Review :: (XBLA) Sacred Citadel

Return to Ancaria, or your favorite arcade?

Written by Super User

Published Monday, 13 May 2013 20:00

Write your own review !

Sacred. Arguably one of the most underappreciated of the various RPG universes. Starting out on PC, the 3rd person isometric view and action-centered gameplay put it in a precarious position: Filling 2004’s Diablo void while many games moved away from PCs altogether. Fortunately, it had just the right amount of personality for it to stand apart from the Diablo-clone crowd, gaining a cult following from enthusiasts. This led to a proper expansion, as well as a full on sequel (one that made an appearance on consoles as well). With fans rabidly waiting for the third entry in the franchise (which is still due to arrive before the end of the year), publisher Deep Silver tasked SouthEnd Interactive - of Ilomilo fame - to give the fans a bit of history that will lead us into Sacred 3. The kicker? They jump into uncharted territory for the franchise, making Sacred Citadel a side-scrolling brawler...

Sacredscreen04

Anyone who used to frequent the arcades of yore should find a generous amount of nostalgia among the offerings of Sacred Citadel. In fact, if you are a fan of SEGA’s classic Golden Axe, you’ll see more than a passing resemblance. I wouldn’t call it a reskinning so much as a very meticulous homage. All the basics are here: Cooperative (local and online) side-scrolling left-to-right battles against hordes of enemies, loot drops, special moves, the occasional mounts, and yes, even the roasted meats to replenish your health. Everything will feel very familiar to those who have dropped handfuls of quarters into their choice arcade machine.

"Fans may struggle with the genre shift, but Sacred Citadel is exactly what it set out to be: A pick-up-and-play side-scroller where button-mashing trumps anything resembling narrative depth."

Given the familiarity of the genre, the larger question is how it holds up against the rest of the downloadable offerings available today. Surprisingly to me, it holds its own just fine. While I love the genre itself, after jumping into the classics as they have been re-released on today’s platforms, I have been less than thrilled. The magic of the original experience seemed to have faded over the years. With that said, Sacred Citadel manages to take what was once a great time, and add enough of a smattering of modern love to it that I was able to recapture that brainless button-mashing feeling of my youth.

Sacredscreen01

A lot of the credit goes to the variety. While it won’t knock your socks off with a bottomless set of options, it does have enough to expand upon the genre stalwarts and make it feel a bit less dated. Four playable character classes - Warrior, Ranger, Mage, and Shaman - each of which have their own stat specialties, making them play exactly as one would expect. The Warrior is your tank, the Ranger is your ranged fighter, etc... Every character can dual-wield, as well as use their class-specific weapon, opening up the combo count. As you lay waste with large combos, you’ll fill your special meter, letting you unleash an uber move on your foes. Although, you’ll probably be better served saving that for the various bosses you’ll face.

Loot drops will help keep your weapons and armor current, adding more to the character’s attack and defense stats. The balancing of the drops is perfect in order to keep up with the game progression. Unfortunately, it also made the gold you find, and by proxy the local shops one would spend such gold, moot. Not once during my entire jaunt through the game’s four chapters did I need to purchase anything beyond the occasional potion, as pretty much everything I already had was better than what was being offered, or I would soon find something better on the first or second stage of that particular chapter. It’s a shame really, as the townships could have played a much more important role in the player’s journey.

Sacredscreen02

Each of the chapters carry a different theme, adding a diverse set of environments to play through. Murky swamps, cavernous cliffs, dark forests, and snowy mountaintops all are rendered in a cartoony style that is a large departure from the detailed visuals the series has had in the past. This also allowed for a bright and vibrant color pallet, which simultaneously furthered the separation between this entry and its Action-RPG predecessors, and enhanced the arcade-y experience it is trying so hard to facilitate.

Unfortunately, just as the visuals and the gameplay hearken back to our quarter-munching gaming of yore, the story-telling does the same. Over-the-top script and voicework do little for the already forgettable tale. You’ll try to stay with it, but after the first few stages, you’ll quickly see exactly where it is going and will pay it no more attention, instead staying wholly focused on mashing down the two attack buttons as much as possible, while occasionally doing a quick dodge to stay out of reach of your attackers.

Sacredscreen03

Final Focus

To be honest, I can’t really fault Sacred Citadel. Sure, the campaign can be knocked out in a weekend, and the combat can get repetitive if you don’t take advantage of all the moves the game has to offer. And while it is supposed to set the stage for the main course found in Sacred 3, the story is as predictable as they come, so you’ll find yourself focusing on how high you can get your combo count up rather than seeing where the franchise is heading with the third entry. However, all of that is not necessarily a bad thing. Fans may struggle with the genre shift, but Sacred Citadel is exactly what it set out to be: A pick-up-and-play side-scroller where button-mashing trumps anything resembling narrative depth. It is a throwback to the days when gaming did not include complex mechanics or award-winning writing. As long as you come in expecting that, you’ll be more than happy with the $15 investment, especially if you have a buddy or two to join you.

 


Pros

+ Classic arcade action-adventure + Light, pick-up-and-play action + Fun co-op

Cons

- Forgettable tale - Moot economy - Franchise fans may not be thrilled with the genre shift


Final rating
7.0 / 10
Comments
More Xbox 360 reviews
2014-11-11 :: Assassin's Creed: Rogue
2014-04-06 :: Dark Souls II
2013-11-12 :: Alien Rage
2013-09-17 :: Grand Theft Auto V
2013-09-15 :: Lost Planet 3
2013-09-13 :: Splinter Cell: Blacklist
2013-08-07 :: Grid 2
2013-07-26 :: Remember Me
2013-07-23 :: (XBLA) Sanctum 2
Special articles
GameFocus' Most Anticipated Games of 2015 Special articles

GameFocus' Most Anticipated Games of 2015

With the start of a new year, the gaming slate is as pure as the driven snow and full of promise and expectation. Here at GameFocus we thought we would share some of the games we are stoked to get our hands on in 2015. Will this bumper crop of intriguing titles entice, disappoint or be delayed (as was common with our 2014 picks)? Only time will tell. Happy gaming this year.
Lire la suite...
GameFocus Feature: Warlords of Draenor and the Clint Bajakian Connection Special articles

GameFocus Feature: Warlords of Draenor and the Clint Bajakian Connection

Music can make or break a movie. The same could be said for videogames. For the last 30 some odd years, as videogames have slowly crept their way into the main stream, we have been beholden to some truly memorable musical contributions that enhance the immersive experience that make video games stand out among entertainment mediums. Imagine the classics like Super Mario without the original level 1-1 theme, or the Mega Man franchise without its awesome 8 bit power ballads. It can’t be done. The same holds true for modern games; imagine the first Mass Effect without the 80’s Sci-Fi movie synth, or Uncharted without the adventurous sounding fanfare. Music and sound design are an integral part of any complete video game package, and game expansions are no exception. Thanks to the involvement of Pyramind Studios Composer and Senior Music Manager Clint Bajakian and his team, World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor can count itself up there in the echelon of titles whose OST are worth a second look. Read more
The Crew Beta Impressions Special articles

The Crew Beta Impressions

The Crew’s console closed beta has concluded and it has given us a sneak peek into what we can expect to see upon its release on December 2nd.Read more
Details From Nintendo's Holiday Preview Event Special articles

Details From Nintendo's Holiday Preview Event

  With the falling leaves, mayoral election signs still on the lawns and pumpkins on people’s front porches you’d be excused if you didn’t think it was time to celebrate the holidays. It was in this setting that Nintendo unveiled a preview of some of their holiday offerings on... Read more

Game details
(XBLA) Sacred Citadel
Release date : 2013-03-19
Platform :
Publisher : Deep Silver
Developer : SouthEnd Interactive
Gameplay : Action-Adventure

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

Opinion text: Why Gamers Need to let Games go.

Opinion text: Why Gamers Need to let Games go.

Editor's Note:This text is labelled as blog. It does not represent, implicitly or explicitly, the positions, policies, or opinions of GameFocus. Feel free to comment with the author but please, respectfully .


Read more

Ode to The Olde Timey Video Game: Episode #1 The Greatest Golf Game Ever Made

Ode to The Olde Timey Video Game: Episode #1 The Greatest Golf Game Ever Made

Premier Episode of Ode to The Olde Timey Video Game.  In this video we scientifically prove what the greatest golf video game ever made is.  That's right, this title was released exactly ten years ago this week and in celebration we are taking a fond look back at what made this golf game the very best.


Read more

Why Microsoft buying Minecraft was a Brilliant Move

Why Microsoft buying Minecraft was a Brilliant Move

 

 

A lot has been made of Microsoft’s recent acquisition of Minecraft developer, Mojang.  Whether it be the Minecraft faithful who are worried about the future of the game now that it is in the hands of a massive corporation, or industry analysts speculating on how this new deal will change the video game marketplace, Microsoft fired a shot across across the bow today and, wow, was it shocking.


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: January 2015

GameFocus Podcast: January 2015

Break out the bubbly because it is the first podcast of the New Year. In this episode the guys look back at the surprises and disappointments of 2014 and relay their thoughts on the year's top games. They also crack out the crystal ball to give their predictions for the upcoming year. Nolan gives his first impressions on his Amiibos, we learn the connection between Heath Ledger, Julia Stiles and Henry Winkler and what video game related Netflix content we do and do not recommend. All this plus a complicated calculation of DJ's deaths per minute played in The Evil Within and more wrapped up in a Reese's peanut butter cup of listening entertainment.

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: January 2015

GameFocus Podcast: January 2015

Break out the bubbly because it is the first podcast of the New Year. In this episode the guys look back at the surprises and disappointments of 2014 and relay their thoughts on the year's top games. They also crack out the crystal ball to give their predictions for the upcoming year. Nolan gives his first impressions on his Amiibos, we learn the connection between Heath Ledger, Julia Stiles and Henry Winkler and what video game related Netflix content we do and do not recommend. All this plus a complicated calculation of DJ's deaths per minute played in The Evil Within and more wrapped up in a Reese's peanut butter cup of listening entertainment.

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
7.8

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus