Review :: (XBLA) Sanctum 2

Protect the core!

Protect the core!

D.J. Kinsey

Written by DJ Kinsey - Assistant Editor-in-Chief

Published Tuesday, 23 July 2013 19:45

Write your own review !

 Until recently the tower defence genre shared a surprising number of similarities with when I used to make my own wine.  There was a great deal of planning and preparation followed by much watching and waiting to see if all that prep would pay off into something marvelous or if the investment would end up going down the drain due to poor planning.  Then in the last few years tower defence games, including the original Sanctum, seemed to enter a renaissance.  No longer did gamers have to sit on the sidelines while their strategically placed turrets and towers fended off waves of enemies.  The genre began allowing gamers the freedom to jump into the action at the ground level and to become part of the battle.

 

Sanctum 2 melds classic tower defence with first-person shooter mechanics as players must build their defences, with limited resources, to protect an energy core.  A wide range of enemy aliens are released in waves to attack and destroy the core.  Four character classes are available to choose from for the FPS portion of the experience running the traditional gamut from sniper, to heavy weapons expert.  Between each wave, players build walls throughout the level to redirect enemies along the path of greatest resistance.  Turrets can be built upon sections of the wall and upgraded.  This all sounds pretty cut and dry but, much like my homemade wine, it is the subtle nuances which elevate the experience and provide a richness of depth.

 

sanctum2 screenshot1

 

The design of the enemies in Sanctum 2 is varied and brilliant.  Reminiscent of giant insects and creatures from the deep sea, many have specific weak points exposed through their exoskeleton armour.  This is where deftness in the first-person perspective can stop an alien wave in its tracks.  Automated turrets are indiscriminate in their targeting of the aliens so it is up to the player to hit the enemies where it hurts the most.  Laying some slugs into alien hides sounds pretty simple when, like any tower defence game, they follow a specific route.  Sanctum 2 mixes up this dynamic. Should you ever get too close to the alien’s path, they will deviate from their goal of attacking the energy core and instead steamroll a path directly at you.  Raw firepower is rarely enough to stop a wave so fleetness of foot and a constant rotation of zones to attack from ensures that the horde won’t overwhelm your position.  The result of this coupled with jittery crosshair control due to some surprising kickback with the guns leads to plenty of white knuckled tension with your back against a wall and a monster bearing down on you.

 

With great enemies, plenty of un-lockables and customization, the game delivers enjoyable action at a frantic pace while not neglecting the cerebral pursuits of gamers

 

The strategic tower building portion of the game has its highs and lows.  Resources are scarce and the available real estate in many of the levels feels relatively small.  Therefore the ability to greatly influence the environment by generating arduous gauntlets of destruction is not at the same level as other tower defence games such as Geodefence Swarm.  The paltry number of resources available also means that only a few turrets can be built on each level.  As a result the equilibrium between tower placement strategy and first person firepower is heavily skewed towards the shooter portion of the game.  On the plus side, sporadic goodies such as landmines provide an additional layer of thought when constructing the defences.

 

sanctum2 screenshot4

 

There is a bevy of content in Sanctum 2 that held my interest.  Levels can be played alone or in multiplayer which delivers a whole new experience replete with the joy of utilizing proper teamwork and the frustration of playing the game with a resource hog.  There is ample replay value from tackling a map as a sniper delivering death from a distance or a shotgun wielding hero who needs to get close to the action to be successful.  The replay is further amplified by the numerous un-lockable weapons for the FPS experience and turrets for the strategically inclined.  My only real area of frustration occurred when I failed a mission after toiling through a large number of enemy waves.  A map can represent a significant time investment and having to restart at the beginning if my energy core was compromised during the final wave felt defeating and at times I was reluctant to go through it all again.  A save point at the half-way mark of the alien waves would have gone a long way towards diminishing this frustration.

 

Visually, Sanctum 2 is a good looking game with an overall colour palette and feel that would fit comfortably in the Mass Effect universe.  The enemies move fluidly and, oddly enough, appear both alien and familiar at the same time.  The story, told in comic strip sequences complete with speech bubbles, has a unique graphical acuity.  While I normally find that hand-drawn characters with exaggerated proportions look too child-like to be taken seriously, the characters in the Sanctum universe are slick and gritty.

 

sanctum2 screenshot2

 

FINAL FOCUS

 

Not since someone got chocolate in my peanut butter have two distinct items tasted so good together as the FPS and tower defence action of Sanctum 2.  With great enemies, plenty of un-lockables and customization, the game delivers enjoyable action at a frantic pace while not neglecting the cerebral pursuits of gamers.  Tower defence fans may find that the game is too heavily weighted towards the FPS side of the coin but there is no denying that both elements together make for a great time.

 

 


 


Pros

+ Excellent repertoire of aliens

+ Un-lockables create plenty of replay value

+ Strong FPS mechanics

+ Tension filled levels

 

Cons

 

- Some levels are quite small

- No saves mid-level

 


Final rating
8.5 / 10
Comments
More Xbox 360 reviews
2014-11-11 :: Assassin's Creed: Rogue
2014-04-06 :: Dark Souls II
2013-11-12 :: Alien Rage
2013-09-17 :: Grand Theft Auto V
2013-09-15 :: Lost Planet 3
2013-09-13 :: Splinter Cell: Blacklist
2013-08-07 :: Grid 2
2013-07-26 :: Remember Me
Special articles
GameFocus High Fives April 2015: Week 3 Special articles

GameFocus High Fives April 2015: Week 3

“What 5 Games or Game Franchises Should Get the HD Definitive Edition Treatment?” With the trend of recent last-gen games being ported to Xbox One and PS4 showing no signs of slowing down some of the GameFocus staff put together individual lists of 5 games or game franchises that need to recived the full HD Definitive Edition treatment. Be it an old classic, or a recent favourite; anything could pop up on one of these lists, so if lists are your thing (of course they are), read on.
Lire la suite...
GameFocus High Fives April 2015 Week 2 Special articles

GameFocus High Fives April 2015 Week 2

“What 5 Games or Game Franchises Should Get the HD Definitive Edition Treatment?” With the trend of recent last-gen games being ported to Xbox One and PS4 showing no signs of slowing down some of the GameFocus staff put together individual lists of 5 games or game franchises that need to recived the full HD Definitive Edition treatment. Be it an old classic, or a recent favourite; anything could pop up on one of these lists, so if lists are your thing (of course they are), read on. Read more
Pass It or Play It? - Run Sackboy! Run! (PS Vita) Special articles

Pass It or Play It? - Run Sackboy! Run! (PS Vita)

Offered as a free download, Run Sackboy! Run! is an endless runner based off of the LittleBigPlanet games. Many have complained of the staleness of the series, so will Run Sackboy! Run! a saviour of types or should you “run” faaaaar away from it? Read more
New Feature: GameFocus High Fives April 15 Special articles

New Feature: GameFocus High Fives April 15

 High fives are awesome. This is scientific fact. There is no physical action that is more synonymous with awesomeness then two people throwing their hands into the air with excitement and connecting. The ensuing sound is the culmination of awesome made audible.  In celebration of the awesomeness that is the High Five; the GameFocus staff are proud to announce a new ongoing Monthly/Weekly feature that we’ve affectionately called GameFocus High Fives. Read more

Game details
(XBLA) Sanctum 2
Release date : 2013-05-15
Platform :
Publisher : D3 PUBLISHING
Developer : Coffee Stain Studios
Gameplay : Tower Defense-FPS

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

Well everyone, Mortal Kombat X is now available to be purchased (which I’m sure you have done) and if you keep up with video game news (which I’m sure you do), you would know that almost every single day in the lead up to its release, we were hearing about a new trailer, character reveal, or some sort of news regarding the upcoming game. I have to hand it to Mortal Kombat X’s marketing team, they did their job; it seems like every person on the planet is hyped about this game (which I’m sure you are).

But aside from a good marketing campaign, what’s the big deal about Mortal Kombat X anyways?


Read more

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

  Apple has finally lifted the curtain on the Apple Watch and, unsurprisingly, it looks good.  Maybe you're crunching the numbers to determine if you can afford the $13,000, 38mm 18-carat rose gold case edition or the $449.00 sport model.  No matter what you pick you'll need an Apple iPhone 5 or later running the latest version of iOS, so don't forget to figure that into the cost as well.  Before taking out a line of credit to buy the latest and greatest from Apple I'd recommend holding off and avoiding the April 24th release date altogether. 


Read more

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Maybe it wouldn't have been as bad if the sales person hadn't said, "this is our most popular seller; I can barely keep it on the shelves."  My mother and I were in the only video game store in the city.  It was in the basement of a professional building and smelled like stale cigarette smoke and BO.  For passing grade five I was rewarded with a video game.  This wasn't a decision to be made lightly; this would be one of the two games I'd get all year.  I can no longer remember the game I originally wanted but I do remember the store didn't have it.  Instead, the sales person was recommending something I'd never heard of, a little game called "Mystery Quest."


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

This time around the guys take the Batmobile for a spin waxing poetically about the upcoming Arkham Knight and past Arkham titles. We shed a tear for our gaming regrets and speculate on which actor was delivered a Mortal Kombat fatality. Plus: How interested would you be in a "Who's The Boss" video game? What sort of hat wear could you get with 50 Microsoft points? And..Why do 2-D fighting games reign supreme over 3-D?

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

GameFocus Podcast: March 2015

This time around the guys take the Batmobile for a spin waxing poetically about the upcoming Arkham Knight and past Arkham titles. We shed a tear for our gaming regrets and speculate on which actor was delivered a Mortal Kombat fatality. Plus: How interested would you be in a "Who's The Boss" video game? What sort of hat wear could you get with 50 Microsoft points? And..Why do 2-D fighting games reign supreme over 3-D?

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
Apotheon (PC)
9.4
2
Splice (PlayStation 4)
8.4
3
Hand of Fate (Xbox One)
8.0
4
8.0
5
7.8
7
Dead or Alive 5 Last Round (PlayStation 4)
7.7
8
6.6

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus