Special articles

NHL 14 DEMO Review

NHL 14 DEMO Review

Written by

Published on Wednesday, 04 September 2013 17:32


First off--- It looks essentially the same as last year's version, which is to say; it still looks very good. Almost every element seems consistent with what we saw last year, save for the player animations during hits and checks. The new physics engine is impressive and while EA has for years talked about making each hit feel more real, this year it feels like they succeeded.


Commentary and sound seemed very similar to last year as well, but this is a demo after all and it is kind of hard to make a general opinion on the sound effects and soundtrack of a demo

.
The new Enforcer Engine is really cool. If you shoot a puck after the whistle at your opponents' goalie, then you better get ready to drop the gloves. This also applies if you make a big hit on a vulnerable star player or just make a dirty hit in general. What I think this will do is eliminate some of those annoying online players who just can't help taking shots on your net after the whistle or taking special liberties with your stars after the whistle.


The new fighting engine is also much improved and better emulates the look of an actual game; players of both teams stand around the fighting players tapping their sticks on their ice, and the winning fighter will make a celebratory gesture to the fans right after the bout. It's all very cool. And despite the fact that I am not a big fan of fighting in the game, this seems like a welcome addition and I hope it translates well into the full version of the game.


The goals you score also seem much more believable. If you get by the opponents defense and have time in front of the net, you have a much better chance of scoring a goal. One timers also seem to work much better than they have in recent versions. That said, one-timers are also a lot harder to perform. The puck no longer seems to magically go through players on its path towards the receiving player, it reacts the way it should.


I don't want to give too much away or opine too much as we will have the review up very soon, and this is just the demo I am talking about, but from what I have seen so far I am very pleased. Could NHL 94 be the modern incarnation of NHL 94? Will we finally have that seminal hockey game that defines a generation? Stay tuned to Gamefocus to find out!

 

 NHL14CollisionPhysics1

Special articles
GameFocus High Fives, May 2015 Week 2 Special articles

GameFocus High Fives, May 2015 Week 2

  “Top Five Unexpectedly Great Games” There is no better feeling as a gamer then when a game exceeds your expectations. Maybe it was a bargain bin purchase at a local retailer, or a title rescued from development hell that was doomed to fail, or even something that just didn’t fit your personal tastes and you took a chance on it. For the month of May, the GameFocus staff reflects on what video games they have played that were unexpectedly great! Week 2 - Tyler Hodgkinson - Staff Writer
Lire la suite...
Mailbag: May 18 - Bloodstained vs Bard's Tale Special articles

Mailbag: May 18 - Bloodstained vs Bard's Tale

 You ask - I answer: Dear Jesse,With the recent announcement of Bloodstained on Kickstarter and the upcoming campaign for Bard's Tale 4 I'm at a loss for who (whom?) to fund. Whips or swords? I've wanted to get in on a Kickstarter campaign and I'm pretty excited for both of these games but is it worth it? What if the game doesn't meet its target? Or what if I end up funding something that was lousy and I'm left with egg all over my face? Thx,Don't want to be an egg man Read more
GameFocus High Fives May 2015 Week 1 Special articles

GameFocus High Fives May 2015 Week 1

 “Top Five Unexpectedly Great Games” There is no better feeling as a gamer then when a game exceeds your expectations. Maybe it was a bargain bin purchase at a local retailer, or a title rescued from development hell that was doomed to fail, or even something that just didn’t fit your personal tastes and you took a chance on it. For the month of May, the GameFocus staff reflects on what video games they have played that were unexpectedly great! Week 1: D.J. Kinsey - Assistant Editor-in-Chief Read more
Mailbag: May 10, 2015 Special articles

Mailbag: May 10, 2015

 It's been a while, fellow gamers, and I hope you'll excuse my absence. As I write this most of my belongings are still packed in boxes (except for the PS4 and WiiU) but I am writing this from a new home and so at least one major hurdle has been crossed. In my absence we've had lots of great questions so without adieu let's get to it. Dear Jesse, I'm in my last year at high school. I'm a pretty typical guy -- I ride a horse, cut lawns for extra money, help out people where I can and hang with this girl I like. Life would be pretty ideal if not for one particular teacher -- Mr. G. -- I kind of ruined his life, but I didn't mean to. Read more

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

Well everyone, Mortal Kombat X is now available to be purchased (which I’m sure you have done) and if you keep up with video game news (which I’m sure you do), you would know that almost every single day in the lead up to its release, we were hearing about a new trailer, character reveal, or some sort of news regarding the upcoming game. I have to hand it to Mortal Kombat X’s marketing team, they did their job; it seems like every person on the planet is hyped about this game (which I’m sure you are).

But aside from a good marketing campaign, what’s the big deal about Mortal Kombat X anyways?


Read more

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

  Apple has finally lifted the curtain on the Apple Watch and, unsurprisingly, it looks good.  Maybe you're crunching the numbers to determine if you can afford the $13,000, 38mm 18-carat rose gold case edition or the $449.00 sport model.  No matter what you pick you'll need an Apple iPhone 5 or later running the latest version of iOS, so don't forget to figure that into the cost as well.  Before taking out a line of credit to buy the latest and greatest from Apple I'd recommend holding off and avoiding the April 24th release date altogether. 


Read more

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Maybe it wouldn't have been as bad if the sales person hadn't said, "this is our most popular seller; I can barely keep it on the shelves."  My mother and I were in the only video game store in the city.  It was in the basement of a professional building and smelled like stale cigarette smoke and BO.  For passing grade five I was rewarded with a video game.  This wasn't a decision to be made lightly; this would be one of the two games I'd get all year.  I can no longer remember the game I originally wanted but I do remember the store didn't have it.  Instead, the sales person was recommending something I'd never heard of, a little game called "Mystery Quest."


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
Apotheon (PC)
9.4
2
Splice (PlayStation 4)
8.4
3
Hand of Fate (Xbox One)
8.0
4
8.0
5
7.8
7
Dead or Alive 5 Last Round (PlayStation 4)
7.7
8
6.6
9
6.0

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus