
Gameplay : Action-Adventure

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

Well everyone, Mortal Kombat X is now available to be purchased (which I’m sure you have done) and if you keep up with video game news (which I’m sure you do), you would know that almost every single day in the lead up to its release, we were hearing about a new trailer, character reveal, or some sort of news regarding the upcoming game. I have to hand it to Mortal Kombat X’s marketing team, they did their job; it seems like every person on the planet is hyped about this game (which I’m sure you are).

But aside from a good marketing campaign, what’s the big deal about Mortal Kombat X anyways?


Read more

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

  Apple has finally lifted the curtain on the Apple Watch and, unsurprisingly, it looks good.  Maybe you're crunching the numbers to determine if you can afford the $13,000, 38mm 18-carat rose gold case edition or the $449.00 sport model.  No matter what you pick you'll need an Apple iPhone 5 or later running the latest version of iOS, so don't forget to figure that into the cost as well.  Before taking out a line of credit to buy the latest and greatest from Apple I'd recommend holding off and avoiding the April 24th release date altogether. 


Read more

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Maybe it wouldn't have been as bad if the sales person hadn't said, "this is our most popular seller; I can barely keep it on the shelves."  My mother and I were in the only video game store in the city.  It was in the basement of a professional building and smelled like stale cigarette smoke and BO.  For passing grade five I was rewarded with a video game.  This wasn't a decision to be made lightly; this would be one of the two games I'd get all year.  I can no longer remember the game I originally wanted but I do remember the store didn't have it.  Instead, the sales person was recommending something I'd never heard of, a little game called "Mystery Quest."


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

This time around the guys take the Batmobile for a spin waxing poetically about the upcoming Arkham Knight and past Arkham titles. We shed a tear for our gaming regrets and speculate on which actor was delivered a Mortal Kombat fatality. Plus: How interested would you be in a "Who's The Boss" video game? What sort of hat wear could you get with 50 Microsoft points? And..Why do 2-D fighting games reign supreme over 3-D?

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

This time around the guys take the Batmobile for a spin waxing poetically about the upcoming Arkham Knight and past Arkham titles. We shed a tear for our gaming regrets and speculate on which actor was delivered a Mortal Kombat fatality. Plus: How interested would you be in a "Who's The Boss" video game? What sort of hat wear could you get with 50 Microsoft points? And..Why do 2-D fighting games reign supreme over 3-D?

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
Apotheon (PC)
9.4
2
Splice (PlayStation 4)
8.4
3
Hand of Fate (Xbox One)
8.0
4
8.0
5
7.8
7
Dead or Alive 5 Last Round (PlayStation 4)
7.7
8
6.6

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus